We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every room has a water front view.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Every room has a water front view.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We were staying at the Sailport because of my back surgery at the Laser Spine Institute. One of the elevators was closed for repairs and not fixed by the time we left. The view was nice. The seating was extremely uncomfortable! I requested a recliner but they had none available and none of the guests checking out that day had one in their room. Needless to say, I got very little sleep prior to surgery, and even less after surgery due to uncomfortable furniture. The floors squeaked horribly in the sitting room. There was no end table or coffee table for my caregiver to set a glass or cup on. The sliding glass door leading to the balcony was extremely difficult to close from the balcony side. The undercover parking was nice if you got there early enough to get a spot that was covered.

Room Tip: Rooms with lower numbers on the north side have better views of the bay. If you need a recliner, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. I apologize that you experienced some issues with the furnishings in the room. We are currently in the process of upgrading all of our rooms with new furnishings to avoid this issue from coming about again. I hope that you get a chance to come back and see us when we have everything complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    311
    136
    70
    65
See reviews for
310
242
46
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Found the place very clean and well kept, all staff seemed to be concerned about your stay. Coffee machine always broken, not nice. Elevator broken at time of stay as well, but was fixed by the end. Buss service to places very good and friendly most of the time. Loved the pool area well kept and nice temp. Wished the kitchen better stocked, lacking some things to cook with. Found the week days very peaceful and the weekends very loud and not controlled well enough. But all and all i would recommend this place for a good price and closeness to LSI.

Room Tip: use the wallmart pass for shopping as soon as you arrive for groceries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review. Our sincere apologies about the coffee machine being out of order. This machine is outsourced and we are in the process of getting a new machine in which we will begin offering complimentary coffee in the mornings to all of our guests. Other than that, it looks as though your stay was to your satisfaction and we appreciate your taking the time to let others know what Sailport is all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis Center, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great place for families, great pool area, beautiful views of the water. Excellent and helpbul staff. Resort provides a shuttle to and from the airport as well as a local shuttle that will take you to and from local restaurants, shops, etc.

Room Tip: End suites face the Tampa Bay and are quite. Great views of the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate your positive feedback and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Buren, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My son had laser back surgery at LSI in Tampa and this is one of the locations that they suggested since it is in close proximity to their facility. Although I was pleased with there willingness to get us check in early since my son's surgery was moved up a day and check-in wasn't till 3:00., I was not pleased with where they placed us knowing my son was not going to be very mobile. Also the room needed to have maintenance done on it before we arrive which was very evident that it did not. First the first night we had no hot water in the shower and then no air conditioning in the last part of our stay. The maintenance person came and fixed the water issue but the air conditioning was not fixed and we were told that air was coming out of the vents. The air that was BARELY coming out was not cold at all. It does have a beautiful view out the back and if they possible took into consideration of where they are placing patient and do maintenance on their rooms it wouldn't be a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
I apologize that your stay was not 100% satisfactory. I will make sure to address the maintenance issues with our manager to see what needs to done about the hot water and the A/C issues you experienced during your stay. During this time of year we are extremely busy so we are not always able to accommodate check-ins prior to 3PM, but we do try our best to accommodate when the rooms are available. Thank you for your feedback and please come back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I was in Tampa for a consult on my back injury and absolutely everyone I came in contact with was wonderful! Mark the maintenance man to the drivers who took me to the
laser Spine Institute to all the front desk workers all went out of their way to make me feel at home and welcome. The suites and grounds were clean and comfortable and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We love our Laser Spine guests and it is great to hear positive feedback from them. We hope that you can come back and see us again and take advantage of the many new amenities we have in store for 2014. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Beautiful area. Parking garage as the first floor. At first visit give your reservation name.I booked through "book it"...the parking attendant had my name..we parked and took stairs to second floor to check in. Girls are super nice..snacks, wine, beer, microwave. Coffee machine outside but it's out of chocolate :(. Anyway..our suite has a bedroom, walk in closet, full kitchen, flat screen tv, balcony with bay view. Very clean, bed is super comfortable. .linens are crisp and white. Flat screen in bedroom with DVD/VCR in bedroom and also in living room. The kitchen has an awesome radio.Heated pool..but colder in the warmer weather. Lounge chairs by the bay with sand . Jumping fish, dock, sun bathing.deck. Tiki torshes and fire pit at night lit by the staff. Sunset is beathtaking. Work out equipment outside that uses your own body weight..no weights needed. This place is simply amazing. These people giving bad reviews must be use to the Ritz Carlton or just ucky people. I was able to charge some thing to the room which was so convenient. This was a getaway just for a few days with my boyfriend. Rooms are quiet and feel like home. No bugs, super clean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Wow, we are ecstatic to hear that we hit the nail on head in every aspect of your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable and appreciated! Please keep preaching the good word about Sailport and come back to see us real soon. Thank you!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is great value, the rooms are clean with excellent views of the bay and the Gulf beyond, and the staff - from the managers and desk staff to the cleaning staff are all very helpful and friendly. Great value, great location and we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the end nearest the Gulf - all have good views but this end is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie W, Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Your feedback is much appreciated! We strive to provide the best possible; service on a daily basis and it is great to hear that we succeeded. Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) and Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious One-Bedroom Family Suites or Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.