We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i read these reviews before going buttt..” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #83 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“i read these reviews before going buttt..”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

if you stay at this hotel on a weekend you should know there are two night clubs next to this hotel. they play loud music to the wee hours of the morning so you can't sleep. If you upgraded and paid the higher price for the water front rooms you get this noise worse because they are on the water. This hotel also jacks up the rates on the weekends so you get a double whammy, if you like to party, great place if you want peace and quiet go some place else.

Room Tip: rooms on the water are noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Louis L,

Thank you for submitting your comments about your stay with us. Your feedback helps us to implement improvements to provide a better experience for guests in the future.

The on-site restaurant/bar adheres to the noise ordinance in our area and shuts off its music by 10:00PM. There is a neighboring establishment that also plays music and because of our location, even when their music is lowered, the sound may still travel across the water and be heard by guests in our waterfront rooms. For this reason, to our guests who request a quiet room, we suggest that they stay in our city view rooms, away from the noise.

On behalf of our entire team, I apologize for the unsatisfactory stay you had with us and we hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    167
    122
    44
    35
See reviews for
142
153
26
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are plenty of hotel choices in Tampa, including the immediate vicinity of this Best Western. I recommend you look around to find some thing better.

Room ... The bed was good and the shower head was great. Otherwise, the furniture was dirty and worn out. The carpet looked fairly new but the dark color made it hard to tell. It took a lot of muscle to open the old sliding door to the balcony which appeared to have been broken into. The latch had obviously been pried open.

Parking ... The free parking was a nightmare. The neighborhood seems to be a hot spot for night life with a loud, live band outside each night attracting big crowds with too few parking spaces to accommodate all the cars. The lot was randomly roped off making entrance and exit similar to finding your way through a maze.

Service ... Checking in and checking out involved long waits in line at the consistently under-staffed front desk. Even once it was our turn, it took a long time to check in. The process seemed to require hundreds of key strokes by the front desk clerk.

We travel to Tampa several times a year. We won't return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Rick A,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to submit your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. We have plans for an overall renovation in the near future which would include replacing and updating the furnishings and fittings in our guest rooms. We are taking steps to improve the parking situation for our guests, including providing valet parking on our busiest nights. I will address the lengthy check-in and check-out process with our team so as to reduce the wait time for our guests in the future.

We hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with exceptional service.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

we spent the last night of our trip here before we went back to the airport. They were very nice there. We got in late and they let us take their shuttle bus to a restaurant for dinner, The shuttle bus always takes their guests to cruises and to the beach. very clean. Bed was a little hard, but nice views.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Dawn G,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing your feedback. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our shuttle service, our cleanliness, and the views from our property. Our courtesy shuttle provides transportation to and from Tampa International Airport, the two nearby shopping malls and the restaurants in our area. There is a third party shuttle service that provides transportation to places outside our shuttle's range, including the cruise terminal and the beaches.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very nice, clean and reasonably priced. Very busy on weekends with Hogan's beach bar. Stay on bayside, beautiful views from balcony. Location convenient for auto, but not foot travel, which limits your resturants located by foot. Overall, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Stay on bayside for great bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Anthony E,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for submitting your feedback.

The team and I are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially the cleanliness and the beautiful views of Tampa Bay from your room balcony. Because we are located on the Causeway, we generally do not suggest that guests walk along the street, unless they are going to the beach close-by. Instead, our courtesy shuttle transports guests to the neighboring restaurants and the two nearby shopping malls, which also have a variety of dining options.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your future visits.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at this hotel. Love the fact that it is close to the airport, comfortable room and hot coffee in the lobby you can take on your way out. The hotel has a restaurant bar called Hogan's place which I assume replaced Crabby Bill's. During the weekend it was full, seemed like Spring break! Besides having a full parking lot, no major issues. Will definitely use this hotel again on my next trip to Tampa.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Luvsviolet,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback.

We are happy to read that you enjoy the comfort of our rooms, our location and the freshly brewed coffee available in our lobby on mornings. The grand opening for Hogan's Beach, our on-site restaurant, was New Year's Eve, and it has since grown in popularity.

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the above hotel for 2 nights in May 2012. I booked online and pre paid well in advance. Upon checking out of the hotel as I expected I was told there was nothing to pay. some 2 months later I received a bill for $228.00 ( 2 nights stay ) After telling the hotel/company they had charged me twice they point blank refused to refund or acknowledge me saying it was too long after the initial stay.. They have never once returned a call or E-mail from me and to top it off the company's CEO/President is completely un reachable..
THIS IS FRAUD!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Kathy T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.

I would like to apologize, on behalf of our team, for the miscommunication regarding your reservation. When a guest prepays for a booking, our hotel only charges the guest directly for their incidentals. However, if the third party states that they have no record of a guest's reservation and they are unable to verify the prepayment, then we would have to charge the guest directly for their stay. If it is ever found that we charged a guest's credit card in error, we will reverse the charges. I am sorry if this was not properly explained to you.

Once again, I apologize for the misunderstanding surrounding your reservation. Please feel free to contact me to further discuss. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union county
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Pretty lobby, clean rooms , fantastic location! Great nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable! love that you can get drinks next door, and relax by the pool It was definitely a good stay! Some at front desk were more pleasant then others, either way, I got he info I was looking for.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Robiee,

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your feedback.

The team and I are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the cleanliness of our rooms, and the amenities and service we provided. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.