We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but Exploitive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Tampa Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Tampa Airport to your Saves list
Marriott Tampa Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 George J Bean Parkway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California, US
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Convenient but Exploitive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Marriott is ultra convenient and comfortable but charges $15/ day for Internet! How is it that you get free internet at a Comfort Inn where rooms are half the price but the Marriott takes advantage if it's guests by charging for the Internet. This feels very stingy and contaminates your experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
We would like to thank you for recently choosing our hotel for your lodging needs while in Tampa. We certainly agree that one of our strongest assets is our location. In regards to the internet as a Full service hotel we do offer internet complimentary in the hotel lobby and also recently introduced the tiered pricing option in the guest rooms. Basic internet is available for $9.95 and the enhanced speed is $14.95 which provides a stronger bandwidth for downloading and streaming. We do hope to have you return to our hotel in the near future during your next trip to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    244
    48
    16
    7
See reviews for
179
173
63
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night in August, after a long flight. The location is brilliant - literally one minute walk from the main airport shops. You don't even have to step outside! Check in was fine. The room was good - 2 queen beds (very comfortable), bathroom clean with a good shower. The other good point was the view from the window - right next to the runway.

The restaurant was expensive, so we ate dinner in the airport. However, there is a nice little coffee bar by reception, which was not open in the evening. We had our breakfast there, and it was surprisingly good value and tasty. The coffee shop also serves oatmeal, pastries etc.

There was a swimming pool, but we didn't use it.

The only downsides.....

The elevator - I'm not sure if we did anything wrong, but it kept skipping our floor. The kids thought it was very amusing!

Also, the windows in the room were dirty and the way they have been installed looks like it is impossible to clean them. This is a shame, as the view is good and would be so much nicer with clean windows. The windows....it looks like they have added another window to the outside of the original window. This means you can clean the outside window, but not the outside of the original window as they are sandwiched together.

That is my only complaint. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing some insight from your recent stay at the Tampa Airport Marriott. We agree that our location is Brilliant and after a long flight a welcomed feature for a weary traveler. The hotel offerings that include some great food and beverage or a quick dip in our pool make our hotel the perfect choice for a quick relaxing stay. I would like to take a moment and apologize for any discomfort that our elevators caused. Since your stay we have had all three elevators serviced to ensure that they are completely functional. Our windows are triple paned to ensure that the guest rooms are not affected by the noise of airplanes landing and taking off. The cleaning of the windows is a major project that we hope to have scheduled in the near future. We certainly look forward to the next opportunity to host you brilliantly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

After a long day of meetings and a bad flight, I was tired, hungry, and irritated. I was pleased to see the hotel is attached to the terminal. No need for a taxi. It was late and all I wanted was to take a shower, eat and sleep. There was a young woman at the desk smiling and welcoming me to the Marriott. She had to notice I am in a bad mood/tired and she did a quick check in for me, offered bottle of water as the concierge lounge was already closed and gave me a drink voucher for the bar! What a great idea. Teresa, thank you for being so nice to the tired and grouchy travelers. You made my night! Room was clean, bathroom smaller, but for quick overnight stays perfect. Employees were so polite and happy. I will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Tampa Airport Marriott. Our location and its proximity to the terminals certainly is one of our strengths but its hosts like Tereza that makes our hotel memorable. Tereza is one of our strongest leaders in the hotel and constantly is making efforts to show our guest that we are expecting them. By being attentive to cues Tereza is able to find ways to make each guest feel special. We look forward to hosting you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were given the "distressed flyer" rate that came out to $170 after taxes. We only used the hotel from 7PM to 4AM, but it is very conveniently located near the indoor airport shops and restaurants and only one floor up from ticketing. The employee at the front desk was very friendly. The room was clean and quiet. The shower water pressure was nice and the water nice and hot. They offer a restaurant, a sky bar, and room service at similar pricing to the in airport TGIF and Carabas. We did not try the hotel's food.

Room Tip: We were the first door off of the elevator and did not hear anyone. The rooms are well sound proofed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Your recent review regarding your stay at the Tampa Airport Marriott is very much appreciated. The hosts at the hotel take great pride in providing a wonderful experience for our guest, even if they had not originally planned on staying with us. Our location makes us a great choice for anyone who may have had a delayed start to a trip due to a canceled or missed flight. Certainly hope that during your next trip you are able to try one of our restaurants and experience our culinary offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

If you need to stay at or near the airport in Tampa you can't beat the Marriott. The staff was great and the rooms are clean and sizable. The location and the offerings are very good - the bed was comfortable and getting around was easy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review of your recent experience at the Tampa Airport Marriott. Two words that certainly provide a great description of our hotel is Conventient and Clean. Our location is ideal for anyone looking for a quick trip to or from the terminals and our Housekeeping team puts in great efforts in providing a perfect room for our guest. We look forward to your return so that we are able to host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed overnight, when we had a late flight. The hotel is right in the airport, so you didn't even need to step a foot outside. We slept very well, excited about our upcoming vacation. If you have an early flight out in the morning, or a late night flight in, stay here, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Tampa Airport Marriott. As you mentioned, with our location at the Tampa Airport Marriott we are a great choice for someone either arriving late or departing early in the morning as we allow our guest to get the maximum rest in our comfortable beds. We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location is wonderful, you can walk out of your room and be sitting in security in 3 minutes. The rooms are a little small and the bathroom was tiny, however they had updated the bathrooms and they looked good. Most modern motels have a refrigerator, but that was oddly missing from these rooms? If this wasn't connected to the airport it wouldn't be worth anywhere near what they charge, but location, location, location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Tampa Airport Marriott. Our location certainly is one of our biggest strengths to go along with great service and clean rooms. In regards to the fridge in the room, we do have them available upon request. We look forward to your next stay upon your return to Tampa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Tampa Airport

Address: 4200 George J Bean Parkway, Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Tampa Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located inside the Tampa Airport (TPA), this newly renovated hotel offers an ideal location for business and leisure travelers. With triple-paned glass and the Marriott Revive bedding package, you will appreciate the complete overhaul to the guest rooms and bathrooms at this Tampa airport hotel. We are proudly rated amongst Marriott's top 10 hotels for guest satisfaction, making us a best bet among Tampa International Airport hotels! Enjoy amazing skyline views at our Tampa Airport hotel's rotating rooftop restaurant, The View at CK's, or experience the sophisticated Skyye Lounge in the Lobby. For casual dining we offer the Skyye Coffee Bar, serving Starbucks or enjoy American cuisine from Café Elise. Enjoy the outdoor pool, on-site fitness center, and 18,000 square feet of event space for meetings, special events and weddings. Marriott's Tampa Airport hotel is near golf courses, Raymond James Stadium, International Plaza, Downtown Tampa and beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Tampa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.