We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailport great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #28 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Sailport great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at Sailport 8 nites for NYY and Phillies spring training games. It was perfect for our needs. Enjoyed the view watching fish, rays, egrits, herons, gulls from out patio bay view. Loved the extra room of livingroom and kitchen. Quiet, clean and private. Excellent location as about 20 minutes from Steinbrenner and Brighthouse fields. Heated pool wonderful also quiet places to sit and read while watching the bay. Enjoyed the beautiful sunsets. Only issue was bed linens were suppose to be changed half way thru our stay. Called housekeeping and they said they changed them, but bed looked excatly as we had left it that morning and some communications issues as not all staff speak English very well. Other than that, will be back next spring training.

Room Tip: Take the short walk to Rustly Pelican, lovely dinner and view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    311
    136
    70
    65
See reviews for
311
242
46
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for my wedding, and brought our wedding party with us. It wasn't a bad hotel, on the water, but the rooms and furniture could use some TLC and updating. The worst of our stay was afterwards they charged my $250 and showed me some generic pictures of stain said to have been in my room. Then they tried telling me that I had a small animal in my room, as evident by the crumbled blanket in the corner of the closet. The blanket came from the window, which i had to cover because the hallway lights were too bright for me to sleep. I did everything I could to leave that room as good as I found it, I cleaned all the dishes, and even took all my trash out. We booked 15 rooms with these people, and this is the thanks I get! Also, several members of my family were overcharged (which turned out to be a clerical issue), a bridesmaid of mine didn't have hot water, and my dad stated he found 5 roaches in his room. As a Florida resident, I am not a stranger to roaches. But I know that with proper insect maintenance , they shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peace
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were down for a family wedding at the Rusty Pelican and looking for some place close, reasonably priced, with bay views and room for all. After doing some research I selected a 2 bedroom at Sailport. I made some specific requests that were all acknowledged and, although no promises were made, it was a slam dunk! Awesome location with the best bay views possible in a quiet area of the complex. All staff were polite and friendly and went out of their way to ask if everything was good..The only down sides were due to other guests, like the fools next door who fed the sea gulls and put their trash outside of the door for the birds to attack (how lazy can you be???) and parents who would not control their kids in the pool area.

It was wonderful to have lots of space, a full kitchen and fantastic views from the balcony. We saw incredible sunsets, dolphins and rays, all from our balcony. I wasn't looking for a luxury hotel - this it like staying in someone's condo. The whole experience exceeded my expectations. Who needs a fitness center when the best fitness you can get is to go for a run in the morning, go swimming, rent some kayaks or take a long walk? If you want to stay inside, order room service, watch TV or use a treadmill, maybe this isn't the place for you, but if you want to enjoy all that the area has to offer away from the hub bub of Tampa with all the conveniences of a full kitchen, living area and amazing bay view...all at a very reasonable price, you will love this place!
Special shout out to Nick for being so friendly! Hope to see you all again soon :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lehighton Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a Sun show up date. On the Thurs before I called to confirm out reservation and to request a 4th newly renovated room. I was told they would do their best.On Sat on the hotel's own web site I made the same request. Of coarse no reply. When we arrived I made the same request. The front desk manger said she would look into it. As she walked away and I quote. " Oh you are prepaid and I said what and she replied sorry we are are full and I can't give you a up grade I said I am not asking for a up grade but the room you advertised on EXPEDIA and I had PAID for". She told me on Tues we would be moved to a newer room.Our room was 405. When you look at their web site you can see what they are trying to hide. Case in point. Look at the picture of the single room bedroom. Notice how the bed is moved next to the dreeser with the little plasma tv on it. That makes the room look larger then it realy is. Our room had a 9 inch non plasma tv. So small when I put my hand on the screen my thumb would touch the bottom and my pinky would touch the top of the screen. The tv in the living room was also a 20 year tv. It stopped working Tues am and when it came back on no ABC,CBS,NBS and Fox. We were told they would fix it but, when we left on Sat. I don't have to even say it. Case two when you look at the picture of the volleyball court you will see a grass area to the the right of it. This picture has been doctored to look like grass but, it is a MUD canal. This was half our view from the deck. We saw so much of MUD canal that we named the two ducks that live there. Good old Ralph and Pete. On Tues no new room not even a call. Weds am we went to the under manned front desk and wait 1/2 hour in line to be told I had no record of us asking for a new room. I the ask to see the manger and was told he was not there but would call later on my cell phone. GUESS what No call. As for the stealing I did see it. One maid stole beer from another maid's cart. That being another story.

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This property has been reviewed many times by many people, and of course every experience is completely subjective. Nothing was stolen from me, and I was fine with the fact that cleaning services were provided only every 3 days (which, I believe, is based on length of stay; I could be wrong). Here's what I would have wanted to know and what I wish someone had told me.

