We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“35th wedding anniversary stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“35th wedding anniversary stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a great place to stay and the suites were stocked well with utensils, pots and pans etc. The front desk clerk was kind and reserved our dinner reservations and recommended a romantic restaurant. The only draw back would have been access to actually get down into the water from the beach

Room Tip: get the water view it is a nice change with a great little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    357
    145
    75
    67
See reviews for
351
278
51
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumming, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had our college-age kids with us, and got a 1-bedroom suite. The full kitchen was very convenient, and the view was wonderful. The front desk personnel are polite, friendly and helpful. The room can have thin walls, and anyone walking by the room can be heard, so if there are a group of kids around, you'll hear everything. Security is pretty good, as I saw them talking to a group of teens getting loud in the evening. The room and bath are clean and spacious. I remembered from a previous visit years ago that the kitchen implements (cookware, utensils, dishwasher pods), and still didn't bring enough. Please, sailport, add some more cookware (a baking sheet?), utensils, and cleaning products (I would have cleaned the pan better if I had a scrubber available). We traveled to the Walmart about 5 miles away and restocked food, which was convenient.

Room Tip: 4th floor has a very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a great hotel. The rooms were perfect sized and the location was awesome...walking distance to some restaurants and they have a shuttle to take you to other locations within Tampa and the views from the rooms were beautiful. The staff was "outstanding"; i would like to thank Kayte, Jon and Mike Viola for making this a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in a 2 room 2 bath suite on the 2nd floor. The room was fantastic. We had a great view from the balcony. Both bedrooms were clean and the beds comfortable. The common area had a nice couch, table and chairs. There were 3 large flat screen Tvs in the suite. The kitchen had nice stainless steel appliances, and everything you need to make a meal Since we were only there one night, we choose to stay in and order out from a local pizzeria that put a flier under the door. The food came in a timely manner, was fresh, hot and delicious. We didn't get a chance to walk the ground so, but there was a nice pool and a small water front beach area. The front desk people were helpful and friendly. They have a free shuttle that runs from 7am to 11 pm. When our friend had an early morning flight, they did arrange a taxi to pick him up. My only complaint is that we asked for a late check out and was denied

Room Tip: I recommend the 2 bed bath suite. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is by no means a luxurious hotel, but it is pleasant, well-equipped, and wonderfully located.

Our suite had a balcony overlooking the workout area, the parking lot, and the bay. At first I was disappointed that the bay was in the background, but we discovered that the balcony was quiet and restful as we sat there over the weekend. We enjoyed the pool, but I want to warn you that the "beach" is not really a beach. It is a nice, sandy area with lounge chairs, tables, and palapas, and it edges onto the water. But between the "beach" and the water is a rock wall that you are not supposed to stand on or traverse. In other words, it has all the features of the beach except being able to wade out into the surf.

The suite itself is spacious with a nice living room, a well-equipped full kitchen with coffee and coffee maker, a bathroom with a closet, and a bedroom with a queen-size bed, which is quite firm and comfortable. The bedroom fronts onto the interior hall, and we heard people during the night a couple of times, but the noise subsided quickly.

The living room has a large flat screen tv and the bedroom a smaller one. Unfortunately, all the channels were as vacuous as the many we have at home, so we watched a grand total of fifteen minutes over the weekend.

When we drove over to Clearwater Beach on Saturday morning, we were so thankful that we had not opted to stay in that area that was so congested and busy with tourists and miles of beach umbrellas. Most of the hotels there were not on the beach but across the street.

All in all, I recommend the Sailport for its comfort, its lower price, and its proximity to the attractions and restaurants in Tampa.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and detailed information. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you back to the Sailport in the future. Be sure to call us directly and mention that you are a repeat guest for an extra discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only had one night here (needed a place after our flight was cancelled) and we were very pleased. Our one bedroom suite was clean and comfortable, the staff was more than accommodating and everyone was very friendly. We enjoyed sitting out on our deck watching the gorgeous view of Tampa Bay. I should point out that although this is not a new, modern facility, I would recommend it!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you so much for your review and for the recommendation. It's never fun to have your flight cancelled, but glad to know we were able to provide you with a relaxing atmosphere during your stay. We would love to be able to welcome you back should your travels bring back to Tampa and hopefully your flight won't get cancelled again. We appreciate your feed back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I recently returned from my trip to Tampa. This hotel fit my needs wonderfully. It was lovely to have a bedroom and a pullout couch (sometimes a little privacy is a good thing). They told us at check-in that maid service wouldn't come during our very short trip - which I was fine with. It has a good central location and parking the rental was no problem. My mom loved the heated pool. The only problem with our room would be in the bedroom the light switch doesn't turn on the light or do anything, the tv in the bedroom got stuck if it circled around to zero only unplugging it fixed it, and the pullout couch wasn't super comfy (we never called about this though). Overall it's a good place

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you overall enjoyed your stay and apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered from those few small issues. I will be sure to address this with our maintenance staff. We hope that should your travels bring you back to Tampa, that we will be able to welcome you back to the Sailport!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#36 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) and Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious One-Bedroom Family Suites or Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.