We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recomanded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #80 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recomanded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After reading all reviews I was afraid of visiting this hotel. Because of the great location I decided to give it a try. From the beginning I was highly surprised. My flight was delayed so I end up calling for a free shuttle few minutes after 10 pm (10 pm is their cut off time). Friendly driver still come to pick me up. Front desk stuff was professional and nice. They allowed me to upgrade for a little fee to a bay side. My room was clean and comfortable. I did not have enough washcloths in my bathroom so I called just before 11pm to a Front Desk to ask if they can deliver more in the morning but they said they can bring it right away. Housekeeper brought it to my room in less then 5 min with a smile on her face. In the morning I ordered breakfast to my room. Great value for a price. That encourage me to have a lunch in Hogan's later that day. I got an outside table. My steak was delicious, server and an atmosphere were great. When I went to the pool I saw bird poop inside in the pool. Few minutes after I reported that, they come to clean it. I love how this hotel stuff work together. Next time when I am in Tampa I will stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Alicia J.,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, complimenting our staff. I will be sure to share it with all of them to let them know how much you appreciated their efforts. If you ever come back this way, please stop in again.

Robert D,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    206
    149
    52
    43
See reviews for
173
192
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel only 1 night due to the close distance to Tampa International Airport. The location is great, close to many shopping and restaurants areas. Sets on the Bay, which is very nice on the outside of property. I booked through Priceline so maybe I was just given the cheapest room and that was okay. It was a view of parking lot, and it was a handicap access room. I had no high expectations of this room, but did expect it to be clean, which it wasn't. There was hair everywhere on our beds, long hairs that were def. not ours! The bathroom was dirty, and the towels even looked dirty. Probably would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Beckie W.,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time and effort to let us know where we dropped the ball. We appreciate all comments, good and bad. You're right about the location and many travelers choose us for that reason. That being said, I'm really sorry about the condition of your room. Normally, when issues with the room arise, the front desk staff takes care of them immediately. I will pass your comments on to them, as well as to housekeeping. Please do not hesitate to choose our hotel the next time your plans bring you to this area.

Robert D.,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Terrible internet, Hogans restaurant is a joke. Bad food,and very expensive,dirty. The rooms are not very good either. The balcony has no privacy. Anyone could climb over the rail to every room. the sliding glass doors were so dirty you did not want to touch them. The only good thing about this stay is the bed was comfortable. For the money you spend here i recommend an extra 30 for the Westin across the street

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear James M.,

I am sorry for your experience at Hogan's Beach. Your feedback is helpful to us. I can tell you that we are coming out with a new menu that will offer more less expensive items. As part of our renovation project, partitions are going to be placed between the balconies and the sliding glass doors will get a thorough cleaning. Please visit us again whenever you are in the area.

Robert D.,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accord
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I picked this place just because didn't know what to expect got here and what a surprise. The view of the bay is awesome and when you go to the restaurant you see the belts that Hulk Hogan won on display and I even got a picture with The mouth of the south Jimmy Hart. I will be back maybe I'll see Hulk next time. The food is really good a little pricey not enough but good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear cricardo,

We appreciate all the reviews on our property because they help us to improve where improvement is needed. It's always refreshing to get comments from some one who had a good experience and took the extra time to tell us about it. FYI, we are introducing a new menu in the restaurant, which will include more less expensive items. We hope to see you back in the near future.

Robert D.,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a good hotel; little noisier than expected even on end away from restaurant with live music. Found it strange to have the fridge in the bathroom under sink where it was extremely hard to access since it was sitting on floor. Don't recommend Hogan's for breakfast unless you want to wait almost an hour for your food once you've placed order even though there were very few customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Joy B.,

Thank you for your thoughts. They are helpful to us in planning. The refrigerators are currently located in the bathrooms on the tile floor, not in the rooms on the carpet. When our renovations are completed, the refrigerators and microwaves will be in a special cabinet in the main part of the room. I have addressed your comments about breakfast with the restaurant manager. I'm sorry that happened to you. We are taking steps to be sure it doesn't happen in the future. We are working on the staffing model and the menu. Please don't hesitate to visit us the next time you are in our area.

Robert D.,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bikerb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have used Best Western on business and pleasure for many years but have never seen one in such poor condition as BaY Harbor in Tampa. The lobby is tastefully decorated and everybody is courteous, but when I laid on my bed in Rm. 417 there was Black Mold (Mlldew) seeping through the ceiling directly over my body and face.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear bykryd,

Thank for taking the time to post your detailed review of our hotel. I appreciate all your comments and I am sorry about the mildew. We are currently in the midst of a multimillion dollar renovation, which includes re-doing all the ceilings. Please visit us again the next time you are in the area and let us know immediately of any problems or situations that may arise, so that we may make your stay more enjoyable.

Robert D.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We choose this hotel for location, comfort and the tiki bar. For this overnight stay, we arrived to find the tiki bar closed for a private function. Big disappointment, but the good staff and comfortable room were still just as we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Future Floridian,

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry we only scored 2 out of 3. The tiki bar is a favorite spot for many special events, as well as for our hotel guests. We try our best to offer alternatives when we have to close off an area. There is seating outside the restaurant which offers food and beverage service. Back by popular demand, we have reinstated poolside service for food and beverages. You can always call ahead and find out the status of anything that might be of special interest to you. I hope that you will continue to visit us on an ongoing basis. Thank you for your loyalty.

Robert D, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.