We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #80 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Naples, United States
1 review
“reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Our stay was excellent other than when I went to leave I had been down to reception area twice to see about rooms the following weekend for a bridal bash. I was given the run around there so I called when I got home and still got the run around. I then called the 800 reservations finally got something booked.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Sue C,

Thank you for taking your time to let us know about your excellent stay at our hotel. I'm glad you got your future reservations squared away. We look forward to your return.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    181
    134
    50
    38
See reviews for
157
168
31
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

location is right off the causeway that connects tampa to clearwater. the hotel is not bad for a best western. we should have gotten the room with the bay view. there's really no privacy on the balcony. make sure to lock your door from the balcony! one reason why we chose this hotel is for the fact that it's connected to hogan's beach. since we got in late into tampa, we figured we can at least still go somewhere and have a drink without having to drive. during the day, it's nice to be able to just walk over to hogan's beach. right there you can rent jet skis. there's a little beach area (not the cleanest and it's really small). there's a small pool if you're really interested in swimming. or go to one of the public beaches nearby.

Room Tip: get a room with a bay view and try to get the top floor. skip room service! they get the food from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Sara B,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you again soon.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sesser, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Hotel was clean, should of gotten view of ocean view of city was a view of the parking lot. All in all a nice place to stay...and whatever you do, don't eat at Empire Pizza, brochures are placed under the door and the food was horrible!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Sher113,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review of our hotel. I want to give you a special thank you for alerting other guests about the flyers under the doors. These are not authorized by the hotel and certainly not recommended. These people have been trespassed, but they know that by the time the police arrive, they will be gone. We throw them out whenever we see them. I hope we'll see you again soon.

Robert D,
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my husband booked this via BA we were staying 3 nights to spend time in Tampa, see some baseball etc. Upon arrival the Reception Area was quite smart and clean, I was pleasantly surprised.. That however was the only thing that impressed me. We had paid for an upgrade to a Bay View, granted it wasn't a huge amount, THANKFULLY! Our room was on the ground floor, when we opened the door, there was a strange smell, couldn't quite work out what it was. The carpet looked unclean, the furniture old and very scruffy. The bathroom had been painted red, by a 3 year old by the look of it. The bedding looked old and dated and didn't feel clean. When I went out of our 'upgraded room' patio door to be greeted with a 6 foot brown fence that was round the 'pool' I couldn't see the Bay.. just a brown wooded fence.

We decided that even though it was 2am (UK time) that rather than spend any time in the room we went out. Went to sleep eventually until we were woken by screaming, shouting, swearing.. sounded like physical abuse was happening too.. this went on for over an hour despite calling reception to try and stop it.

We decided that after the awful night we would leave a day earlier (we had baseball tickets for our first and second day in Tampa) we went to the first one and spent 1 more night then left first thing in the morning. The extra money for an extra night in our 2nd hotel in Naples, and the tickets for the baseball we didn't use... was well worth it to not spend another night in the hotel.

On the plus side, there was a lovely sunset on the last night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Milliecat72,

I'm so sorry your room wasn't what you expected. I am wondering if you asked for a different one before deciding to leave early. I can assure you that the carpet and the linens were clean. Several guests from the BA flight stay with us regularly and enjoy themselves. I hope that the next time you return to Tampa you will consider us again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Nice hotel for the price in a good location for someone just staying for a night or two.... Great views of the bay, although the balconies were not all that privet, they were alright and the rooms were spacious enough. I Would most definitely stay here again if ever visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear 594stevens,

Thank you for your review. What do you mean, you would come back, if ever visiting the area? You should make it a point to come back. We're a great destination any time of the year. There's always plenty to see and do in the Tampa Bay area. We want to see you again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights after a recent cruise. Picked the hotel because of the location, view and balconies. We were not disappointed by any of those items. The room however needed some serious TLC. Looks like it may have recently been refurbished, but they did a very rush job in completing it. The carpet was not stretched out and tacked down properly, causing it bunch up against the wall. The sliding glass door leaked when it rained and soaked the carpet too. The bed was fine, no issue there. The bathroom had been painted red, and there was paint drops and smears on the counter that were never cleaned up, the mirror had some strange defect or damage going all the way around it that made it look dirty. The sink was not cleaned from the prior people staying in our room. Toothpaste and hair on the counter and sink..yuck. Other than that the room was clean, fairly quiet and the view gorgeous! If they make some improvements, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Destindreamn,

Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I'm sorry that you got a room that had not been properly inspected. We're working on that. I think that by the time you come back, things will be taken care of, but don't stay away too long. We're looking forward to seeing you again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Our stay was in May. In April, my family stayed at a Best Western Plus in the Miami area and they loved it. So when we planned on meeting in Tampa, my wife made the reservation for an entire weekend. After we checked in and waited for 45 minutes until we got our room while other guests checked in and went straight to their rooms. We finally got our room on the bottom floor, which was wheelchair accessible, which meant that when in the shower the bathroom flooded and the shower head sprayed all over the place. We decided to check out in the morning and headed to Orlando for the rest of the weekend. At least the personnel were very nice and friendly.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Pedro L,

I'm sorry we were not what you expected. We are not a Best Western Plus and we set our rates accordingly. Your comment about some guests checking in before others is one we get often and is understandable. On most nights, we are sold out of at least one room type. It is impossible to get all of the rooms ready by 3 P.M., which is when check in starts. The guests who checked in right away either had a different room type than you or agreed to take "first available," even if it meant taking a different type of room. If you are ever back in our area, we would be glad to welcome you back.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.