We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view nice one bedroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Save Saved
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great view nice one bedroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We loved the view and the one bedroom with a kitchen was perfect almost like your own one bedroom apartment. Very clean. Jerry at the front desk very friendly and helpful. Also we walked out on the pier and spotted a small shark swimming around very exciting. At night they have a great area with tiki torches.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay at Sailport. We are always looking for great pictures of the marine life to post so if you have any pictures of the shark please send it to us so we can post it with the rest of the photos. Dolphin, manatee, and stingrays are some of the most common photos we get from our gusest but sharks are a rare photo. We are so glad you recgnized the addition of the new beach area, tiki tourches and fire pit on the beach. It iws a very popular area for watching the most beautiful sunsets. Remember you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com and being a return guest us the promotion code repeat to receive additional 5% discount. Thank you for your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    290
    244
    122
    71
    60
See reviews for
251
203
40
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I wish I could say you get what you pay for, but $130 a night is a bit steep for this run-down college dorm. Not to say that the location isn't some of the best in the Tampa Bay area, but it's pretty much all this place has going for itself. That and the staff's sense of humor when Jerry "Banks" mistook me for an entomologist by trying to clarify that what I saw crawling in my room's 30 year-old carpet were "Palmetto Bugs", not roaches. Thank you, Man vs Wild. I had to exercise serious control from telling him to STFU. He might as well have given them names. "No sir, that's Sidney and Sally, they come here every winter. Be sure to not step on them". It would be funny if it wasn't so repugnant.

Couple that with 30 min power outages, 4-day housekeeping breaks, mosquitoes and the moldy smell with those hostel closets, and you've got yourself an unforgettable stay in what could've been a really nice vacation experience. It's a crying shame how Provident Resorts has relegated this property with such location potential, to the 80s Projects Program. Looks ok on their gallery though...

Despite their scarcity, the housekeepers were very kind in letting me raid their carts for much needed towels, pillow covers, sheets and toilet tissue. I'll come back when they've fumigated and renovated this place. I know you may be thinking that I'm just one unhappy guest in a thousand happy ones, but to be honest, I could've tolerated the 80s furniture, old towels, even the housekeeping cart raids - but the stained alien rug you can almost hear breathing, mosquitoes and roaches? I mean palmetto bugs. Sorry. Yeah..No. It's like having ol' Wolfgang Puck whip up a gourmet dinner for you and finding a palmetto bug in it. Yum. Not.

Palmetto-ha ha ...that's hysterical. Good one Jer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback during your most recent stay. I appologize we did not exceed your expecations as we do for almost all of our guests but ceartainly try our hardest to please every guest. We are in the middle of a complete hotel renovation to include all new furniture, complete room upgrades, new kitchens and appliances. Unfortunately the season has prevented us from continuing this renovation but we will be starting back up in April, Please contact me directly so that I can discuss this further with you and make it right for you and your family. As an independant condo hotel we truly appreciate your business and ceartainly your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent two weeks at Sailport, January 17 to 31st. We had a great upgraded condo-type room on the fourth floor with living room, modern kitchen, bedroom and balcony overlooking Tampa Bay. Spacious and very clean. With an east/west exposure from our balcony, we saw the sun rise and watched it set. Nice way to start and end each day. We had no trouble at all with the wireless connection. Full washing facilites on the third floor. Staff very friendly and helpful. We were well-positioned to take day trips to St. Peterburg and area and to head north to places like Crystal River and Tarpon Springs. There is a small beach at the hotel, although no swimming because of the very rocky shore, and a bit of a larger one neraby, but you certainly need a car to get around. The only drawback, and it was minor, was the noise in the hallway a couple of nights during the weekends when the hotel gets busy.

Room Tip: You can ask for a recently renovated and upgraded room for a small additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 1 week at Sailport January 25-Febuary 2nd. We were so impressed the staff, and their friendly hospitality. We had the most wonderful room, that was updated, and very accommodating with new appliances, and 2 flat screen T.V.'s. We hung out on the property most of the week, because of the wonderful pool, private beach area, and fire pit! If you are looking for a place to relax, and a place with spectacular views, this is your place. I want to thank Jerry and Charise for our wonderful experience. They are a great asset to your hotel!! We are looking forward to coming back to Sailport next January. Craig and Katie, Bayport Minnesota

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I was in Tampa for a short business trip two weeks ago and I stayed at Sailport. The room was huge and quiet, fully furnitured and with a nice kitchen. Drawback were the wireless connection completely useless because so slow, and the location which is actually in the middle of nowhere with nothing in a walking distance. Apart from this I had a nice and cheap stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a very beautiful location (with beach volleyball and beach and lounge...), we really enjoyed the view from the balcony and the availability of a full kitchen. The staff is extraordinary friendly and you have a huge guest laundry to wash your cloths (75 cents) and plenty of parking space! Unfortunately the Wifi did not work properly and there is no daily cleaning/towel changing in the rooms (but you just have to let the staff know, that you need something and you will get!) and the beds are really veryveryvery old and not comfortable at all. For this reasons only "very good"...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was in Tampa for a convention downtown. I don't like being stuck in the expensive convention center hotels and prefer to be on the water. Sailport has a great view, pool, nice little beach, and very comfortable condo rooms. I rented a 1 bedroom with kitchen - the sunsets were spectacular. I highly recommend this property and would even consider buying a unit here. Ray Spears, ex Steeler has a nice BBQ smoker running around 5:00 pm and he and his mom serve up the best ribs and chicken by the pool in the whole state of Florida. The hotel staff was very attentive. Room service is spread out over a few days time - if you need fresh towels every day go get them yourself but there are a lot of snowbirds living there who own their units and that also makes it delightful. Overall made my very stressful convention special. It's only a 12 minute drive to downtown and 5 minutes to the airport - perfect location! I'll be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms I saw had an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Waterfront Hotel
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort
Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Tampa
#49 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) and Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious One-Bedroom Family Suites or Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.