We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Go Back to This Best Western” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Orbitz.com
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 158 hotels in Tampa
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would Go Back to This Best Western”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel. My room was on the bayfront and it was absolutely beautiful. The room service from Hulk Hogan's Restaurant next door was excellent. There are two nightclubs with live bands in the immediate area, but the music stopped at 11:00 PM, and I enjoyed listening to the bands. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was clean and modern. The next time I visit Tampa, I'll choose this hotel. Perfect location, too!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear LadycopMaryland,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I am very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay! The team and I appreciate your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Tampa!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    142
    95
    38
    32
See reviews for
122
124
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deltona, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A little pricey I think but the view from the balcony on the waterfront side is beautiful. The restaurant on site, Hogan's Beach, is a bit overpriced as well but consider that you are paying for the name. The food was so-so. My husband enjoyed his food but mine was not worth what I paid for it. We tried dinner and breakfast there. The breakfast was even worse!
The room was nice, clean. Yes there is some noise but it was done by about midnight. Granted we weren't there on a Saturday night so may be worse then. Lifetime was not one of the TV channel choices but did have others that were okay. We didn't spend much time watching TV anyway. Close to Clearwater and St. Petersburg. One more thing, no discount for breakfast. With the money spent for the room which had nothing special except a waterfront view, you would think you could atleast get a discount on breakfast if not a free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Woodstar0206,

Thank you for submitting your feedback about your stay with us. The team and I are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your balcony and the cleanliness of your room. I would like to apologize for your restaurant experience. I have shared your comments with restaurant management. Your feedback will help us to make improvements so we can provide a better experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will visit us again!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were nice some of the desk staff were rude not very hepful. The shop is like a bad charity shop.... hogans bar was lively but if ya dont like fish u will hate the food. Dont come here if you dont drive extremely isolated

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Nigeloca,

Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of our team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. I am disappointed to read about the customer service you received and I will address your comments with our team. The gift shop is now under new management and there are plans to revamp the product offering. At Hogan's Beach, apart from seafood, there is a variety of menu items including chicken, beef and pork. Also, we provide courtesy shuttle service to and from Tampa International Airport, our neighboring restaurants, and the two shopping malls close by, between 6:00AM and 10:00PM daily. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel itself is nice. It is clean, nice furniture and lovely balconies. If you stay on the water side, it is lovely to sit out and enjoy the morning breezy. However, there is the hotel attached to the hotel, the Hogan's Beach is noisy and seems to draw a fairly rowdy crowd. Furthermore, the restaurant across the water cranks its music up starting about 10:00 am and continues. It wasn't so much that you couldn't talk on the balcony but noticeable. The larger problem is the rowdy crowd partying on the balconies going to the bar and then coming in at 3:00 am without much concern for others. This was not an isolated incident as at breakfast the next morning others also commented on it. Sleep was a problem it wasn't the bed, it was comfortable.

I will say that the hotel moved us across the hall to the parking lot side. We still heard them in the hall but not next door to us and it was fine then.
The food at Hogan's was pretty good as well. So really, I think I would give it a 3 1/2. If you don't mind the noise and want to join the party ....go for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Spunkysmom,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed our clean rooms and the beautiful views from your balcony. I would however like to apologize for the noise from the neighboring establishments. Because of our location, the music travels across the water and may be heard by our guests on the bay side. I am happy that the move across the hall to a city view room resolved the noise issues for you. We hope you will return to visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I just spent 4 days at this hotel property. Pluses: It's right on the Bay and the 60 Hwy, so super easy access to anywhere in Tampa and Clearwaters only 30 minutes away by car. They have two computers to use for free. It's very nicely kept. The staff was super friendly and helpful.

The Negatives:The pool is "heated" but really luke warm at best. The two night clubs (Hulk Hogan's is on site) are loud over the weekend so I asked to be placed on the far end and on the front of the hotel. I still had a balcony but it over looked the parking lot but the noise wasn't bad.

Over all, for the price I would stay here again. I am single and travel alone alot so I needed somewhere safe and clean. I got both here and the staff again were so nice. :) This is also near the Westin (they have Starbucks!) and Bahama Breeze restaurant which I highly reccomend over Hogans.

Room Tip: As for 5th or 6th floor and in the 40's so you are for sure on the far end of the hotel away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear PineappleShagette,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. I am very happy to read that you felt safe with us and that our location, our cleanliness and the amenities we provide all contributed to your pleasant stay. The team and I appreciate your kind words and we are pleased that our customer service exceeded your expectations. I would like to apologize for the noise heard from the neighboring establishments, but I am glad that our city view rooms provided a much quieter alternative for you. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

if you stay at this hotel on a weekend you should know there are two night clubs next to this hotel. they play loud music to the wee hours of the morning so you can't sleep. If you upgraded and paid the higher price for the water front rooms you get this noise worse because they are on the water. This hotel also jacks up the rates on the weekends so you get a double whammy, if you like to party, great place if you want peace and quiet go some place else.

Room Tip: rooms on the water are noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Louis L,

Thank you for submitting your comments about your stay with us. Your feedback helps us to implement improvements to provide a better experience for guests in the future.

The on-site restaurant/bar adheres to the noise ordinance in our area and shuts off its music by 10:00PM. There is a neighboring establishment that also plays music and because of our location, even when their music is lowered, the sound may still travel across the water and be heard by guests in our waterfront rooms. For this reason, to our guests who request a quiet room, we suggest that they stay in our city view rooms, away from the noise.

On behalf of our entire team, I apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are plenty of hotel choices in Tampa, including the immediate vicinity of this Best Western. I recommend you look around to find some thing better.

Room ... The bed was good and the shower head was great. Otherwise, the furniture was dirty and worn out. The carpet looked fairly new but the dark color made it hard to tell. It took a lot of muscle to open the old sliding door to the balcony which appeared to have been broken into. The latch had obviously been pried open.

Parking ... The free parking was a nightmare. The neighborhood seems to be a hot spot for night life with a loud, live band outside each night attracting big crowds with too few parking spaces to accommodate all the cars. The lot was randomly roped off making entrance and exit similar to finding your way through a maze.

Service ... Checking in and checking out involved long waits in line at the consistently under-staffed front desk. Even once it was our turn, it took a long time to check in. The process seemed to require hundreds of key strokes by the front desk clerk.

We travel to Tampa several times a year. We won't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Rick A,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to submit your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. We have plans for an overall renovation in the near future which would include replacing and updating the furnishings and fittings in our guest rooms. We are taking steps to improve the parking situation for our guests, including providing valet parking on our busiest nights. I will address the lengthy check-in and check-out process with our team so as to reduce the wait time for our guests in the future.

We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with exceptional service.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa
Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Best Western, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.