We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 158 hotels in Tampa
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Second time around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time at this hotel. Love the fact that it is close to the airport, comfortable room and hot coffee in the lobby you can take on your way out. The hotel has a restaurant bar called Hogan's place which I assume replaced Crabby Bill's. During the weekend it was full, seemed like Spring break! Besides having a full parking lot, no major issues. Will definitely use this hotel again on my next trip to Tampa.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Luvsviolet,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback.

We are happy to read that you enjoy the comfort of our rooms, our location and the freshly brewed coffee available in our lobby on mornings. The grand opening for Hogan's Beach, our on-site restaurant, was New Year's Eve, and it has since grown in popularity.

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Best Western Bay Harbor Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    141
    95
    38
    32
See reviews for
121
124
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at the above hotel for 2 nights in May 2012. I booked online and pre paid well in advance. Upon checking out of the hotel as I expected I was told there was nothing to pay. some 2 months later I received a bill for $228.00 ( 2 nights stay ) After telling the hotel/company they had charged me twice they point blank refused to refund or acknowledge me saying it was too long after the initial stay.. They have never once returned a call or E-mail from me and to top it off the company's CEO/President is completely un reachable..
THIS IS FRAUD!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Kathy T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us.

I would like to apologize, on behalf of our team, for the miscommunication regarding your reservation. When a guest prepays for a booking, our hotel only charges the guest directly for their incidentals. However, if the third party states that they have no record of a guest's reservation and they are unable to verify the prepayment, then we would have to charge the guest directly for their stay. If it is ever found that we charged a guest's credit card in error, we will reverse the charges. I am sorry if this was not properly explained to you.

Once again, I apologize for the misunderstanding surrounding your reservation. Please feel free to contact me to further discuss. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union county
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Pretty lobby, clean rooms , fantastic location! Great nights sleep, the beds were very comfortable! love that you can get drinks next door, and relax by the pool It was definitely a good stay! Some at front desk were more pleasant then others, either way, I got he info I was looking for.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Robiee,

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your feedback.

The team and I are pleased to read that you enjoyed our location, the cleanliness of our rooms, and the amenities and service we provided. We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is in a beautiful bay with an incredible view. My bay-view room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a hot spot for young people partying at their on-site restaurant "Hogan's Beach." The food was okay, but nothing great. Across the bay is also a beach that holds parties with live bands on the weekends. Because the bay-view rooms are located on the backside of the hotel the noise from all these events fills your room until the early morning hours.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front might be quieter, but the bay-views are have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAYHARBOR, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Bonnie511,

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your feedback.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the beautiful view of the Bay, as well as the cleanliness and comfort of your room. As you mentioned, because of our location, the waterfront rooms are, at times, affected by noise from the neighboring establishment. We have been making our guests aware of this, and whenever possible, we have relocated guests to the quieter rooms on the Eastern side of our building.

We look forward to your future stays with us!

Kind Regards,

Chevonne Cottle-Forde
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the hotel and we had a wonderful time. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable, the shower had excellent water pressure, and the pool/grounds were beautiful.

The front desk staff was really great! Super friendly and kind! We checked in late Wednesday (April 10) and the woman at the desk was excellent! However, aside from the front desk staff, there were not any other employees that even said hello or greeted us with a smile.

The hotel is very close to the airport, maybe 2 miles. But, it is next to impossible to walk anywhere for dinner, shopping, etc. We were really glad that we picked up a rental car at the airport! The only dining option available at the hotel is Hogan's Beach.

Hogan's has a good menu and we enjoyed everything that we ordered, but the staff was very rude. We arrived late Wednesday and after checking into our room, we headed down to Hogan's to grab a bite to eat. We sat outside and the waitress came over and said "you have 30 minutes to order because the kitchen is closing." Not, "welcome, what can I get you, or can I get you drinks?" It was like we were a burden to the waitress who said she was leaving at 11:30 pm. Lunch was a much different experience! Everyone was friendly at lunch the next day. I think the restaurant needs better training in customer service.

We would stay at the hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

The reception was nothing special. The room smelled musty. I did not get that clean feel from the rooms. The hotel was very noisy and outdated and needs upkeep. I was very disappointed by this Best Western. The restaurant on site, which is a Hulk Hogan theme was a real let down; noisy, the food was served cold. The food had no taste. Unfortunately, there is not much nice to say about our stay.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Can't sleep due to the extremely loud music playing across the way on land owned by hotel. Don't waste your money. Service was spotty which was willing to overlook until music started at 3:00 pm and still going strong at 12:15am. Guess not getting sleep tonight.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa
Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#80 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Best Western, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.