We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #79 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Umatilla, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were planning a day trip to Tampa, but my husband suggested we go for Independence Day and stay the night. This was the perfect place for it! We were able to see fireworks from all the surrounding cities from our waterfront room balcony. In addition, there was a fireworks display in the bay which was amazing. The room was clean, but could use a little updating. Grounds were nice and well kept, staff was friendly and helpful. We are planning to make this a yearly event. However, if you want peace and quiet I would not stay here over a weekend, Hogans Beach Bar and Restaurant is on property. While it was a great party atmosphere, the dance music went on until at least 1:30 am, which was easily heard in our room. It didn't bother us much, but others may not like this.9999

Room Tip: Rooms on the south end would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    197
    144
    52
    41
See reviews for
166
183
33
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent place. It is a party atmosphere and beautiful view. The décor needs an upgrade, but it was clean and decent. This is a place to come with friends and hang out. I will not recommend coming with children. Overall very good place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins, Mississippi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our stay was very pleasant. Everyone was so nice and helpful. They provided any additional request. Made our trip very relaxing and fun. Rooms were comfortable also, especially the bay view, very cozy. Will continue to stay here when I go back to Tampa.

Room Tip: Choose a Bay View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from June 10-13..the room was clean and the front desk was helpful.get the bay view...the balcony has an awesome view of the bay...hogans was nice and whiskey joes was good also across the bay which we walked too...can't wait to come back next year

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for a night while in Tampa for the weekend last month.

GOOD - The location. Hotel is in a safe area and has ample parking. Property is well-kept and is very nicely situated on the waterfront, which makes for some incredible views. They have a small private pier for hotel guests that offers additional amazing views. The pool is also on the waterfront, so if you want to just sit out there - you have some great scenery to take in.

The rooms are pretty spacious, clean, well-organized and have some good closet space as well, if you're gonna be there for an extended stay. They have a mini-fridge, but it puts the mini in mini-fridge. Bathroom was clean and very spacious as well. Shower had built in shampoo dispensers. Bed was VERY comfortable and the A/C in our room worked well (I like it freezing when I sleep). All of the rooms [beach view or parking lot view] have balconies, which is also pretty cool.

Wrestler / celebrity Hulk Hogan's Beach restaurant is adjoined to the hotel. It is the official on-site restaurant of the hotel. They had a decent lunch menu; drinks are a bit pricey, but it's fun to go in and get some great photos and look around at the memorabilia. Wrestling manager Jimmy Hart is frequently there as well, so you might run into him.

There is a nice computer area in the lobby with printing capability. This is definitely handy for any business traveler, or anyone who may need to handle any personal business or get information. There wasn't a charge for printing either, which was appreciated.


BAD - The location. Despite being in a safe and well-kept area, there is NOTHING close to the hotel. If you need a Walgreens or Target, or just want some Checker's or Burger King, or need gas, you will have to drive about 7 miles on the nearby highway. You have to go back to the highway (which, thankfully, is very close to the hotel) and take that about 6.5 miles up and into the area of all of these things. Then it's a 7 mile trip back. My advice, make sure you have all you need, including some snacks before you get to the hotel. I wanted some Checker's food and some supplies from Walgreens late at night, but wasn't about to drive 14 miles just to get it. In our search, we looked up the nearest of other businesses as well, and they're all in the same proximity.

Also, we left an item in the hotel and knew exactly where we left it. Called the hotel to have it checked on and sent back. They forwarded us to a voicemail of the 'housekeeping director'. Left a voicemail - never got a call back about it. Called back, same scenario, never a call back again. Wasn't appreciated, as we know someone obviously took it and kept it for themselves.

Other than that - not much else to complain about. Despite the proximity thing and the item not being returned, I'd probably stay here on my next visit to Tampa, just stock up on my necessities and snacks ahead of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night before moving on to our final florida desitination. It was very close to the airport (~$15 cab fare) and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were decent, clean, bed was comfy and the balcony was excellent. We were there for most of the afternoon and evening waiting on the rest of our party so we ate at Hogans Bar - which was nice. It has a lovely view of the bay a small beach, a beach volleyball pit on the deck and had live music - perfect way to spend an afternoon. The food was pretty good and the drinks were cheap ($5 pint). All in all a decent airport hotel for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was forced to stay here when my flight was cancelled out of Tampa. Arriving late at night, tired and a long way from home, the friendliness of the night staff and the quality of my room were a very pleasant surprise. Sicne the Airline was paying for the room, I expected much less. The room was clean and well appointed, the staff helpful - overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear 675MarkH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback about our hotel. I am pleased that we provided you with a superior experience, despite the circumstances. Our night team appreciates your kind words and our housekeeping team is happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room! We hope you will stay with us again in the future and make us your actual destination.

Best Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, AAA Travel Services, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Best Western and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.