We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!!
Ranked #23 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Last minute trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Hubby and I planned a last minute trip to Tampa so I scrambled to find a place with a reasonable price and accommodations that would fit in with our plans. I found Sailport Waterfront Suites and it looked perfect. The next day, I went back online to book a week and the price had changed. I then called and spoke to Arlene, asking if they would honor the price from the previous day. She said that was not a problem. I also explained to her that hubby and I would be arriving independently. She said if both of our names were on the reservation, and had a credit card (not necessarily the one used to book) both of us could check in and have access to the room. Hubby arrived earlier than me, and the desk clerk would not let him check in even though his name was listed first. He had to wait in the parking lot, in the heat for hours until I arrived.

The room was spacious for two people. The furniture was a little dated. The kitchen supplies were sparse. The water didn't seem to get hot, just warm. The first day that I used the hair dryer ( it's stored in a cloth bag), I pulled out a used q-tip along with the hair dryer. Housekeeping didn't come everyday. The maid didn't knock or call out. One morning she was just standing there.

But it worked for us. The view over the bay was awesome! There is no beach access so hubby enjoyed the pool. There is also a fitness area outside but I never saw anybody using the machines.

I don't know what happened after hours but the place is incredibly loud! Every night there was noise in the hallways. Loud, wake you up noise. Babies crying above us at 3-4 am. Every single night.

One of the main reasons we chose this place was because of the "courtesy van", according to the website. The website lists places the courtesy van will take you. On our third day we found out there was a fee attached to some of those places. We ended up renting a car. On our last day, one of the drivers told me they were paid by the hour so there was no need to tip them (which we did when we used the van) and if you were a Laser Spine Institute patient, the van would drive you to Walmart one time for free. We were not patients, so we were told the fee to Walmart was $30 for 2/one way. Over the few days we did use the van, we were driven by 3 drivers; two were very nice and cheerful, one has a attitude.

Be prepared for back surgery patients walking the halls, both with and without medical professionals, in wheelchairs and just generally roaming the grounds. One day I saw a medical professional going from room to room, knocking on doors, I'm guessing to check on patients. This place really seems to cater to the back surgery facility, which is at the corner.

Yes, the place isn't perfect but I would stay again, now that I know what to expect (and not expect). The price was great and the view was awesome!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize for any inconvenience that you encountered during your stay. I will have to touch base with our front desk team to see what had happened. Also,we would have been more than happy to have security handle any noise complaints that we received. I will also meet with my housekeeping team as well in regards to the issues you mentioned. Our guest's feedback is very important to us and we take it very seriously. We strive to make our guests stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. We hope that you will choose Sailport again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    393
    158
    77
    71
See reviews for
397
329
57
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 week stay at Sailport. Although our suite could have had counter stools and an updated couch, we managed to enjoy the beautiful views, the pool and the surrounding area. A very good, central location for our vacation plans. The staff was truly accommodating and the housekeeping was excellent! We hope to return this year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There have been some updates to the hotel since your stay in December. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville ky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My teen age daughter and I planned a last minute getaway and stayed here for four nights. It is conveniently located to the airport and Clearwater area beaches. The view from our room of the bay and beach area was great but this is not a real beach. There isn't any water access. The room was very clean and large. This is a condo hotel and each unit is individually owned. Ours had been renovated with granite counters in the kitchen and bath. The deal with housekeeping is strange. We were told they only come every 3rd day but to call for any necessities such as clean towels. Housekeeping only attempted to come once and of course, it was when we were in the room. We asked them to come back later but they never did. We were rarely in the room. It just worked out that way. Four nights with no cleaning is long. We had to take garbage to outside cans because we had only a small trash can. Front desk staff were very friendly. We loved watching the sunset each night then hanging out around the fire pit. There is a beach area with the fire pit and torches and a few chairs. We met some nice people there each evening. Two nights the fire pit wasn't lit even though the weather was fine. The torches were lit each night. The pool and beach area close up each night around 10 so noise wasn't ever a problem. There is only one small pool at this hotel. There was a large group having a family reunion while we were there. They were at the pool most of the time and it made it crowded for others to try to use the pool. There is a sign that says the pool accommodates 26 people. There were more of them than that much less anyone else. All in all a great value for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool area would be noisy and have less of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. I will contact our housekeeping department and maintenance staff in regards to the issues you mentioned. We hope that we are able to welcome you back as repeat guests in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a family vacation at this vocational place which was very pleasant. I've been here before last year and came again with my husband and family so they can experience too. My husband loved the place and the best part of all it has for fishing. He tried his luck! If you don't have rods the facility has some. The only thing not going towards the resort is everything is kind of far will need transportation and the elevator which needs an upgrade as well as the sofa bed (with memory foam mattress) works better and it'll be a good investment.

This is a family hang out place best than a couples retreat but which ever way it goes for you it'll be good.

I will definitely come back for a third time and hopeful more.

Have fun in the sun!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review and your continued business. We are glad that you have chosen us as your hotel of choice. Sailport will begin in August to work with Enterprise Car Rental and will have rentals available directly at the hotel. We are very excited to offer this to our guests! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff was excellent, the room was great, the view was beautiful... It can't get much better than that! The location was in a great place especially for my surgery at the Laser Spine Center. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. We had a full size kitchen with all the amenities. The location was center of all the tasty restaurants. We will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We think you said it all! We appreciate your wonderful review and we are so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us while you where here for your surgery. We would love to welcome you back and hopefully the next time will be for a vacation instead of surgery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family really enjoyed our stay at Sailport on the bay. The room was very nice and so was the staff. With the room on the bay, we saw beautiful sunsets nightly and from our rooms' balcony we watched fish jump out of the water and storms roll in daily. It was a beautiful sight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sailport. We hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our family of three adults spent six glorious nights at Sailport Waterfront from July 13-19, 2014. Our daughter was invited to participate in a Research trial conducted at USF (Tampa), and wanted to stay in a close enough proximity of the University, but a place that gave us a bit more of the Florida tropical feel....Seaport offered this beyond my expectations!! We stayed in a two-bedroom, two bath suite that was very roomy, up-to-date with all the furnishings, full modern kitchen, and a most breathtaking view of the bay from our living room=magnificent sunsets!! Poolside was clean and inviting, and a veranda where you relax close to the bay. By the way, every "condo" has a bayfront view and are individually owned! Whether you are looking for a get away, business, family Seaport has everything you would want: close to bayfront restaurants and bars/bistros AND close to Clearwater Beach, Tarpon Springs!! Seaport Waterfront Suites is your tropical home away from home!! Thank you,! The Piepers', St. Louis, MO

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
The team here at the Sailport truly appreciate your wonderful review and rating. We are so glad to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time at the Sailport during your trip to Tampa. With our central location, Sailport does make a great place to stay! We hope to welcome you back as a repeat guest in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#33 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.