We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“who designed this room?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Tampa Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Tampa Airport to your Saves list
Marriott Tampa Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4200 George J Bean Parkway, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #10 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“who designed this room?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall, I liked the placement of the hotel within the airport and easy access to car rental too. The hotel staff was pleasant and informative. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were decorated nicely. I have one issue, there was not an outlet in the room NEAR a mirror. In order to share the bathroom with my travel companions I leave the bathroom once I am done with my shower. I have other grooming needs that require a mirror but the mirror in the room did not have an outlet nearby. This was the most annoying thing to me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops - Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Your recent review of the hotel and the positive comments regarding the location and staff are very much appreciated. As we are always looking for ways to improve we have noted your experience and the need to add the ability to utilize the wall mirror and electrical outlets. We hope to have you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    200
    40
    14
    7
See reviews for
149
137
52
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel on the concierge level the night before an early morning flight and that was very convenient. We returned our rental car early and saved the price of an extra few hours which was great.

The hotel is very nice and clean. It is decorated very tastefully. The bathroom is nice, but extremely small! The toiletries are also very nice with everything you might need, including cotton balls, cotton swabs and make remover towelletes. There are coffee makers in the cabinet under the T.V.

We had a view of the runways, but there really wasn't much action out there. It was nice to look out the window and see some planes arrive.

All of the staff was friendly. Every staff memeber said "hello" even if they were just passing you in the hall.

The staff at the concierge lounge was very friendly and helpful, but the choices were minimal to say the least. There were veggies and dip, cheese and crackers and one choice of hot appetizers. There were several types of non-alcoholic beverages. Unlike some concierge lounges, you had to pay for alcoholic beverages. We did not pay extra for those, but I did see that the hostess did pur fairly generously. In the evening, they had one type of dessert and a couple of kinds of cookies. Breakfast was OK, but again very basic. Nothing overly spectacular, but convenient before an early morning flight.

We felt it was a little bit pricey for what it actually was, but I guess we're paying for convenience. Next time, I would forgo the extra price for the concierge service and just eat in the airport. I did notice there were a number of well-known restaurants and a Starbucks. Eating at a restaurant would have taken up some of the time. The hotel itself is fairly boring in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your experience at the hotel. We certainly feel that our location is a convenient choice for an early morning traveler and our staff make every effort to make you feel welcomed. Your feedback on the food options in the lounge has been shared with our culinary staff as they are constantly evaluating our offerings. We look forward to hosting you once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, DE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised with the excellence of this hotel and the staff. We chose to stay here since we had a 7 am flight and figured we could return the rental car the night before and then get to sleep in a little later. It was more than I wanted to spend for the few hours we were there but the convenience made it worthwhile. We all said we wished we had more time to stay as the hotel was so nice. We did take advantage of the ping pong table out by the pool! Staff was very helpful. Bellman even took our luggage down to the Southwest counter for us. Even at 5:15 am, staff very pleasant and accommodating. Would be nice to have somewhere to get coffee prior to 6 am for those early morning flights.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are proud that we were able to provide you with such a pleasant surprise and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. While our location is one of our strongest attributes we are glad to hear that you found our "Traveler's Oasis" pool area that includes the ping pong, corn hole and hammocks. Certainly a nice surprise not found in your typical airport hotel. We look forward to your return visit for soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stay here a lot when I come to see family and I have an early flight the next day! The hotel is warming and very comfortable. I get up super early to go check my luggage in and go back to sleep for a little bit until my flight is about to board. The hotel bar is great especially for those of us traveling during the holidays. They have decent rates if you book early enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review highlighting the convenience of our hotel’s location. We focus on providing a great atmosphere for you while making for an easy trip out of Tampa. We look forward to your next visit after spending time with friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I never write reviews. I arrived at the Tampa Marriott, three kids in tow, Saturday night 4/6/13. This was the height of spring break. I noticed the staff from start to finish was so friendly, kind, and helpful. We arrived to our room, and my heart sunk as there was a king bed only. I called the front desk, and anxiously explained the situation. Within 5 minutes, we were placed In a suite that had a double bed, with two rollaways in it to accommodate myself and my three kids. The young lady at the front desk, Yeneth (?), was simply top notch in terms of her deft handling of the situation, calming a n anxious customer, and being so kind in the process. I travel often, and truly I have never been so impressed. I know due to spring break the hotel likely was packed with families, yet they found a way to help me. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough! Thank you!! And also, the young man at the valet was also extremely kind and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops, Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Your recent review of your experience at the Tampa Airport Marriott was a great example of why we feel we are such a great choice for anyone looking for a staff that truly cares. Thank you for taking the time to do your first review on our team. Yaneth is an asset to our team and she looks forward to welcoming you back to Tampa soon. Thank you for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was one of the best I have stayed in awhile. The staff went above an beyond to accommodate our group a we were there for a conference. I had no complaints about anything. The only downer is that it's directly at the airport an the eating options get old after awhile, but the mall is fairly close.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops - Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a great review on our hotel. The hotel staff certainly appreciates the kind words as they are always focusing on making the group experience an enjoyable one. Please come and stay with us soon again as we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a 0745 flight home to Vancouver (via DFW) from the Tampa Airport at the end of our spring break, so we decided to bite the bullet and stay at an airport hotel. As we are are Marriott Rewards and AAA members this property right in the Tampa airport was the obvious choice. Altho a bit pricey at $197 per night, when you factor in it could save you a day on car rental fees, and for sure the stress and hassle of an early am drive & car return at the airport, it was money well spent.

