We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save!!!
Ranked #24 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I had reseved 4 separate rooms. We were not able to get any of the rooms together - but that was ok. Staff was friendly and rooms were clean.

We stayed here for 5 nights. They do not clean the rooms everyday. On the 3rd day, the cleaning staff came to clean our rooms. We were ok with this, we did not need clean towels everyday. Rooms were great. The kitchenette was perfect for us. We had a 3 month old and we were able to clean our own stuff and it was nice that a microwave was in the room as well.

In my opinion, the rooms are not ideally set up. The bedroom has a window right next to the hallway. Because of this, my 3 month old kept waking up in the middle of the night because of the hallway noises. We had to move her away from us and towards the sitting area so she would have a better sleep at night. After the first night, we moved her crib, she no longer woke up.

The kitchenette had everything you needed and was very clean. You do not need to bring anything yourself (other than hand dish detergrent). They even provide dishwasher detergent for the machine.

There was parking security on the weekends, which was nice. We had golf clubs in our car and we felt safe leaving them there.

My only complaint is that, on the first night, since we reserved 4 rooms, the hotel was at maximum capacity, they did not have one of the rooms we reserved and 2 familys had to share a - 2 bedroom (which was not what we asked for). The room was the very very very last room of the hotel. The hotel staff did not give us any discounts or do anything to make our stay better. They only offered us free dish detergent and a couple of pops - they said "its on the house". The staff eventually got us another room after the first day.

As far as restaurants, there aren't too many around the hotel. We tried Bahama Breeze but had to wait over an hour. We then went to Chart House which is right around the corner and the food was good. Chart House is on the pricier side, but we got a table right away, the views were amazing, the food was delicious and staff was friendly. It's a bit hidden, but its on the right side just before you get on the Causeway.

All in all, we would stay here again. The rooms have beautiful views of the waterfront and beach. Pretty good for the value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    392
    157
    77
    71
See reviews for
394
328
57
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Maybe it was the room we rec'd, but the bedroom was a double bed and very small, only about two feet on each side of bed. The bathroom was very small and could not even keep toiletries on the sink. And every day someone came in our room, and everyday they did something different and never very much. Always took the garbage, first day that was all they did. One day out of 5 they made out bed. One day out of 5 they put coffee cup in the dishwasher but did not leave more coffee. There is no where to walk except the parking lot and one small road. No where to eat within walking distance, no coffee shops. Only hotels and office building. Would not recommend at all. Also our room was right outside of the elevator and the noise kept us up at night, people talking and laughing. I did email mgmt and never heard a response

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Sailport Waterront Suites. It is feedback like yours that allows us to be the best we can be. I am sorry to hear we did not communicate properly to you all the things there are to do / walk to in the area. Almost attached to our hotel is a fantastic cafe that is open daily for breakfast and lunch, Chart house Restaurant, Rusty Pelican Restaurant all within easy walking distance and Whishey Joes and Bahama Breeze Restaurants a 2 minute shuttle ride. Our shuttle service is complimentary to and from the airport as well as all local Island restaurants to include Starbucks. As you are aware I have reached out to you directly and have my Guest Serivce Manager communicating with you to assure we make it right for you. Please contact me directly should you have any other questions regarding your stay or future stay with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Sailport for the second time and "downsized" to a one bedroom/one bath condo. it was perfectly fine for the 2 of us. The view is nice from the balcony though it was freezing here this March! One convenient thing this trip was that one of us got sick and didn't want to go out to eat. So the other was able to order a full barbecue dinner from a "wagon" on-site by the pool and pick it up an hour later. It was delicious too! Having 2 nice flat screen TV's in the until was great too. The other night we loved our dinner nearby at Bahama Breeze.......so easy to get to from here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at Sailport Waterfront Suites for 4 nights and it was wonderful. We had room 424, one bedroom renovated room on the 4th floor and have no complaints about the room at all. It was very clean, nice furniture, full kitchen with everything you need if you plan to eat in. Check in/out was very easy and like most previous reviews stated, the staff is very friendly (especially Sherise!). They tell you that there won't be housekeeping until the 3rd day, but our experience was that they came by everyday to change towels, take out trash, etc. My only wish is that there were more of a beach for walking, but I knew there wouldn't be when making reservation. There was a lot of noise coming from bar across the bay, but this is not Sailport's fault in any way. Althought it was spring break and booked full, it was very quiet and you could not hear people from next room. Overall great experience - would come back and definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Saliport for husband to have surgery at LSI. The service we received was fantastic, everyone tried to make us feel welcome and as comfortable as possible. The shuttle to and from the Institute was great, and day of the surgery was even escorted to the room by Harry the manager. We found a lovely treat and card left in out room. The view from our room was beautiful. Just wish we could have stayed longer for a real vacation. We had no complaints and will stay here again if in Tampa area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our room was on the 3rd floor and every window overlooked the ocean where we enjoyed beautiful sunsets and plenty of sea life (sting rays, ducks, birds, fish). No complaints with the room itself except that it did need paper towels and salt/pepper.

Our room was only attended once by housekeeping and that was on the 4th day of our 5 day stay. We had to take out our own trash and ask repeatedly for an extra blanket.

The shuttle service is great if you are going to the Laser Spine Institute or one of the 3 restaurants within the 4 miles radius. If you need to go to the Walmart 5.8 miles away, however, it will cost $30 round trip. Our suggestion would be to rent a car if you fly in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Sailport when going to the preseason baseball games in Clearwater. The kitchen was adequately equipped so we could fix our own breakfast and lunches. Needed 2 bedrooms and also had 2 bathrooms. The view of the bay was beautiful and even got use of the pool. Walked to a nearby restaurant for dinner. We would stay here again. Clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Tampa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#31 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) And Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) Are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.