We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Tampa Harbour Island to your Saves list
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #41 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. We have stayed here many times (approx 8 over the last 3 years) and each time look forward to our stay. This hotel is just wonderful, with gorgeous views of the bay and downtown Tampa, centrally located, and beautifully decorated, however it is the people that make this an excellent place to stay. Each time we stay here we are met with genuinely nice people, eager to help in any way, and who go out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. Specifically, we enjoy seeing Jose Alvarado, who usually greets us at the front door. Each time, he goes above and beyond in taking care of us, from sending up chocolate chip cookies to our 3 year old, to giving me water when I returned from a run (Thanks Jose!), and just having such a willingness to help. Also, thanks to Sandra in the Bistro restaurant, who was always so pleasant and even our toddler looked forward to seeing her. Undergoing some renovations now, but the staff make up for any inconvenience by taking excellent care of their guests. Highly recommend. Definitely looking forward to our next stay in February for the Gasparilla Run!

Room Tip: Corner suites have amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rriverav, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Greetings from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Ultrachick!

We are happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and have recognized Jose for your feedback. We sure look forward to seeing you again in February for the Gasparilla run~

Thank you for choosing the Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After a long travel day of delays at the airport, I encountered an issue with my key-card reader minutes after checking-in. I contacted the front desk requesting assistance and within 5 minutes Benny had come to the rescue. He was very friendly and considerate and took ownership of the problem. Thanks for finding a quick resolution.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Takeusthere12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Greetings from the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Takeusthere12!

We are sorry for the issues you had with your key cards. Your experience is being shared with my entire executive team in order to improve upon the services we provide. It is truly great to know that Benny was able to come to the rescue and find you a quick resolution!

Thank you for choosing the Westin on your business trip and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I booked this hotel with my friends because it was near a venue for a concert that I was attending. The hotel was in the middle of renovations so it looked really dark and unappealing. I'm pretty sure that it will look great after renovations. The hotel is definitely a business hotel and not so much a hotel for families.

Our check in was awesome, very personable and the associate gave us a room with the most awesome view of the harbour. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious! I love the breakfast buffets that all Westin's have and this one did not dissapoint. The restaurant was very beautiful with stunning art work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for stay with us Tia H!

Our location is set in the heart of downtown Tampa which is great for easy access to entertainment and dining. It is wonderful to know that we provided you excellent service and a wonderful breakfast to start your day. Thank you for your patience and understanding as we are going through a few modifications to our hotel.

We were glad to have had you and your friends visit us here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at your hotel during the Zoo conference with my daughter. We had excellent service and rooms. The location of the hotel was very convenient to the downtown area and the wonderful walking paths. What an asset to the town and hotel. Your staff was very friendly and willing to help in anyway that was needed. Jose, Jason and your housekeeping are a wonderful part of your staff. Thanks for a great experience!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 374Alice374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island thanks you for your comments about your most recent stay 374Alice374!

It is a pleasure to hear that you and your daughter received such great service from Jose and Jason. Your comments have been shared with our entire staff!

The next time you are in Tampa we hope to see you here at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Last week we were on a Cruise and forgot to book a hotel for our last 2 nights in the Tampa area. We had a recommendation from a friend to stay at the Westin, the location is perfect to great entertainment and fine dining and convenient to the downtown area. From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the valet staff, especially Kyle and Jose made sure that we were taken care of i.e. luggage, parking, directions, and where to eat. They were friendly, funny and had amazing customer satisfaction skills. The hotel was great and comfortable, great shower, beautiful view and wonderful amenities. I now know where to stay when I come into the Tampa area and highly recommend the Westin Tampa Harbor Island

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teresesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments teresesmurf about your stay with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island!

During your stay with us we are happy to know that we exceeded your expectations. Kyle and Jose are true assets to the Westin team.

We look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonne Terre, Missouri
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I know my review comes several months after my stay, but I still want to put in my two cents on this hotel. My family booked this hotel because we wanted some place nice and close to the cruise terminal. After reading some of the reviews, we became a little worried. We had nothing but great service, a great room, and a great view. I have written several other reviews, and I consider myself to be pretty fair.
The details:
•Check in was fast. No line. About 20 minutes after we checked in, the front desk clerk called us to make sure our room was good and if we needed anything. Every employee we met was friendly.
•The room had an awesome view of the harbor. Beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was modern and clean. No issues.
•The location of the hotel was pretty cool. Right on the harbor. Just a few minutes walk to the convention center, and while I wouldn't recommend walking to cruise terminal, it is feasible to do so (free shuttle and other shuttles can take you there for a few dollars per person).
•Negatives...Well, if I HAD to say something negative, I thought the price for breakfast was high, but I've seen higher prices for breakfast. The lobby was very nice and beautiful, but with so much wood, I can see how some may see that as "dark". I am not sure why this Westin has gotten such mixed reviews.

I included some pictures to show the room and the view.

Would I stay here again? You bet! Hopefully soon.

Room Tip: There is a grocery store across the harbor (walk across the bridge and around the convention center...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ems622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you ems622 for the wonderful comments about your stay at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel!

Our staff takes pride in providing extraordinary services to our guests. From the moment you walk through the front door until the time you depart it is our goal to have you feeling better than you did when you arrived!

It was truly a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed this past weekend and had a great time and remarkable service. The entire staff was extremely professional and really made me feel like they truely cared. One individual I would like to recognize who went above and beyond was Jason in sales. I've worked with Jason in the past and when I called him up to help coordinate reservations for my family, he followed through to make sure everything was taken care of. Last minute he helped coordinate a bus for a trip to Gainsvilles for the LSU vs. Florida Game. What a relief this was not to have to deal with. It was truely a great weekend and I will continue to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurthur34678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinTampaHarbour, Manager at Westin Tampa Harbour Island, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Tampa Harbour Island Aurthur34678!

During your stay with us we are glad to hear that you and your family had a great time and received such remarkable service! Jason will be pleased to know that he was able to have such a positive impact on your stay!

Thank you again and we hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Le Meridien Tampa
#21 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Hilton Tampa Downtown
#20 of 160 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Epicurean Hotel
#4 of 160 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Tampa Harbour Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Tampa Harbour Island

Address: 725 S. Harbour Island Blvd., Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Wyndham Harbour Island)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#27 Family Hotel in Tampa
#31 Business Hotel in Tampa
#33 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Tampa Harbour Island 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Tampa Harbour Island is a luxury hotel located on the Bay near the downtown business district, Ybor City, the Convention Center, the Times Forum, Clearwater Beaches, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Tampa Harbour Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Tampa Harbour Island Hotel Tampa
Tampa Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing