We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best Marriott in Tampa” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tampa Marriott Westshore

Save Saved
You added Tampa Marriott Westshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tampa Marriott Westshore
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1001 N Westshore Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Kids Eat Free +$25 Credit
Ranked #72 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Pittsburg, PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not the best Marriott in Tampa”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

This is a 70's style Marriott hotel however the rooms have been
nicely updated with new furnishings and luxurious beds that pretty much guarantee a great nights sleep. Beyond that this is a basic Marriott experience. Location is great for the airport but not much else. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room as far away from the elevators as possible!

I'm a gold member with Marriott so I get upgraded to the Concierge Floor. The Concierge Lounge was nice but kept very dirty. The Concierge that works in the evening is a piece of work! I told him I wanted a good local steakhouse for dinner and he tells me Tampa doesn’t have one. He said he is Tampa's BEST Concierge and the ONLY good steak restaurants in Tampa are Ruth’s Chris and Timpano's. Someone needs to by this Concierge a Zagget book! Tampa has many great Steakhouses plus a world famous Steakhouse called Bern's with the largest private wine list in the world!!! You would think the The Best Concierge would mention that. I asked him if he would be putting out the alcohol and he said he doesn’t do that in his lounge because he likes to take a lot of smoke breaks and doesn’t want the alcohol out when he has to leave. I usually stay at the Marriott downtown and they always have a nice display of liquor, beer and wine for guest to serve them self’s hints the name HONOR BAR. This sentiment was felt not only by me but other traveling companions and we will not be returning to the Marriott Westshore. We like to stay where we feel appreciated and not degraded. There are several better, newer and friendlier hotels in that area that welcome guest and we will be pursuing those options on our next quarterly visit to Tampa.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    90
    54
    15
    9
See reviews for
29
38
24
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

I booked this hotel after securing a low rate on Priceline that was obscene ($50 for the night). They sent a shuttle to pick us up at the airport. The shuttle was running a little slow, but the weather outside was great. The hotel and the room was immaculate. The beds were comfy, and the staff very accommodating (particularly when I was locked out of my suitcase).

We only stayed here for one night before catching our cruise from the Tampa port, but this was a great place to stay. I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2006

Enjoyed the Marriott Westshore, the pool, the room, the exercise room. Polite and helpful front desk!!!!! Excellent location for pleasure and for frequenting the Clearwater Beach each day.!!!!! Thank you Marriott Westshore for a delightful stay!!!!! Didn't even know the refurbishing of the roof was going on!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2006

Way overpriced, over $200 with taxes, $10 for internet, and $15 for breakfast buffet. For a great hotel, no problem. But this was no better than your average 2 star. Staff was unhelpful, hotel was plain, room was average, shuttle was slow. For $90 and free net/bfast, it would have been good. Save your money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A PLACE CALLED HOPE
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

I must have stayed on a renovated floor as everything was clean and new. The room was tastefully decorated. The new bedding was beautiful and so comfortable. Super soft sheets. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Great buffet breakfast in their restaurant with some fresh made belgian waffles included!.The kids really enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool combo! Also we traveled with a large family group and had 6 rooms. We had a large amount of food that we had delivered poolside that was great also. Made a few trips to the bar, great service and drinks as well. We were leaving for a cruise the following day, so the only complaint was there was no shuttle service. We had our car but other family members took a cab.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2006

I stayed at this hotel in late December of 2005. I was traveling for business but decided to have my girlfriend join me in Tampa for New Years. The hotel itself is an older, but well maintained, property. Unfortunately, in my unrennovated room, some of the things you would expect to be working were not. For instance, the air conditioning! I was without working A/C (or a window that wasn't bolted shut) for 2 of my 3 nights in the hotel. The carpet in the room was also pretty nasty. Once the room rennovations are done, this will be a great place to stay, however. The staff from check-in to check-out and everywhere in between were very helpful and pleasant and the hotel is centrally located and close to the airport. The indoor/outdoor pool was very nice and the exercise room was more than adequate.

For this trip, I would have been much better off in the Marriott Waterside or the Renaissance at International Plaza. Unfortunately, I didn't know until it was too late!

Regardless, we had an ok time in Tampa. We didn't find Ybor city to be very interesting but we did like the Channelside area. The International Plaza (right up the street) was also pretty cool...although being from New York we found it strange that people flocked to what is essentially a shopping mall for nightlife in the weekends!

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

I picked this place because of the good reviews on this site, but I was disappointed. I would compare the rooms to any Travelodge or Days Inn. I thought a Mariott would have been nicer. The room was TINY. In order to close the bathroom door I had to wedge myself between the toilet and the sink, and I'm a skinny guy. I have no idea how your average super-sized American could fit in the bathroom and be able to close the door. The bathroom floor had glass tiles which would have looked cool except for the dirty white grout which looked moldy. The rest of the room was clean although the stucco on the wall under the window had several foot long vertical cracks in it. The toilet was super noisy when refilling, and would start refilling for a second time about five minutes after a flush. The worst thing about this hotel was the rediculous extra charges for things other hotels offer for free. They wanted $10/day for Internet access and $13.95 per person for their breakfast buffet. Yikes! Even $40/nt hotels in Tampa give you FREE wireless access and FREE breakfast. I would much rather stay in the Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tampa Marriott Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tampa Marriott Westshore

Address: 1001 N Westshore Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tampa Marriott Westshore 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tampa Marriott Westshore is located in the heart of the Tampa Westshore business district, Tampa shopping, night life and restaurants within walking distance. An icon among Tampa Westshore hotels, we are minutes away from area beaches, Raymond James Stadium, International Plaza Mall, Westshore Plaza Mall, Tampa International Airport, and New York Yankees Spring Training at George Steinbrenner Field. Start your day with your favorite specialty coffee beverage at our Starbucks coffee bar in lobby. All of our Tampa hotel's newly renovated guest rooms are equipped to meet your every need with 2-line cordless telephones, personal voicemail, high speed internet access, and 32-inch LCD HDTV flat screen televisions with connectivity panel to provide guests with enhanced video and audio. Marriott Tampa Westshore sets the standard for hotels in Tampa, with an indoor/outdoor pool, Blue Bistro, over 13,000 square feet of meeting and event space on-site, all with renowned Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tampa Marriott Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tampa Marriott Westshore Hotel Tampa
Marriott Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tampa Marriott Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.