We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save!!!
Ranked #25 of 160 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

• Sailport Waterfront Suites is terrific! Our condo was very clean, updated/renovated, well stocked and a perfect size for the two of us. We are 30 year "vacation veterans" of this area and were pleasantly surprised by this hidden gem. The most important "thing" to us while on vacation is the cleanliness of our accommodations...Sailport is VERY clean! The grounds are lovely, clean and well maintained. There is a huge, clean laundry room on site. The pool, deck area, beach and pier were very nice! You can't beat the location as it is so close to all area restaurants, beaches and attractions...if you choose to leave Sailport. The staff was wonderfully accommodating and kind. The absolute ONLY issue we had, that prevents me from giving it a 5 star rating, was the WI-FI connectivity...it's NOT good. If you need computer/internet access while at Sailport...you will be disappointed. Other than that, Sailport is tops and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your last stay with us at Sailport. I am glad you got to experience all that Sailport and Tampa has to offer. We are currently in the process of completely re wiring and upgrading our wireless internet service so when you come back next time we will get our 5th star. Half of the building is already complete and we should be finished by end of June. We look forward to your next stay with us and remember you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    404
    163
    77
    73
See reviews for
408
340
59
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west palm
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Overall this property is good for the price. I appreciate the kitchen (with dishwasher and radio!), and the balcony view. The location was good. I went for Memorial day getaway and traffic was a little heavy over to Clearwater. The staff was helpful and the property was clean. If you like a "firm" night sleep, you will get that! But I would reccomend this hotel to friends and probably will go back someday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for one night, because it was close to the airport and we had an early morning flight, however it would have been great for a longer stay.

The rooms are condos owned by various individuals, which are rented out when they are not there, so they have a full kitchen, living room, balcony, private bedroom, and a workstation area. There is a small beach area, but the shore is very rocky, so it's good to sit on the beach, but not great if you'd like to get in the water.

The room was very clean and well-kept and included free wifi. There was no restaurant there, but some close-by and no breakfast was provided.

It's very close to Tampa airport (5-10 minute drive) and the mall.

Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Sailport W.S. May 10 -14 2013 for our 20th wedding anniversary trip. We were seeking something stateside and Florida fit the bill. We had never travelled to the Tampa Bay area before and were very surprised at all the things that were nearby to do. We spent a large majority of the time at the actual facility, with the exception of dinner, etc. We went to Whiskey Joe's several times (within walking distance) and also went to Hogan's Beach ( very over rated). Whiskey Joe's had a very nice menu, complimentary valet parking, and a beach bar where you could also order food. We drove out to Clearwater Beach one day and ate at Crabby Bill's. The beach was very clean. The actual Sailport was very nice. We stayed in unit # 235, which had a great view of the Bay (which is large enough to be its own ocean). We sat outside many nights and watched the sunset from the deck, the pool and the beach area which was also very nice. The room was what you would expect at this level of condominium...... it was very clean and had all the amenities needed for a comfortable stay. It had its own small kitchen, separate bedroom, bathroom, etc. It is not the Waldorf Astoria......but it was very nice. We were within driving distance to all local shopping areas to obtain food, supplies needed while there. They tell you when you arrive that Maid service is not until the third day, which was fine with us. If you need something extra, call the front office or go to it. It was very simple, very nice. The front office even had a small store where you could purchase small items if needed including beer / wine. We purchased some seafood from a local place and cooked at the condo on two evenings. We also drove up to Walt Disney World one day (1.25 hr away) and went to Epcot ( our kids least favorite park). If you are looking for something romantic, simple, clean......this is the place for you. I was even able to get this as part of "package" deal which included the Airfare, Hotel, Rental car for under $1100.00 total. Although we have proclaimed this entire year as "anniversary year", wheras we celebrate it all year long in one way or another, this was a very nice, affordable trip. I generally do not write reviews, but after seeing some of the negative ones directed towards this facility, I thought I would endulge for once. We have travelled to many different places, stayed at very nice high dollar facilities to include but not limited to : Key West,FL ( Waldorf) - USVI St John ( Westin) and numerous others. This was a very nice place. P.S...... the WiFi works great, the parking is very simple, the Office location is pointed out to you upon arrival.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces the small beach area. I think the other side gives less view (parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind word regarding your most recent stay at Sailport Waterfront Suites. I am glad you were able to enjoy all the conveniences and local attractions the hotel and Tampa has to offer. We have osme of the best restaurants in the area all right on Rocky Point and we will also be building our own Waterfront Bar and Grill on our property. We look forward to your next stay with us and remember you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com. Enjoy the rest of your anniversary year and please come back to visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We started going to this place probably about 8 years ago, especially when we have an early flight out of the airport there. The one bedroom condo units are very comfortable and fully equipped with a full sized kitchen. I like to sit out on the covered balcony (it has two chairs and a small table) and we always choose a room facing the Causeway to Clearwater. There is a bar/restaurant along there that has a band on the beach bar. You can listen to the music without the crowds and enjoy your own wine. This is in a very convenient location to everything. They have pretty much anything you need for an overnight or weekly stay: laundry facilities, pool, secure parking, sandy (nonswimming) beach with chairs, hammocks, grills etc. There is a small fishing pier on Tampa Bay and they will rent you a pole to try your luck. There is a small grocery store with essentials plus beer and wine on-site.
Not all the units are totally alike. They have been decorated by their owners with the Assocation guidelines.Some are much nicer than others. The best ones are the two bedroom at the end of the hallways. It is like being on a cruise ship because all you can see around you from your windows is water! A beautiful view surrounded by Tampa Bay. Avoid ordering the food from the flyers left under your door. They deliver but the food is not that good. Try the restaurant at the end of the street, walking distance, if you want a special night out.

Hint: try not to get a unit facing toward the sun as the balcony is too hot to sit on during daylight hours and the glass sliders have to be covered with the levelors because of the heat.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor for generally less traffic. All corridors except the central one are covered a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay at Sailport and most importantly thank you for your continued business and support. I am glad you have recognized a lot of our changes and were able to enjoy the stunning sunsets and newly renovated grounds and rooms. The upgrades to the property continue as we start our Waterfront Bar and Grill. We look forward to your next stay at Sailport Waterfront Suites. Remember you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

How can you beat it, 1 bedroom, full kitchen, and a great balcony overlooking the bay. Every room overlooks the water. Don't go there for a 5 star, with restaurants, gym etc but has a very nice pool, volleyball, mini-beach, and close to everything. Price cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and when booking online use coupon code "REPEAT" for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Found this hotel from another adviser and took a chance. The view is great! Location was good since we were going to Clearwater that day too. Hotel was clean. No bugs found or dirty linens and towels while we were there. We only stayed 1 night but the price was just right so we decided to try it. Impressed by the kitchen although we did not cook. My only down side was the old sleeper sofa in the room... really needed to be changed out. Other than that...the staff was very nice and loved having covered parking. I would recommend for a quick stay since the location is very good.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#19 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#30 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.