We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Bay Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #84 of 159 hotels in Tampa
manitoba
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Western Bay Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Was great stay, warm pool, great party bar and restaurant Friendly staff, close to airport, about 10 Minutes. Short walk to Whiskey Joes, (all by the water.) Good restaurant at Whiskey Joes as well. Hotel also has free shuttle service within a 4 mile area. Airport, Shops, Harbor and some restaurants. We also did some touring with the other shuttle they recommended. We used "Rowe Transportation Inc." ran by Marcus. We had a special driver that We want to mention as she was a great tour guide and showed us lots rather than just dropping us off. We learn't some of the history of the places. So if u use Rowe Transp. u must ask for MOMMA T (teri) She was great. and don't forget to tip her. Hi Teri (Shell & Ron)

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor of 6 and faces the morning sun from our deck, which was nice in the morning, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    170
    125
    46
    36
See reviews for
148
155
28
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
latham ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Love the Best Western on the bay,(use to be Radisson on the Bay). Great location being close to the airport, shopping (International Mall) and Steinbrenner Field. Clean and a great staff. Has a shuttle for the airport and shopping. I liked the old restaurant and bar, Crabby Bills. The new restaurant and theme "Logans Beach is nice,but a little overkill with all the Hulk Hogan pictures and everything. Color scheme is neat. Food is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Best Western and for $135 a night it is a 6 out of 10. We called the hotel for the complimentary shuttle to pick us up at the airport and they told us it would be there in 15 minutes. it was not rush hour and the guy shows up 40 minutes later. At the hotel, the staff were friendly enough but not too attentive during check-in. There were four people standing behind the check-in area and two couples were being served. We were the only other couple waiting to be taken care of and the others behind the desk were preoccupied with their own discussion. The room had fresh linens but the carpet looked dirty and was not vacuumed. We dined at the adjoining restaurant named Hogan's and that place was awful. We sat at the bar for almost ten minutes without being offered a menu or a drink. The bartender was busy servicing the drink orders for the restaurant and could not take care of her customers sitting at the bar to which she apologized. They had lots of waitstaff on and even a food runners which was redundant. They needed an extra bartender! We decided to get up and sit at a table and within 2 minutes was greeted and took our drink order. The manager was aloof at best and was by the t-shirt purchase area but had no clue that he should have jumped in and helped. he was busy talking to the greeter. The manager at chick-fil-a from earlier that day was 10 times more attentive!! The place looked dirty and the overall sense I got from this place was that management had set the bar way to low. I was an operations manager for a food service firm in the Northeast for years and I expect reasonable standards when we go out to eat. We had three apps and drinks. The ribs were salty, the coconut shrimp were nothing special....at least the server was attentive. Do yourself a favour and take the hotel's complimentary shuttle to the mall where at least you can get a decent meal at The Cheesecake Factory. The reason I give this place a 6 and not a failing grade was because the woman operating the shuttle van the next morning was friendly and understood service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey girl
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My stay at the Best Western was pleasant. The room was clean. It was a standard room with a view of a parking lot. My friend did not use his air conditiioner and said that it was loud outside, but my a.c. drowned out the sound. Two excellent things about the hotel: the location is great with respect to the airport and George Steinbrenner field. Both were 5 - 10 minutes away depending on traffic. The second thing is that the hotel is on the water, so even though we didn't have a view of the water, we could sit by the water.

The cost was less expensive than other properties in the area.

Downside: no free Continental breakfast. We had drinks at their restaurant (a Hulk Hogan place) and it was noisy and crowded.

This is not a bad place to stay, but it is nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We come here every March for six nights. Absolutely gorgeous view of bay and all the water fowl (bring your binoculars) from our balcony on 5th floor (but any floor would be fine). Check in has always been very pleasant. Hogan's Beach upgrades are great; love the outdoor bar and tiki umbrellas;food is good. Suggest getting a room on south side of building to avoid most of music. One elevator was being repaired/inspected during visit. We're on vacation - what's the rush? Met some nice people waiting for the elevator!

Room Tip: Bay view is lovely. But. . . even "parking lot" view has lots of royal palms. Ask for ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent 4 days at this resort and had an excellent time. The staff was very accomodating, we were spoosed to fly back to a snowstorm and decided to stay an extra day and the hotel honored our online rate we book at originally. The views from the room balcony were aewsomwe, overlooking the bay. And the sunset at night. The 2 bars are right on the water and alot of fun. They have live entertainment, and a lively crowd. The restaurant has good food as well. There is also a sushi bar inside the main restaurant which was excellent. Nice (clean) outdoor, heated pool. The room was clean, although a bit dated. The whole place could used a fresh update, but that was no big deal. The gift shop has a little bit of everything for your needs.
Overall we had a great time and I would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: get the ocean side room for the extra $10. well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location is nicely set on Tampa Bay with the pool overlooking the ocean and a walking pier for boats to tie up to.
Hogan's Restauarant is conveniently steps away along the beach walk or through the connector to the hotel. A fun spot to enjoy drinks and outside dining. It is to bad the service was very uneven as the food was great. One afternoon we waited over 15 minutes for the waitress to take our order. It was not a busy time. Once served she never came back except to give us our check. Other waiters were more attentive to their clients. Two days in a row the manager had to give me change from her handbag for breakfast. Often they were short staffed. We never did find the hotel's Crabby Joe's though it was listed as a breakfast place on the hotel telephone.

Also during the week the internet service and printer were frequently down. On our last day the hotel boiler broke and no one had hot water for showers.

The rooms are gently shabby. Our room rug was stained and there was rust on the towel racks. Not thrilled with the refridgerator under the bathroom sink. However, the staff was friendly, attentive and very helpful. The beds were quite comfortable.

Overall, a great central location if you can overlook the other issues.

Room Tip: Bayside rooms have spectacular ocean views but be aware if you want quiet the city side is better as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
#84 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.