We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay in Tampa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #83 of 159 hotels in Tampa
Rochester,New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay in Tampa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Bay Harbor Feb 7-13,2013. We upgraded to a water view room with a balcony and it is well worth the upgrade. The sunsets you can watch from your balcony are beautiful. Every morning we watched 2 dolphins swim in the shallow bay at low tide. The room was clean and good size. The beds were comfortable. The pool area is very nice and they heat the pool which was wonderful. The reason why I only gave this hotel 4 stars is because if you come back to the hotel in the evening you can barely find a parking spot, or you wait in a long line of cars waiting to get into the parking lot. The bar, Hogans Hideaway gets packed and there is no place to park for registered hotel guests. This was the worst part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a waterview room its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    167
    121
    44
    35
See reviews for
142
152
26
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My daughter and I spent one night before our cruise and two nights after. The two nights after were on a week-end. The shuttle service was wonderful. We were never left waiting. We used the airport shuttle, and they even shuttled us to shopping malls. They have a shuttle contracted for the cruise port, and it also was very efficient. The staff are all very friendly, and the hotel is very clean. The pool area has plenty of chairs and loungers and the pool is kept very clean. We enjoyed watching the dolphins each morning in the bay. We enjoyed dining at Hogan's for several meals. It can be a bit noisy at nights on the week-end, but nothing out of line. I certainly hope to return to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Great to watch dolphins in the morning if on Bay side. Can be a bit noisy on week-ends on that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

after reading reviews we to decided to have a bay view room . The room was large with two double beds and the lovely view - unfortunately for us it was very cold in the mornings so couldn't sit out.

The only thing about the bay view rooms is the noise - traffic which seems to be non stop and the bands playing at Hogans Restaurant and across the bay - one night it went on until 3.00 a.m. still being jet lagged this was a nightmare did phone reception so ask when the music stopped and was told 3.00 a.m but they did stay the would ask for it to be turned down this did not happen.

The rooms have no security boxes - but you can get a box from reception which wasn't the best you had to get someone from reception to go with you and they just stood while you went through your personal documents etc - think they should leave you to it.

Remember to get a parking sticker for your car or you may get towed. Forgot to mention they coffee and tea facilities - there in your bathroom not very hygenic.

We ate twice at Hogans it was fine but if you don't have a car there isn't anywhere else to eat.

Would we stay there again no - to far out, if you don't drive there's no where to go. We did find out later that the hotel has a bus that takes you to the shopping mall until 10.-00 p.m. Also it you book this hotel don't get transfers as the hotel will transfer you to and from the airport

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

On the waterfront side we watched dolphins swimming in the morning! Nice folks at the desk and cleaning requests were taken care of just fine. Not a new place but we will recommend yo friends. Nice pool too!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay and were pleasantly surprised by the amenities and beatiful surroundings. We stayed here since it was close to airport (20 minutes from door to gate, really quick and convenient). We arrived before our room was ready, but were welcomed warmly and invited to use the amenities until check in.

Hulk's beach place (restaurant next door) was a bit diappointing food wise, but the atmosphere was nice and energized

Our room was comfortable and the balcony was great. We had a tremendous view of the Gulf and pool area. When we come to Tampa again, we will definitely stay here the night before the we fly out. Great staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in mid-January on a combination business and personal trip. We had never stayed here before and we found the rates to be very reasonable. The exterior of the hotel was oldish, as others have said. The interior, including the rooms, looked like they had been renovated in the last few years. The rooms were nice and I really had no complaints about the room or the service. The staff was friendly and helpful. I almost wish I could rate this hotel 2 ways - the hotel was average. The view from the room was outstanding. When we arrived the hotel was not full. We asked for an upper floor with a view on a quiet side of the building and they really delivered. We were on the top floor facing Tampa Bay and whether it was early in the AM or at sunset the view was one of the best we have seen and we have traveled a lot. The water is right next to the hotel and the water was flat with birds diving all day, boats coming into the area , and views far into the bay towards Clearwater. There is a highway to Clearwater off to the right. If you can get a room like that you will enjoy it. One suggestion - we were on the quiet side of the hotel, close to an apartment complex. The other side of the hotel is close to the local bar/restaurant/nightclub Hogan's Beach - that side could get very noisy. We stayed over a Saturday and the bar had outside bands late into the night. Hogan's Beach was the bar/restaurant for the hotel - food was fine, nothing fancy - in the evening it caters to the dining and bar crowd as people come for the sunsets and the local volleyball games on the sand courts. We never did have breakfast there so we cannot judge that. My wife spent 2 days at the pool which she said was nice and quiet. One last comment - I said earlier that the building was old. The balconies are old school - one long balcony the length of the floor with a small railing between the room balconies. We were a little concerned about security but once we spent time on the balcony we had nice conversations with those in neighboring rooms.The latch on our sliding glass door to the balcony could have been secured better, which added to the security concern. So average hotel - awesome view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APOPKA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a good experienced to just walk in without any reservation on Martin Luther King weekend and get a good room facing the Bay. Clean rooms, good bed and lots of towels! Nothing much in the lobby but in the morning they had coffee and newspaper. It was next to the Hogan's new restaurant and we got to meet him on the first night. It was close to clearwater activities and other restaurants you can sit outside. The International Plaza Mall is a must go to. Really awesome Mall.

Room Tip: just ask when you get there for a room with bay view but not too close to the restaurants next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel

Address: 7700 Courtney Campbell Cswy., Tampa, FL 33607 (Formerly Bay Harbor Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tampa
#7 Best Value Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the bay in Tampa, minutes from Tampa Bay International Airport (TIA), this full service hotel is available for your every need.Whether you are traveling to the Tampa Bay area for business or pleasure, The BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel can offer you convenient, comfortable accommodations at an affordable price. All guest rooms have open balconies/patios with views of the bay or the city. We offer complimentary wireless Internet, business center, fitness center and the heated outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay. Volleyball and water sports are available adjacent to the beach bar. The on-site restaurant, Crabby Bill's, serves a variety of menu items with a full bar.We are less than an hour away from world renowned white sandy beaches of the Gulf of Mexico, a short distance from Busch Gardens®, the Lowry Park Zoo, the Florida Aquarium, the Museum of Science & Industry (MOSI), the Salvador Dali Museum, the Ford Amphitheater, the Seminole Hard Rock® Hotel & Casino and the Cruise Port of Tampa.If you're here to visit a college or university, we are approximately an hour from both the Tampa and the St. Petersburg campuses of USF, the University of Tampa, Eckerd College, SPC and Florida Southern College. For sports fans, there's Raymond James Stadium, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, Steinbrenner Field and Tropicana Field, all within a short distance. For our guests here on business, we offer a variety of meeting rooms and facilities.Our bayside location makes a great venue for any social occasion. Sunset beachside weddings are our specialty. We can host wedding reception as well as the bride's maids luncheon, rehearsal dinners, family reunions, high school class reunions and service organizations. We can also host parties for special birthdays and anniversaries as well as holiday parties and Quinceaneras. Our on-site staff event planners are available to assist you for any event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bay Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.