The location is perfect as an easy walk to the airline departure counters, but the biggest plus to me of this location was the staff. The lady in their 6th floor lounge, Margit, was one of the nicest & most professional people I have ever met. When she heard we were leaving so early the next morning she wrapped up a bunch of tasty cookies for my son, and also offered up a few boxes of cereal & drinks so he could have something in the morning in case we were too rushed before our 1st flight of the day. It was clear Margit was very passionate about her job (16 yrs with Marriott she said), and it is because of people like her that we will pay more to continue staying at Marriotts.

Room was fiine with a flat screen & 2 comfy queen beds & it is nice to look out & see the runway with planes taking off & landing. It didn't seem like plane noise was an issue & the only noise issue was the loudness of the room phones as at 0500 I heard the phone go off in a nearby room which made for a slightly earlier wake up than I would have wanted.

The hotel lobby has wi-fi, and the 6th floor lounge also has one work-station with a printer, but if you want wi-fi or wired in internet access in your room it is a $14.95 charge. To me that is a bit cheeky for a room that is almost $200/night, but for most corporate clients that likely isn't an issue, but I think the hotel should re-think that policy.

Check out was not an issue as we had turned in our Marriott gift cards the night we checked in so that credit was there, and the balance went onto our AMEX cards. Easy walk into the airport & bonus is some nice shops in the general area. Overall we would stay there again for the convenience & staff.

Room Tip: Only 5 floors and all have some view of the runways. If the runway view is key for you (or your kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_TPAAP, Director of Hotel Ops - Rooms at Marriott Tampa Airport, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Your loyalty to Marriott and the rewards program is very much appreciated. We were pleased to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs and also make such a lasting impression with our staff. Margit certainly has the passion needed to make a difference and we are lucky to have had her on our team for the last 16 years. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Tampa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Tampa Airport

Address: 4200 George J Bean Parkway, Tampa, FL 33607
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#4 Business Hotel in Tampa
#9 Family Hotel in Tampa
#14 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Tampa Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located inside the Tampa Airport (TPA), this newly renovated hotel offers an ideal location for business and leisure travelers. With triple-paned glass and the Marriott Revive bedding package, you will appreciate the complete overhaul to the guest rooms and bathrooms at this Tampa airport hotel. We are proudly rated amongst Marriott's top 10 hotels for guest satisfaction, making us a best bet among Tampa International Airport hotels! Enjoy amazing skyline views at our Tampa Airport hotel's rotating rooftop restaurant, The View at CK's, or experience the sophisticated Skyye Lounge in the Lobby. For casual dining we offer the Skyye Coffee Bar, serving Starbucks or enjoy American cuisine from Café Elise. Enjoy the outdoor pool, on-site fitness center, and 18,000 square feet of event space for meetings, special events and weddings. Marriott's Tampa Airport hotel is near golf courses, Raymond James Stadium, International Plaza, Downtown Tampa and beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Reservation Counter, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Tampa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Tampa Airport Hotel Tampa
Tampa Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Tampa Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.