We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly Nice Hotel - Location Isn't Near Much Though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #83 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Fairly Nice Hotel - Location Isn't Near Much Though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here for a night while in Tampa for the weekend last month.

GOOD - The location. Hotel is in a safe area and has ample parking. Property is well-kept and is very nicely situated on the waterfront, which makes for some incredible views. They have a small private pier for hotel guests that offers additional amazing views. The pool is also on the waterfront, so if you want to just sit out there - you have some great scenery to take in.

The rooms are pretty spacious, clean, well-organized and have some good closet space as well, if you're gonna be there for an extended stay. They have a mini-fridge, but it puts the mini in mini-fridge. Bathroom was clean and very spacious as well. Shower had built in shampoo dispensers. Bed was VERY comfortable and the A/C in our room worked well (I like it freezing when I sleep). All of the rooms [beach view or parking lot view] have balconies, which is also pretty cool.

Wrestler / celebrity Hulk Hogan's Beach restaurant is adjoined to the hotel. It is the official on-site restaurant of the hotel. They had a decent lunch menu; drinks are a bit pricey, but it's fun to go in and get some great photos and look around at the memorabilia. Wrestling manager Jimmy Hart is frequently there as well, so you might run into him.

There is a nice computer area in the lobby with printing capability. This is definitely handy for any business traveler, or anyone who may need to handle any personal business or get information. There wasn't a charge for printing either, which was appreciated.


BAD - The location. Despite being in a safe and well-kept area, there is NOTHING close to the hotel. If you need a Walgreens or Target, or just want some Checker's or Burger King, or need gas, you will have to drive about 7 miles on the nearby highway. You have to go back to the highway (which, thankfully, is very close to the hotel) and take that about 6.5 miles up and into the area of all of these things. Then it's a 7 mile trip back. My advice, make sure you have all you need, including some snacks before you get to the hotel. I wanted some Checker's food and some supplies from Walgreens late at night, but wasn't about to drive 14 miles just to get it. In our search, we looked up the nearest of other businesses as well, and they're all in the same proximity.

Also, we left an item in the hotel and knew exactly where we left it. Called the hotel to have it checked on and sent back. They forwarded us to a voicemail of the 'housekeeping director'. Left a voicemail - never got a call back about it. Called back, same scenario, never a call back again. Wasn't appreciated, as we know someone obviously took it and kept it for themselves.

Other than that - not much else to complain about. Despite the proximity thing and the item not being returned, I'd probably stay here on my next visit to Tampa, just stock up on my necessities and snacks ahead of time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    162
    114
    43
    35
See reviews for
137
148
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night before moving on to our final florida desitination. It was very close to the airport (~$15 cab fare) and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were decent, clean, bed was comfy and the balcony was excellent. We were there for most of the afternoon and evening waiting on the rest of our party so we ate at Hogans Bar - which was nice. It has a lovely view of the bay a small beach, a beach volleyball pit on the deck and had live music - perfect way to spend an afternoon. The food was pretty good and the drinks were cheap ($5 pint). All in all a decent airport hotel for a one night stay.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was forced to stay here when my flight was cancelled out of Tampa. Arriving late at night, tired and a long way from home, the friendliness of the night staff and the quality of my room were a very pleasant surprise. Sicne the Airline was paying for the room, I expected much less. The room was clean and well appointed, the staff helpful - overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear 675MarkH,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your positive feedback about our hotel. I am pleased that we provided you with a superior experience, despite the circumstances. Our night team appreciates your kind words and our housekeeping team is happy that you enjoyed the cleanliness of your room! We hope you will stay with us again in the future and make us your actual destination.

Best Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our room faced the Bay with tiki huts and pool views, you could see the dolphins swimming by and music playing in the air from the bar area it was great. The service was awesome and the rooms super clean. The hotel is surrounded by Resturant and 20 minutes to Clearwater Beach. We would definitely stay their again.

Room Tip: It's also 10 minutes to Tampa International Airport for those wanting to stay near the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Evelyn C,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know about your positive experience. We look forward to seeing you again!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 9 days with my husband and my 6yo daughter and I have to say that it was a very good stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful! Rooms were neat and clean and the view from our blcony was priceless. It was really nice to be able to sit on the balcony and enjoy the music from the Hogans bar and watch the sunset at the same time. I have already plan to stay there again next year, but this time hopefully it would be 14 days:)

Room Tip: 4th floor was alot quieter and nice-rm 420 is where we stayed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Casicien,

I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are already planning another one. That says alot! Thank you for taking the time to let us know. The team and I are pleased that our customer service, along with the room cleanliness, music and views from your balcony, all contributed to your wonderful stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family next year!

Best Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I spent a couple of nights here on a business trip. The staff were all very capable and helpful, the bed was very comfortable but the place felt a little shabby and in need of a makeover. There was quite a bit of noise in the corridors at night and both nights I was awoken by revellers moving around and calling to each other.

Hogans Beach is a little loud if you are used to the quiet life but is not too bad after you have adjusted to it. The menu is not too exciting but both meals I had were well prepared and very tasty.

The hotel offers free wifi and a free airport shuttle, the latter takes only 5 minutes door to door.

I would stay here again if I was travelling on business but would probably look elsewhere if I had children with me.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Tim A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about our hotel. Our team is pleased that we exceeded your expectations with our customer service, the tasty meals and the amenities we provide. We fully agree that our property needs a makeover and we have plans for an extensive renovation program that would include the refurbishing of all the guest rooms. I do apologize for the noise issues you experienced. We are taking steps to increase the security presence in the hotel on weekends to prevent any instances of noisy persons roaming the hotel and affecting our guests. Although Hogan's Beach has a livelier atmosphere on the outdoors, it remains more family-friendly in the indoor dining area.

Again, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your future stays with us!

Best Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spent two nights here at the beginning of our holiday, we had a bay view room and the view was great and worth the extra

After our visit last year the restaurant has changed and now it's Hogans, it was busy both nights and the food was good, the bar was lively and the beach volleyball was very busy

I would stay again without hesitation

Room Tip: Have a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#83 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#83 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.