We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with need for slight improvements” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #83 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Arroyo Grande, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel with need for slight improvements”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great location with access to shopping, dining, dancing. It also has easy access to Tampa, St. Pete and Clearwater areas. However, the hotel is in need of upgrades and improvements to optimize the potential of this location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear James J,

Thank you for your review. I think it is accurate on all points, or, as the Brits would say, "Spot on." Our central location on the bay is tough to beat. Newly updated and upgraded rooms are on the way. Please come back when they're finished and try one out.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    180
    131
    50
    38
See reviews for
154
166
30
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Make sure to get the Bay front rooms as they offer a wonderful view of the Bay. Hulk Hogan's bar is attached to the property and a major beach bar with outdoor entertainment is within walking distance.
Hotel was clean and quite.
I tend to walk the stairs when it is convenient and I noticed that the stairways were dirty and a couple of the doors were dented or hard to open.
When I asked about a cot at the front desk, I was told that they did not offer these and they did not volunteer any other options. I like Best Westerns and they usually offer either a cot or extra bedding but this place did not.
There was also no free breakfast which is a huge deal considering that we have 5 in my family.

Room Tip: Ask for the Bay front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Shannon M,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of our property. I appreciate the comments about the cleanliness. As you said, overall, the hotel was clean, but we have neglected the stairwells. I will share your comments with Housekeeping so that it will be addressed.

According to the current fire code, our rooms are designed to sleep a maximum of 4 people. That is why we cannot offer rollaway beds. This is also why we do not offer extra bedding. For health and safety reasons, we do not suggest that guests sleep on the floor.

I think you will agree that our prices for a waterfront hotel in a great location are very competitive. Hotels that offer "free" breakfast actually build the cost into the price of the room. These days, many guests, due to dietary restrictions, personal tastes and morning time constraints, choose not to eat a "free" continental breakfast. We have a full service restaurant on site that serves all the traditional breakfast items, cooked to order from 7:00 A.M. until 11:00 A.M. Therefore, you can order what you want, cooked the way you want, and pay accordingly. Guests who choose not to eat are not paying for something they are not getting.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and for your comments.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Creek, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel several years ago and loved it so much that we recommended it to friends who have since stayed twice. We are headed there on the 25 th of oct and can't wait. The staff is fantastic,the hotel clean and comfortable and when we stayed the restaurant served great meals. Can't wait to sit on our balcony overlooking the beautiful bay!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Pat W,

Thank you for recommending us to your friends. That's a great compliment. We look forward to seeing you again in only a few short weeks.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temecula, ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I could have stayed here forever! Our first floor room faced and patio opened up to the bay. The view is incredible. Sitting outside your room & enjoying the water/birds/fish was a slice of heaven. Very private grounds & nice pool. Hulk Hogans & Hogans Beach were a stones throw away. Food and staff at Hogans was great too. Thumbs up for the clean TV remote system. Small fridge in room and free Wifi made our stay very comfortable. Parking lot is close to all rooms too. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a Bayside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear mem,

The entire staff and I can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a complete and concise report about our property. You can't wait to come back and we can't wait to welcome you back.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a nice place for a weekend get away and the BWBHH definitely met our needs. Starting with a incredible view of the bay, the whole experience was wonderful.
The room was clean and comfortable and the staff super friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Forgator,

Thank you so much for the great comments and taking the time to write them. It's always nice to know when you are appreciated. On your next visit, you must tell us the story behind the name.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I had a wonderful stay and time in Florida. The hotel staff was welcoming and friendly. The room was nice and the view from the balcony was sensational. The beach and outdoor lounge was wonderful. I had a nice relaxing time enjoying the beach and sitting on my balcony at night. I'd definitely stay here again and refer this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Kevin P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and to meeting your family and friends upon their arrival.

Robert D.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very clean, polite/helpful staff, nice pool, no hottub great view from waterfront room
excellent rum runners
only stayed one night, but would stay again
did not eat there, so not sure how food was, but smelled very good

Room Tip: comfy beds/pillows, did not bother me, but can hear music from place across the water ( music was ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Cindy Brenn,

Thank you for letting us know how much you loved our hotel. You must come back again and try some of our delicious smelling food and hopefully, try out one of our newly renovated rooms. The first ones will be ready shortly. We're looking forward to welcoming you back.

Robert D.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.