We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Tampa” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2225 North Lois Ave, Tampa, FL 33607-2355   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #64 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Annapolis, MD
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Tampa”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

Selected this hotel because it was close to the airport, the Hilton name, and ability to get a government room rate. I had read a previous reviewer comment on the lack of privacy on the first floor so my antenna were up when assigned a room on that level by the desk clerk. The room had a sliding glass door opening to a lawn overlooking the parking lot. The lot was far off enough, ~ 150 feet, that I wasn't concerned.

I returned to my room after dinner at Shells, my favorite Tampa seafood restaurant, and went to shut the curtains over the translucent, diaphonous sheers and discovered that they weren't curtains at all, they were just valances. Anyone on the lawn, or in the parking lot for that matter, can see into your room! I was too unpacked and too tired to ask the desk clerk for a new room for just one night. Had I it to do over again, I would have requested it just out of principle.

Other small annoyances included a jacuzzi in which the water jets didn't work and a breakfast omelette that came with lukewarm, soggy potatoes (looked like they'd been scooped out of the warming tray from the buffet vice prepared fresh.) Was somewhat on a tight schedule so I didn't send them back. But when you choose to stay at the Hilton, you just expect everything to be right the first time. Won't be coming back. There are lots of choices in Tampa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    178
    97
    46
    25
See reviews for
81
105
38
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

This is a 70's or early 80's vintage hotel however the rooms have been nicely updated with new furnishings and luxurious beds that pretty much guarantee a great nights sleep. Beyond that this is a basic Hilton experience from start to finish. Location is great for the airport but not much else. One important note: The elevators make very LOUD beeping sounds when they arrive at each floor. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room as far away as possible!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, KS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We used Hotwire.com to book an hotel at the last minutes because we missed our plane getting out of Tampa. For 80 dollars (tax and hotwire.com fees included) we stayed at the Hilton by the airport. It was a great stay. Big rooms, very clean. The best part of the room was the Hilton bed. It was so confortable and relaxing. The hotel had a pool, jaccuzi, and a nice lobby/bar area with a good ambiance. There was also a restaurant but we did not try it. It is also very close from the mall of Florida and a lot of great Cuban restaurants. THilton offers complimentary shuttles and have wireless internet access, but we did not used these services.
We booked by 7:00pm and got to the hotel a little later. Our keys and paperwork were already prepared for us. The check in took less than a minute. The checkout was as fast by proceeding through the TV checkout available in the room.
Overall, it was a great night for us, especially by booking it at the last minute without planning anything. We did spend a lot of time doing our thing without spending time doing the hotel check in and out stuff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

The location of this hotel is very good. Close to the airport and across the street from the International Marketplace (mall). It is showing signs of age, however. And the plumbing is tired! My bathtub/shower was made of plastic and there was water inside the plastic, and it did not go away. It was just like riding a surfboard every time I took a shower. Toilets don't flush very well either.
Also, recommend that you do not stay on the first floor. There is NO privacy. My room had a giant window looking into the entrance for the conference center. And there are only see-through curtains/panels over the window. So folks can see into the room. And just outside my room was a convenient area for convention/party attendees to hold cell phone conversations, arguments and smoke breaks.

As a Hilton Honors Gold member, I was given access to the concierge room on the 11th floor. This is also offered for an additional $20 per night. Do not waste your money. You get complimentary water, chips and one warm snack (meatball, eggroll, etc). They charge max price for a beer (4.25 billed to my room).
There is a bar area, but it is COLD, FREEZING COLD.

No real benefits here for HH members. Try Embassy Suites, always a treat!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

I know this is a little delayed, but I wanted to share a pleasant experience I had with my family at the Hilton. We stayed before a cruise we were taking out of the Port of Tampa, on the night of our stay, the AC unit went out in the whole hotel. We were all misserable and none of us got any sleep. We called down in the morning to complain to the manager and what a pleasant surprise we received... The manager at the front desk, Kelly, was so kind and helpful - she was appologetic, yet very understanding and didn't sugar coat the problem. She kept her promise throughout the morning and afternoon to keep us posted on the situation and at one point in the afternoon when she wasn't certain it would be fixed for our second nights stay - she offered to help us relocate to another hotel so we would be able to sleep comfortably! I couldn't believe that she would be so helpful and accomodating to our needs... it was a very stressful day for the whole staff at the hotel and she managed to keep all the guests happy throughout the day. The hotel staff was even going to go out of their way to drive us to another hotel. Luckily, the AC was able to be fixed and we were able to stay the second night. What a great assett this manager was to this hotel!!

Stayed April 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2006

We stayed for one night following a cruise. Easy check-in, nice lobby and common areas. Pool area was being updated, but nice enough and clean. The rooms had obviously been renovated recently with brand new carpeting, very comfortable pillow-top / duvet-covered beds and tiny but modern bathrooms. Shuttle service to mall and airport very easy. We did not try any of the dining on-site.
A very nice airport hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, CT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2006

My teenage daughter, my friend, her teenage daughter and I stayed at the Hilton Tampa Airport for 1 night, Feb. 17, 2006. We were going on a cruise the next day and this ended up being the perfect airport area hotel. The rooms were very nicely decorated and spacious with very comfy beds.

The hotel has a free shuttle to the International Mall (huge mall with great stores and restaurant choices), which is a 2-minute ride away. We spent the day at the mall, as well as having dinner at one of the restaurants, and the Hilton picked us up just a few minutes after we called.

If you need a comfortable and pleasant Tampa airport area hotel, this one is it.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore

Address: 2225 North Lois Ave, Tampa, FL 33607-2355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#57 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the best Tampa International Airport hotels offering exceptional service and the closest proximity of International Plaza hotels with complimentary Tampa Airport shuttle service from 5am-1am. Unwind with a swim in the heated outdoor pool or work out in the fitness room or at the on-site tennis court. This hotel is ideal for special events, with over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space and free Wifi access. Not many hotels near downtown Tampa can compete with our location in Westshore within easy access to International Plaza, Raymond James Stadium, Cigar City Brewery and Ybor City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore Hotel Tampa
Hilton Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Airport Westshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.