We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location and great barbecue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #27 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Bonita Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very convenient location and great barbecue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Sailport for the second time and "downsized" to a one bedroom/one bath condo. it was perfectly fine for the 2 of us. The view is nice from the balcony though it was freezing here this March! One convenient thing this trip was that one of us got sick and didn't want to go out to eat. So the other was able to order a full barbecue dinner from a "wagon" on-site by the pool and pick it up an hour later. It was delicious too! Having 2 nice flat screen TV's in the until was great too. The other night we loved our dinner nearby at Bahama Breeze.......so easy to get to from here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    330
    138
    72
    65
See reviews for
322
254
47
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My family and I stayed at Sailport Waterfront Suites for 4 nights and it was wonderful. We had room 424, one bedroom renovated room on the 4th floor and have no complaints about the room at all. It was very clean, nice furniture, full kitchen with everything you need if you plan to eat in. Check in/out was very easy and like most previous reviews stated, the staff is very friendly (especially Sherise!). They tell you that there won't be housekeeping until the 3rd day, but our experience was that they came by everyday to change towels, take out trash, etc. My only wish is that there were more of a beach for walking, but I knew there wouldn't be when making reservation. There was a lot of noise coming from bar across the bay, but this is not Sailport's fault in any way. Althought it was spring break and booked full, it was very quiet and you could not hear people from next room. Overall great experience - would come back and definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Saliport for husband to have surgery at LSI. The service we received was fantastic, everyone tried to make us feel welcome and as comfortable as possible. The shuttle to and from the Institute was great, and day of the surgery was even escorted to the room by Harry the manager. We found a lovely treat and card left in out room. The view from our room was beautiful. Just wish we could have stayed longer for a real vacation. We had no complaints and will stay here again if in Tampa area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Georgia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our room was on the 3rd floor and every window overlooked the ocean where we enjoyed beautiful sunsets and plenty of sea life (sting rays, ducks, birds, fish). No complaints with the room itself except that it did need paper towels and salt/pepper.

Our room was only attended once by housekeeping and that was on the 4th day of our 5 day stay. We had to take out our own trash and ask repeatedly for an extra blanket.

The shuttle service is great if you are going to the Laser Spine Institute or one of the 3 restaurants within the 4 miles radius. If you need to go to the Walmart 5.8 miles away, however, it will cost $30 round trip. Our suggestion would be to rent a car if you fly in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at Sailport when going to the preseason baseball games in Clearwater. The kitchen was adequately equipped so we could fix our own breakfast and lunches. Needed 2 bedrooms and also had 2 bathrooms. The view of the bay was beautiful and even got use of the pool. Walked to a nearby restaurant for dinner. We would stay here again. Clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice resort! Our room overlooked the bay and the sunset views from the balcony were absolutely breathtaking. If you manage to tear away from your suite, there is a heated pool to enjoy. We loved every second we were there from check-in to check-out. No complaints!!! And game day BBQ stand offers authentic soul food that'll make you slap someone. We will be back next weekend for sure!! Also check out the rusty pelican. It is simply amazing!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and another couple for a weekend. Our room was enormous with two large bedrooms (one king and one queen), two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen, living area and balcony. It was on the very end of the building so there were water views from every room which was just beautiful. The sunset views across the bay were absolutely amazing. Cute little fishing pier and "beach" area (man-made sandy area - it's not really a beach) on one side of the hotel and a nice pool on the other side. Highly recommend Honeymoon Island State Park which is simply gorgeous and Dunedin which is a lovely town to walk around. The restaurant that you can see across the bay from the hotel (Whiskey Joe's) is great and has a fantastic outdoor bar area on the beach with fire-pits, volleyball nets, cornhole etc. Great hang out spot in the evening. The hotel shuttle bus will take you there and back for free.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
#20 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#37 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) and Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious One-Bedroom Family Suites or Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.