We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay with great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   17301 Dona Michelle Dr., I-75 at Bruce B. Downs Blvd., Tampa, FL 33647 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham New Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great stay with great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My extended family and I were in Tampa for a family wedding. Our 5-night stay began on Christmas Eve and we liked our accommodations so well that we decided to stay an extra night after the wedding was over (to hit the beach after wedding stress). On Christmas Day, we had our family Christmas gift opening right there in the lobby by the big, beautifully-decorated Christmas tree. Carl, the manager, offered to let us use one of the meeting rooms for our celebration. Carl and his staff were also great sources of information for nearby restaurant choices and well as directions. He also helped us look for a few lost possessions. One day, something weird happened with the room keys (demagnetization?), but the staff acted as if it were no trouble for them to take time out of their busy schedule and help us with something so mundane. He and his staff seemed to go the extra mile in serving us that week.

The hotel is very close to I-75 and our room was on that side of the building, but we never heard any traffic noise, thanks to the woods (?) between the hotel and the highway. It's been mentioned in other reviews, but there is a rooster close by. We never heard him from our room (though my kids and nephews enjoyed chasing him around the property).

The breakfast was good. I am gluten-intolerant and therefore, can sometimes have a hard time finding things to eat with "continental breakfasts". There were eggs and sausage and yogurt and instant oatmeal and even bacon on Sunday! And they never ran out of bacon! The eggs were probably from a mix and therefore, not the tastiest, but I just stuck with the yogurt and oatmeal and apples and did fine. Coffee was always fresh. My children enjoyed the make-your-own waffles. If the continental hot breakfast is not your thing, there are plenty of restaurants nearby -- Panera Bread, Chic Fil-A, Taco Bell, Subway, etc. Also nearby is Walgreen's, which came in handy when needing something last-minute (i.e., pantyhose and hair clips) for the wedding.

If you have children that need to run off energy, find the rooster. If you can't find him, there is a really nice park down Dona Michelle Road past the hotel. You'll pass a water treatment plant and looks like you're trespassing, but you're not. Just keep going until you come to a small parking lot. The park looks more like walking/jogging trails (?), but near the parking lot is a small zip line that my kids LOVED (and naturally fought over!) and some other rope climbing equipment.

Also, this is a dog-friendly hotel. One thing you should beware of is that by the pond behind the hotel, there is a high concentration of dog-doo. Apparently, not many people pick up after their pets. Sad, but true. Just watch your step when walking the beautiful property!

Our trip was wonderful and only enhanced by the excellent care that Carl and his dedicated staff gave us while we were staying at this La Quinta. When we come to Florida to visit our newlywed brother and sister in-law, this will be the place we lay our heads! Thanks for everything, Carl and staff!

Room Tip: Rooms on the "even-numbered" side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie C, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We at La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North want to thank you for your wonderful comments. We are pleased to know that your stay with us, was an enjoyable along with your family members.

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Here for you,

Jackie Cruz
General Manager
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa-North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    83
    20
    11
    4
See reviews for
138
71
23
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed a night at the Holiday Inn Express (which is about 1 mile away from this hotel, if that) and I was unpleased with the cleanliness there, but VERY pleased at the La Quinta. The staff was friendly at check in and called the room to be sure we had everything we needed. I'm giving it 4 stars only because I would have liked better soap products. But, still-- VERY clean and VERY pleasant staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped here on our way to Florida. We also had our dog with us. We like LaQuinta because they are clean and pet friendly. This hotel is right off I75 and is conveniently located by gas stations and places to eat. In fact, we were able to walk to a couple of fast food restaurants. The rooms to the rear of the hotel face the woods. We found that nice because we could leave the blinds open and still have relative privacy. The grounds and surrounding area was pretty nice for walking our dog. Breakfast while not great was convenient and complementary. Overall, we really liked this hotel and plan to add it to our list of potential places to stop to and from Florida.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I highly recommend this La Quinta Inn. Shortly after I checked in, I encountered several small issues with the room which were immediately handled to my satisfaction. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I will definitely stay there next time we go to Tampa!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at this La Quinta. Our family stayed here the night before winter jam was in Tampa partially because of the heated pool & the other great reviews. Everything was great from the room, to breakfast in the morning. The hotel was very nice & we enjoyed our time here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

A nice couple of days stay in Tampa. The service was very good. We had an issue with our first room: after coming back from dinner we had a bunch of ants in the sink. Also, the door latch was quite finicky. They switched our room right away, and there were no issues with the second room. I did mention in their proprietary exit survey that it was a bit disappointing that there were no snacks available for sale by the front desk, just drinks. I've already gotten an e-mail back from the manager that they have added back snacks!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were very clean, well kept and modern. I'm in hotels 200 nights or better each year. This was one of the best beds I've slept in. The staff was beyond excellent, friendly and very helpful. Next time through this is a MUST stay spot.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75

Address: 17301 Dona Michelle Dr., I-75 at Bruce B. Downs Blvd., Tampa, FL 33647 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham New Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Tampa
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Tampa North Hotel Tampa
Wingate Tampa North
Wyndham Tampa
Tampa Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Tampa North I-75, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.