We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel But Needs Food Options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Tampa Airport

Save Saved
You added Marriott Tampa Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Tampa Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 George J Bean Parkway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 15% on Weekends
Ranked #11 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Good Hotel But Needs Food Options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Located conveniently in the Tampa Airport. Typical clean modern comfortable Marriott room. Staff well-trained, polite and eager to please - as expected. Good place for a tired long-haul traveler after a trip or to spend the evening before an early morning flight.

Had some trouble finding the Marriott. Entered from the car rentals and no sign for hotel. Went upstairs on a hunch and again, no sign. Walked around a bit and found a sign, but only the one. Still lost. Then saw the Marriott at the end of a long wide hallway. Smooth check-in and given a room that met room requests. Very nice people at reception.

Sadly, there isn’t much choice for food in this airport. A TGIF and some Italian place. Then the usual junk food burger places. That’s it. So I thought the Marriott would save me. Only bar-food in the bar and a limited “Cuban bistro“. No restaurant. They used to have one on the roof, but not anymore. It was still marked in the elevator and one of the service workers gave me the sad news. Considering the few food options in the airport and the fact that this is a Marriott, thought the food possibilities at the hotel were very disappointing. Hyatt has a similar hotel at the Orlando airport that upstages this Marriott in almost every area. Marriott should stay a few nights there to see how they handle it.

Wi-fi available, but as usual, not free. I don’t see how budget hotels can provide wi-fi free with a much lower room rate, and Marriott has to charge for it. Also, there were two small bottles of water on the room table. Thought it was a “welcome to Marriott” free drink, but when reading he label, they wanted $5 a bottle. Wonder how many people thought they were free, drank them and then had to pay. Would have been a nice touch for the host to offer a drink of water.

No room safe or fridge. Nicely presented coffee/tea station. Adequate size TV.

Would I stay here again? Definitely - but I wouldn‘t look forward to it like I do for the Orlando Airport Hyatt. But, still a good choice to land after a long trip. Nice large room and very comfortable. Food options at both the hotel and airport leave much to be desired, but if Marriott reads this, maybe it will improve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff at the Tampa Airport Marriott, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to regarding your recent stay with us. Our two major strengths are certainly our location inside the airport and a staff that is always eager to assist. We take great pride in providing our guests with an experience that is memorable for all the right reasons.

Your observation regarding the signage to the hotel is certainly well-taken as we are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. An easy arrival to the hotel is important to the start of our guest’s journey with us.

Regarding the restaurants in the airport and at the hotel, it is unfortunate that the choices did not appeal to you. The airport has two main casual restaurants that include TGIF and Carrabba’s. In our hotel, the Skyye Bar is an option for anyone looking for a lively atmosphere; we have added some healthier options to the menu and are always looking for new ideas. Café Elise is our Cuban American Bistro which is our traditional 3-meal a day restaurant that offers a variety of choices from traditional Cuban Sandwiches to seafood and steaks. It is a new concept for us that so far has been very popular with our guests. Our menu choices are regularly updated and we welcome the suggestions from all of our guests as to menu preferences.

Thank you for choosing the Tampa Airport Marriott for your lodging accommodations and we will look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    190
    39
    14
    7
See reviews for
142
128
49
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was travelling with a broken foot and had mobility issues. A wheelchair was available to me for the duration of my time at the hotel up until I got to the airline check-in counter the next day. All staff were helpful, courteous and could not do enough for us. Thank you for making our time at your hotel as easy as possible.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We certainly hope that you have a quick recovery and are glad to hear that our staff was able to accommodate you. Traveling injured is always a challenge and it makes it easier with just a little bit of help. That is precisely what we are here for.... We certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and look forward to your return visit to the Tampa Airport Marriott.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida Keys, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed here before early flights over the last 5 years and it has been a gem. I will stay again I am sure. The staff is friendly and the location is the best - and worth it for the extra money you will spend. You can park very close to the entrance to the hotel and thus it will be easy to retrieve when you return. We have had room service many times and it is awesome! Very comfortable room and unusually quiet. Felt very safe too -- traveling as 2 females. Very clean also. Definitely worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your insight on your recent stay at the Tampa Airport Marriott. Our location is one of our strongest assets as our guest cannot get any closer to their terminals in the morning. For anyone looking to park, stay and fly there is no easier place to stay. The room service department appreciates the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

