We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel by the bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #72 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hotel by the bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very nice location by the bay. Within minutes from the Tampa airport and Clearwater. Comfortable accommodations and friendly staff makes for a relaxing environment. The attached restaurants and bar is nice and the food is good. I would rate the overall experience was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear bobbyw291,

Thank you for taking your time to write us such a nice short 'n sweet review. You said a whole lot in 4 sentences. Please don't wait too long to come back again for another enjoyable experience.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    318
    203
    82
    67
See reviews for
256
308
55
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The Bayharbor Hotel often changed the hotel chains in the past years. It used to be a Radisson. It could use a little bit of renovation, but it is still a good place to stay for a few nights. The rooms are large and somehow clean. Take a room to the bay, it's worth it. Next door is Hoogans on the Beach (The wrestler Hulk Hoogan), where can have excellent food. During the nighttime it can get a little bit loud because of the restaurant next door.

Room Tip: Oceanside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Vtm R,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of our hotel. I would like to clarify a couple of points for the benefit of other guests. The hotel has only changed three times in the past 15 years. By local standards, that's not "often." It's about average. One owner, because of our convenient location and great view, had plans to demolish the building and build condos. We are almost done with our 6+ million dollar renovation. Many of the improvements to the property are not visible, but if you are familiar us, you know that many are. Our rooms are cleaned daily by a very hard working staff. I think the word "somehow" is an inaccurate translation. Overall, you seemed to enjoy your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Here on a Family vacation the bay view is a very beautiful view day and night but other than that the hotel is just ok. Hogan's Beach is nice although price for jet ski rental is a bit ridiculous I think. $55 for 30 mins 95 for 1 hr. The hotel staff is not very friendly, u pretty much have to speak 1st to get someone to speak to u. Had probs wit TV and sink not draining properly, when u flush toilet it comes back up in the sink. Overall experience not extremely disappointed and definitely not overwhelming

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear D1nonie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I'm sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. I do hope you let the front desk staff know of your situations in a timely manner so that they could take care of them. I'm sure that you are aware that the hotel is not directly involved with the rental of the jet skis, but I will pass your comments along to them. They charge "market price," or, in other words, what the market will bear. Currently, there doesn't seem to be any shortage of business. We hope that the next time you are in our area, you will stop by again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

If you pay extra for the view, it was beautiful, although jet skys were very noisy. No breakfast included which was a disappointment since there was no where to eat except at Hogans Resturant, which by the way, food was great but flies were horrible and I'm talking about inside seating. No one was very friendly. Party nights were over the top with noise and car traffic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear flygirl1953,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I hope you didn't let anything spoil your fun. The next time you're in the area, please come back again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
park city, ut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at the Bay Harbor Hotel for a few week nights on a business trip in July. The location is very convenient from Tampa airport, and is close to a few beaches on the Bay and right on the causeway to Clearwater. Downtown Tampa is easy to access as well.

The lobby and many of the common areas are in better shape than the rooms. My room was relatively quiet, and the balcony was a nice feature. The bed was NOT great. Much too firm and I could feel each spring; not too much, but noticeable. Pillows were all flat cotton, with no fluff.

Bathroom appeared to be semi-recently remodeled, but the work was sloppy, with shoddy paint and grout work.

I also don't get why some hotels (this one included) keep bathroom or other lights on after the room has been cleaned. I feel like this is such a waste, especially with the number of rooms and number of fixtures. You have the cards on the bed touting the hotel sustainability with reduced sheet washing, but leave on unnecessary lights?

As others have said, a restaurant/bar is connected to the hotel. On advice of others I didn't try, but it might be a nice place to have a beverage outside at the end of the day. There was a motorcycle show of some kind and a concert my last night there, but everything seemed to shut down around 11pm, and my room didn't allow enough noise before that to be a nuisance.

I'd consider staying again, but the bed and pillows will keep me away.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have balconies or patios (if on ground floor). Rooms either face the bay or the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Sonofragnar,

Thank you for the feedback on our hotel. I fully agree with you about leaving on the lights in the bathrooms or anywhere else in unoccupied room. If we turn them all off, there is the danger that guests may trip over or bump into something in a dark room. I'm going to discuss this further with the Director of Housekeeping. The bathrooms are being touched up, but I'm afraid the mattresses and the pillows are going to be here for a while. I really hope they won't keep you away, considering all the other nice things we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

we stayed at this hotel to attend a music festival on a nearby beach - the view from our room was just gorgeous. the staff was very nice and very helpful. shuttles run to the airport and to restaurants - for out of town guests, this is a great place to stay for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear HarriMiller,

What a nice short 'n sweet and to the point review of our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write it. I'm sure oithers will find it helpful. I hope we see you back soon.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nueva Gorgona, Panama
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent two nights at the Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel. The room was ok for what we needed. We chose this hotel because we got a good rate and because they have a free airport shuttle. We were glad there was an on site restaurant since we didn't have a vehicle. The view of the beach from the restaurant, the pool and walkway were very nice. The bed was fairly comfortable and even though we were on the first floor near the lobby, we were not bothered by noise at all. I would stay again if catching a Tampa flight and needing an airport-convenient hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Suzi J,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We appreciate all your comments. You know, you don't have to wait for an airport stop over to come back. Our location is a great destination in and of itself. It's agreat excuse to visit the Tampa Bay area. In any case, we hope to see you again soon.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tampa Bay
0.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Bay
Westin Tampa Bay
#48 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Tampa
BEST WESTERN Tampa
#63 of 159 in Tampa
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Tampa / Rocky Point - Airport
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tampa Westshore
7.3 mi away
Westin Tampa Harbour Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.