We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #81 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Nashville, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was a good hotel; little noisier than expected even on end away from restaurant with live music. Found it strange to have the fridge in the bathroom under sink where it was extremely hard to access since it was sitting on floor. Don't recommend Hogan's for breakfast unless you want to wait almost an hour for your food once you've placed order even though there were very few customers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Joy B.,

Thank you for your thoughts. They are helpful to us in planning. The refrigerators are currently located in the bathrooms on the tile floor, not in the rooms on the carpet. When our renovations are completed, the refrigerators and microwaves will be in a special cabinet in the main part of the room. I have addressed your comments about breakfast with the restaurant manager. I'm sorry that happened to you. We are taking steps to be sure it doesn't happen in the future. We are working on the staffing model and the menu. Please don't hesitate to visit us the next time you are in our area.

Robert D.,
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    204
    147
    52
    42
See reviews for
170
191
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bikerb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have used Best Western on business and pleasure for many years but have never seen one in such poor condition as BaY Harbor in Tampa. The lobby is tastefully decorated and everybody is courteous, but when I laid on my bed in Rm. 417 there was Black Mold (Mlldew) seeping through the ceiling directly over my body and face.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear bykryd,

Thank for taking the time to post your detailed review of our hotel. I appreciate all your comments and I am sorry about the mildew. We are currently in the midst of a multimillion dollar renovation, which includes re-doing all the ceilings. Please visit us again the next time you are in the area and let us know immediately of any problems or situations that may arise, so that we may make your stay more enjoyable.

Robert D.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We choose this hotel for location, comfort and the tiki bar. For this overnight stay, we arrived to find the tiki bar closed for a private function. Big disappointment, but the good staff and comfortable room were still just as we expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Future Floridian,

Thank you for your comments. I'm sorry we only scored 2 out of 3. The tiki bar is a favorite spot for many special events, as well as for our hotel guests. We try our best to offer alternatives when we have to close off an area. There is seating outside the restaurant which offers food and beverage service. Back by popular demand, we have reinstated poolside service for food and beverages. You can always call ahead and find out the status of anything that might be of special interest to you. I hope that you will continue to visit us on an ongoing basis. Thank you for your loyalty.

Robert D, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

it's maybe not the best hotel but it is quite confortable and the view is very very nice and the pool is a nice plus.
On the other hand the restaurant (hoogan's beach) it is quite loud in the night but not impossible;the stuff is not always very helpful and we got some problem with double charging that was complicated to solve

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Reknames,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts about our hotel. We strive to maintain a clean, comfortable facility that offers travelers a good value for their dollar. I'm especially glad you liked the pool. The deck was re-paved and the pool was remarcited as part of our renovation project. I like your description of Hogan's, it's loud, but not impossible. That is a good way to describe the week ends. During the week days, it's much more subdued, which makes it nice for business travelers. I'm sorry that the staff was not always helpful. It could be the language barrier and we are working on that. I don't know the specifics of your billing issue, but it appears from your comments that it was resolved. We hope to see you again soon,

Robert D, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leelo728
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I was invited to a back in the day great friend's 50th birthday! He couldn't have picked a better hotel to celebrate! Hotel was super clean,friendly staff and lots to do. There where 125 guests. All from the same neighborhoods we grew up in! Williamsburg/Greenpoint Brooklyn! Wow! Party was suppose to be set up on the pier but due to some showers coming our way they set up in doors. Which, was perfect! We all ate at the banquet hall. BTW they cooked the food right in front of you! DELISH! We danced and sang happy birthday to our dear friend JOHN RODRIGUEZ and then took it to the Pier since it didn't rain after all!! Tables were set up and DJ started to play all the right music! Staff was very helpful in every way. We danced like we were back in the 80's again! Ok, back to hotel.....beds were VERY comfortable,the views amazing. Next morning we took over the pool area. They let us continue listening to our back in the day music (pretty loud) didn't seem to bother the other guests which was great and no one bothered us which was even better! :) Hogans restaurant (abt 100 feet away) had their own DJ and a adult bouncy slide which was pretty cool. And if you took a little walk around the bay there was another place playing salsa(live band and dj) WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR?!! Oh, almost forgot...there was a man made beach! LOVED IT!!!! A million thanks to John for inviting me to his celebration...was my pleasure and thanks to Best Western BAy Harbour.....GREAT HOTEL!! WIll be back! :))

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear leelo728,

It was a real pleasure to read your review! I'm glad you had such a good time with us. One comment really stood out to me, which was that it didn't seem to bother the other guests and no one bothered you. You were having a good time without being rowdy the other guests were enjoying taking it all in. We appreciate that. Life is good. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Tampa.

Robert D, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Since its changed to Hogans the food quality was horrible and over priced. Lots of out of control guests this time. Did not enjoy my stay near as well as I have in the past. There was a private party in the bar each day so we had much difficulty getting drinks around the pool. There is no pool service and we had to show ID to get wrist bands just to get drinks . The bread and buns on sandwiches were not edible. Over all we were very disappointed since we have stayed there many times in the past and have always had good food, great service just not this time. We could not enjoy the pool on Sunday because there were so many out of control guest at the pool in was dangerous for our kids to be in the pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, concerning your recent visit. You will be happy to know change is already under way to address most of the items you mentioned. We have just reinstituted pool service, due to popular demand. We see from your feedback that we need more servers on busy days. The wrist bands are being done away with after Labor Day. We are changing the menu to offer more lower priced items and changing the source of the items to reflect better quality. Although guests can be loud at times, we insure that they are not breaking any laws, as we have our own security staff on property. If, at any time, you feel that a situation is dangerous, you should report it to a staff member or you may call Tampa PD directly. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to your next visit.

Robert D, Guest Relations Mananger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great room for the price. Clean room for sure. Water view was nice. Not much to do in the area. Have to drive. Bayside is boring, no beaches! Hogans is expensive and no one ever came to wait on us. I give overall a 7 outta 10.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Ron S.,

Thank you for your feedback. You are right on target when you say you have to drive to most places from our location. On our Website, you will find an extensive list of activities and attractions for all ages and interests that are within a 20 to 30 minute drive. Clearwater Beach, where many of those pictures you see of Florida beaches are taken, falls within that range. In addition, our complimentary shuttle can take you to many nearby restaurants and malls, as well as to the Tampa International Airport (TIA). We are working on the Hogan's Beach menu, as we are aware that we need more items in the lower price range. I'm sorry to read that no one came to wait on you, We are beefing up our staffing model, especially on week ends. I have addressed your comments with the restaurant manager.

Robert D, Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.