We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, bargain price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sailport Waterfront Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sailport Waterfront Suites to your Saves list
Sailport Waterfront Suites
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Madison
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, bargain price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Sailport condos are located on Tampa Bay. Close to Tampa International. Free shuttle from the airport. Free or inexpensive shuttle to area dining, shopping malls,etc. Condos have a great view of sunsets on Tampa Bay. Rocky beach, but nice area for relaxing in the sun and sand. Heated swimming pool. The condos are pretty basic, but clean and comfortable. I think the daily rates are a good bargain for what you are getting. Our single bedroom condo was about $100 per night over the New Year holidays. I have stayed here for three years and plan on coming back again next year. I love the place.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the bay, but condos at the end of the buildings closest to the bay have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay. I am glad to read we excedded your expectations and look forward to your return visit. Always remember you will always find the lowest rates at Sailport.com and as a repeat guest you can use promotional code REPEAT when booking online and receive an additional 5% off

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    324
    136
    71
    65
See reviews for
318
247
46
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great views, property is well maintained. However, do not expect maid service. We received fresh towels only, when I called the front desk I was told room service was only after 4th day unless requested. I requested but never got! Stayed 3 nights.

Also, BEWARE of using shuttle. We were told the shuttle would take us downtown for $25 but once we arrived driver said it would be $45. After several minutes, he called his boss and did confirm rate of $25. We were told at check-in that the shuttle ran to 1 am. When we called to be picked up at 12.15 we were told it ran until midnight. The following day I went to speak to a manager, there was not one available but was told one would call be back with 48 hours. No one ever called back. Also, was then told that they did not know why we were told wrong shuttle hours but it only ran until 11pm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Sailport.. I appologize for any miscommunications or misunderstandings regarding our housekeeping service or transportation service. Our Shuttle service has ended at 11pm for over 10 years so i will get with the leadership team to assure we are quoting correct shuttle times. Please feel free to contact me directly so I can make it right for you and assure your return visit does not come with any uncertainties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a 1 bedroom waterfront suite. It included a queen size sofa sleeper that we really didn't need, but would come in handy for a group of 4. The unit had a nice kitchen and a private balcony, and was very clean. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Upper floor units are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After reading some of the great reviews here my wife and I decided to stay at the Sailport during our trip to FL to visit family. We could not have been happier with our choice! It's like having your own apartment overlooking Tampa Bay. Full kitchens, large rooms, amazing sunsets and super clean. I understand that they are in the process of upgrading the property with a bar and grill too. Can't wait to come back to enjoy it!

Room Tip: The hotel is designed so that all the rooms have a view of Tampa Bay. 2 bedrooms are a great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent feedback and most important thank you for your business. I am so happy to see that you were able to enjoy all that Sailport has to offer. As you experienced we are in the process of a complete room renovation to go along with our complete grounds / beach renovation. March 2013 come visit our brand new waterfront bar and grill. You will always get the best rates @sailport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I took my girlfirend here for our 3 year anniversary and me and her just had an amazing time. The people that worked there were so friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean with great view of the ocean. The private beach was great to just go out and relax and enjoy the night breeze. They also helped find a great restaurant for us to go too!! Tyrell Johnson was so hopefully he gave us a great room and also champagne for our anniversary. I will be staying here again for sure and i will advise others to do the same.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedbakck. I am pleased to see that you experienced something that we feel is our culture which is assuring all our guests have the most memorable florida experience. Congratuolations to you and your wife and we look forward to your next visit. Next time you are here we should have our brand new waterfront bar and grill completed for you to enjoy Tampas best sunset views along with an excellent cocktail. I will make sure I pass on the kind words to Tyrell who is our front office manager. You will always find the best rates at sailport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stay at Sailport 2-3 times a year for 16 years. Each time we go it is amazing how much more it has improved over the years with many upgrades. 1. the first person whom I talk to for reservations is David. He is so helpful. 2. Front desk staff, all are very nice and friendly. One of our favorites is Jerry Brooks. 3. General Mgr. Greg was very understanding about a need of ours
and took care of it, although he was on his way to a meeting, our needs came first. 4. The rooms are wonderful. Not cramped like a regular hotel room. 5. Love the kitchen. All you need to bring is food. 6. Parking deck keeps car from sun, and feel our car is safe because of security at night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at Sailport Waterfront Suites. I am very happy to hear all our hard work and commitments to our guests are paying off. As you have witnessed we absolutely have the best waterfront suites in the entire city with the best sunset views. We look forward to your return visit and by that time we will have many more completely renovated suites along with our BRAND NEW WATERFRONT BAR AND GRILL. Coming March 2013. As always you will find the best rates @sailport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Amazing views great location, and fulling kitchen all for a unbeatable price. It's condo unit and very well kept. Front desk staff wonderfull. Housekeeping always with a smile. Love the feel of come and go as you please. Pool and the grounds are great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Sailport Waterfront Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your continued support of Sailport Waterfront Suites. As you know we are full speed ahead on our renovations and not only do we have the absolute best waterfront suites but they are all in process of complete renovations. We look forward to your next visit and at that time please visit our BRAND NEW WATERFRONT BAR AND GRILL OPENING IN MARCH 2013
As always you will find the best rates @sailport.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sailport Waterfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sailport Waterfront Suites

Address: 2506 North Rocky Point Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Tampa
#26 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sailport Waterfront Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on beautiful Rocky Point Island, overlooking the sparkling waters of Tampa Bay, Sailport Waterfront Suites is ideally situated within minutes of Tampa International Airport, with easy access to downtown Tampa, St. Petersburg and Clearwater. Our location is convenient to all area attractions and points of interest, including Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Tampa's bayfront beach, the Port of Tampa, Olde Hyde Park Village and Historic Ybor City. The Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, Tropicana Field, St. Pete. Times Forum (home of the Tampa Bay Lightning, Stanley Cup Champions!) and Raymond James Stadium (home of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, World Champions!) are all nearby. Corporate, Military and Government guests will find themselves with an easy commute to the Westshore Business District, Tampa Convention Center, MacDill Air Force Base, CAE and Laser Spine Institute (LSI). At Sailport, our island atmosphere is suitable for business travel as well as family getaways. Corporate visitors enjoy the perfect Meeting Retreat, Corporate Housing or Extended Stay venue. For family getaways, we offer spacious One-Bedroom Family Suites or Two-Bedroom/Two Bath Suites. Attraction packages are available for Busch Gardens, SeaWorld and more! All suites feature full kitchens, private balconies with water views along with free high speed wireless internet access. Enjoy waterfront relaxation in the heart of Tampa Bay and Rocky Point Island. Guests love our breezy ambiance and the spectacular gulf coast sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sailport Waterfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sailport Waterfront Hotel Tampa
Sailport Resort Tampa
Sailport Hotel Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailport Waterfront Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.