At the beginning of a very very long trip half way round the world, with maxed out baggage and a bike to boot, we decided to stay here to catch our dawn patrol flight. From the greeting and help upon arrival to the staff who collected our luggage and escorted us to the airline check in.....and everything in between, including a great dinner at the Cafe, comfy bed, immaculate clean room....Marriott went above and beyond. I don't know about the airport being rebuilt, but if and when, this hotel is a fantastic addition to have available. Kudos to everyone who helped us out, I wish I could remember all your names because you deserve recognition. One wonderful lady cleaning the windows near the pool was so cheerful and kind, her smile and cheerful manner could make anyone feel that everything is ok today!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Direcor of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff at the Tampa Airport Marriott I would like to thank you for the kind words provided via your recent review of your experience at our hotel. The review will be shared with the team to ensure that they know that their efforts are appreciated. They strive to make lasting impressions on all our guest. We look forward to the next opportunity to host you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 20 nights at this hotel at the Tampa airport. The staff is among the friendliest and best of any that I have ever seen. Helpful, cheerful, and they went out of their way to make sure I felt like. Valued guest. The gym was always well stocked, and very clean. The rooms were comfortable,loved the pillows and bed sheets. Truly appreciated Margit, who works in the lounge on the 6th floor who made me feel like family. Stephen, the guy who works on the cleaning crew was so helpful and kind. When I got home, the operations director sent me a personal email thanking me for staying at their property. All around great people, make this a great hotel. The only thing I did not like was the small pool. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your experience at the Tampa Airport Marriott. We feel that our staff service is our strongest asset and it is great see the names mentioned from your stay. Your feedback will certainly be used to provide them with the recognition they deserve. We look forward to your return trip to Tampa so that we may host you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was supposed to be a King bed? I know I am 6 1" but I have never had my legs popping out of the bed of even a queen not to talk of a King...until now. Did not make a great sleep. But all other things were okay for a Marriot. Really, internet should be free for guests in this day and age. its really a get-in-get-out business accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Tampa Airport Marriott. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions on improving our products and services to make the experience as enjoyable as possible. In regards to the bed size, all our king beds are 76X80X15. If we inadvertently place you in a room with two queen beds I certainly do apologize. We know one of the most important aspects of a great hotel stay is a good night sleep. I do hope that your travels will bring you back to Tampa in the near future and we are able to provide you with a much better experience. Please feel free to contact me directly upon your return so that I may provide you with my personal assistance throughout your stay.

Sincerely,

Stefan Ritter
Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Marriott is my #1 choice of hotels because of Tampa Airport Marriott. I travel 3 times a year and always stay here before my flight. This hotel has the best employees! They are friendly, know what they are doing and nothing is a problem.
Tereza at the front desk always remembers our name and is just delightful.
The rooms were renovated about a year ago and they turned out great. Well, may be the bathroom is kind of small.
Yes, they charge for internet in the rooms, but lobby access is free or they have some good rates that include WiFi.
There is an outdoor swimming pool and now they added table tennis and other games.
Lisa in Café Elise is awesome. The breakfast buffet is delicious. It has anything you can think of.
My only worry is that this hotel could be gone in the near future. I read on the airport website that a new terminal will be built and this hotel is in the way. Sad.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We get room with 2 beds because it has a bathroom with a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
The staff at the Tampa Airport Marriott most certainly appreciates your kind words regarding your experiences during your stays at the hotel. We 100% agree with you that there is some of the best that Marriott has to offer right here at this hotel. Tereza is one of our strongest leaders and she is driven by her desire to make positive first impressions to our arriving guest. Lisa enables our Cafe Elise staff to provide a wonderful breakfast experience so that our guest can start their day off right. Although the Tampa Airport does have plans to expand please do not worry as we will be here for many years to come. We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Tampa Airport

Address: 4200 George J Bean Parkway, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
#11 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Tampa Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located inside the Tampa Airport (TPA), this newly renovated hotel offers an ideal location for business and leisure travelers. With triple-paned glass and the Marriott Revive bedding package, you will appreciate the complete overhaul to the guest rooms and bathrooms at this Tampa airport hotel. We are proudly rated amongst Marriott's top 10 hotels for guest satisfaction, making us a best bet among Tampa International Airport hotels! Enjoy amazing skyline views at our Tampa Airport hotel's rotating rooftop restaurant, The View at CK's, or experience the sophisticated Skyye Lounge in the Lobby. For casual dining we offer the Skyye Coffee Bar, serving Starbucks or enjoy American cuisine from Café Elise. Enjoy the outdoor pool, on-site fitness center, and 18,000 square feet of event space for meetings, special events and weddings. Marriott's Tampa Airport hotel is near golf courses, Raymond James Stadium, International Plaza, Downtown Tampa and beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Marriott Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Tampa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.