We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Holiday Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 week stay at Sailport. Although our suite could have had counter stools and an updated couch, we managed to enjoy the beautiful views, the pool and the surrounding area. A very good, central location for our vacation plans. The staff was truly accommodating and the housekeeping was excellent! We hope to return this year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. There have been some updates to the hotel since your stay in December. We look forward to your return and welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    370
    148
    77
    68
See reviews for
361
297
53
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louisville ky
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My teen age daughter and I planned a last minute getaway and stayed here for four nights. It is conveniently located to the airport and Clearwater area beaches. The view from our room of the bay and beach area was great but this is not a real beach. There isn't any water access. The room was very clean and large. This is a condo hotel and each unit is individually owned. Ours had been renovated with granite counters in the kitchen and bath. The deal with housekeeping is strange. We were told they only come every 3rd day but to call for any necessities such as clean towels. Housekeeping only attempted to come once and of course, it was when we were in the room. We asked them to come back later but they never did. We were rarely in the room. It just worked out that way. Four nights with no cleaning is long. We had to take garbage to outside cans because we had only a small trash can. Front desk staff were very friendly. We loved watching the sunset each night then hanging out around the fire pit. There is a beach area with the fire pit and torches and a few chairs. We met some nice people there each evening. Two nights the fire pit wasn't lit even though the weather was fine. The torches were lit each night. The pool and beach area close up each night around 10 so noise wasn't ever a problem. There is only one small pool at this hotel. There was a large group having a family reunion while we were there. They were at the pool most of the time and it made it crowded for others to try to use the pool. There is a sign that says the pool accommodates 26 people. There were more of them than that much less anyone else. All in all a great value for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool area would be noisy and have less of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you and your daughter enjoyed your stay. I will contact our housekeeping department and maintenance staff in regards to the issues you mentioned. We hope that we are able to welcome you back as repeat guests in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from a family vacation at this vocational place which was very pleasant. I've been here before last year and came again with my husband and family so they can experience too. My husband loved the place and the best part of all it has for fishing. He tried his luck! If you don't have rods the facility has some. The only thing not going towards the resort is everything is kind of far will need transportation and the elevator which needs an upgrade as well as the sofa bed (with memory foam mattress) works better and it'll be a good investment.

This is a family hang out place best than a couples retreat but which ever way it goes for you it'll be good.

I will definitely come back for a third time and hopeful more.

Have fun in the sun!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for your review and your continued business. We are glad that you have chosen us as your hotel of choice. Sailport will begin in August to work with Enterprise Car Rental and will have rentals available directly at the hotel. We are very excited to offer this to our guests! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The staff was excellent, the room was great, the view was beautiful... It can't get much better than that! The location was in a great place especially for my surgery at the Laser Spine Center. The bed was very comfortable and the room was spacious. We had a full size kitchen with all the amenities. The location was center of all the tasty restaurants. We will definitely revisit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We think you said it all! We appreciate your wonderful review and we are so glad to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us while you where here for your surgery. We would love to welcome you back and hopefully the next time will be for a vacation instead of surgery!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My family really enjoyed our stay at Sailport on the bay. The room was very nice and so was the staff. With the room on the bay, we saw beautiful sunsets nightly and from our rooms' balcony we watched fish jump out of the water and storms roll in daily. It was a beautiful sight.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at the Sailport. We hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back should your travels bring you back to Tampa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our family of three adults spent six glorious nights at Sailport Waterfront from July 13-19, 2014. Our daughter was invited to participate in a Research trial conducted at USF (Tampa), and wanted to stay in a close enough proximity of the University, but a place that gave us a bit more of the Florida tropical feel....Seaport offered this beyond my expectations!! We stayed in a two-bedroom, two bath suite that was very roomy, up-to-date with all the furnishings, full modern kitchen, and a most breathtaking view of the bay from our living room=magnificent sunsets!! Poolside was clean and inviting, and a veranda where you relax close to the bay. By the way, every "condo" has a bayfront view and are individually owned! Whether you are looking for a get away, business, family Seaport has everything you would want: close to bayfront restaurants and bars/bistros AND close to Clearwater Beach, Tarpon Springs!! Seaport Waterfront Suites is your tropical home away from home!! Thank you,! The Piepers', St. Louis, MO

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
The team here at the Sailport truly appreciate your wonderful review and rating. We are so glad to hear that you and your family had a fantastic time at the Sailport during your trip to Tampa. With our central location, Sailport does make a great place to stay! We hope to welcome you back as a repeat guest in the near future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Spent 5 nights in a 2br suite. Very clean and comfortable. Pool was nice, though we didn't get a lot of use due to a large family event also being held and kids were pretty rowdy in the pool (no fault of Sailport). Kitchen was well-equiped and the place met our overall needs. Staff was friendly and responsive. Price was a great value for our family. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy L, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of our guests feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to pass your review along to our staff. We hope that we have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Sailport as a repeat guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.