We stayed for 5 nights in room 429. To my mind, this is the side of the building you want to be on as it gives you a gorgeous view of the Bay with very little if any view of the parking lot. The location was perfect for us (we were down for Spring Training), and the Rusty Pelican across the road serves a mean cocktail. To my mind, we lucked out with room choice and I would request this part of the complex should I stay there again.

The property is comprised of privately owned condos that owners rent out. Some of the rooms have been renovated and some have not. I called ahead of time to request that I get a renovated room which, I think, was partially the case. The owner clearly put no effort into the balcony as there were cigarette burns in the astroturf and the lawn furniture was leftover from the set of the Brady Bunch. THAT SAID - we LOVED sitting out on the balcony and just watching ... everything. There were patch marks in the tub (not done incredibly well) and the sofa may just have been the most uncomfortable thing I've ever sat on. The living room yearned for a coffee table of some sort, and the bedroom was unfortunately too small to accommodate two nightstands.

It is crucial to point out that none of this would keep me from staying at the property again, but I don't know that I'd want to be in this particular room again.

The in-room property book is woefully out of date. The property has no fitness center (which, really, is not good) and at one time they apparently had a relationship with LA Fitness which its guests could use at no cost. When I went to the front desk to learn more, I was told that LA Fitness was no longer around. When I asked why the in-room info still referred to it, I was told simply "yeah, we're working on that". Hmmm....

The second issue I had has to do with the wifi. It's great that it's provided, but apparently when more than 3 people use it at any given time, it actually doesn't work very well... if at all. The property needs to do something to increase the bandwidth so that its guests can use the wifi that is made available to them.

The laundry room is nice and did come in handy. The 24/7 amenities? I would make sure to hit a Publix, Walgreen's, or Target for any needs as the front office isn't very well stocked. It's really more like an airport newstand than an actual shop. I didn't expect much, but to be fair I did expect more.

One more note about laundry - if you do plan on doing any, invest in the cheapest bottle of detergent you can find in an off-site store as it will still cost you less - even if you have to throw it away. They sell detergent but it costs $4/box. We did two loads which came to, in total, $7.50/load. The most expensive loads of laundry ever done.

So, would I stay there again? Maybe. There were parts of the experience that I loved (the little beach really is lovely) and parts which frustrated me (as mentioned), but having an efficiency while on holiday for 5 days was really wonderful and incredibly... efficient! I now know enough before I book again, but I would do a bit more research before committing.

I do sincerely make these suggestions: get some kind of fitness center and beef up the wifi. At the very least, regarding the former, make sure the information that is being given to your guests is current.

Room Tip: Rooms in the same line as room 429 are the way to go! To my mind, the best view, and I would always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I had searched several hotels looking for one that had a seperate bedroom/suite, with a pullout sofabed for the kids. This was a great find. Clean, great service and a great location right on the water. Beautiful beach and restraunts a few minutes across the way, and they provided us with a shuttle to get there! Both out kids loved it and have already started making plans to go back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

the view is lovely.. BUT...

be warned: housekeeping only comes every 3 days and when they do come, they steal.

booked there for 10 nights.. 3rd day, housekeeping stole a t-shirt from the living room.. 6th day, housekeeping stole a polo shirt RIGHT OUT OF THE CLOSET.. 9th day, we refused service because we were tired of the BS...

worst part about it was that the staff/hotel managers all but refused to help resolve this situation..

on top of that, we had an issue with the sofa bed, which took 4 days for them to fix and we had issues with the toilet that took a day and a half for them to take care of..

it was the 3rd year in a row we stayed there, hadnt had a problem until now.. but this was simply horrendous... never going back there, i advise you to do the same

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your most recent stay with us at Sailport. Here at Sailport we pride ourselves on outstanding quality and service and I am sorry to read that we did not exceed your expectations. We take all our feedback very serious especially ones where the guest is mistakingly accusing our staff of taking items out of the room. As you are aware and you discussed with myself and several managers we did everything possible to try and track down your missing T Shirts and were unable to do so. I assure you as you can go back and read all 400+ reviews on our site your shirts were not taken by anyone at the property. We followed our very strict policy and procedure pertaining to guests who claim items are missing and I assure you your shirts were absolutely not taken by our staff. As you saw for yourself we have a closet full of lost and found items pertaining to hundreds of shirts, shorts, shoes, elcetrical items, phone chargers, jewelery, etc all that are dated logged and returned back to the guests. I will make sure we keep an eye out and if your shirts do show up I will make sure you receive them back as we do all our lost and found items. Please contact me irectly should you have any questions regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Tampa
#25 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#43 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) and Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious One-Bedroom Family Suites or Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.