We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Friggen Hotel With A Hidden Agenda” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sweet Friggen Hotel With A Hidden Agenda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked a night here online because it was a pet friendly hotel. Upon check-in we found out that the only pet friendly area of the hotel are in the Villas on the bay which are significantly more expensive....so we let Winston poop in the Koi Pond.

Room Tip: Don't run with scissors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    365
    102
    38
    18
See reviews for
201
337
78
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had a wonderful trip here. I loved Armani's where I had the fresh catch a delightfully prepared with two filets with a delicate sauce on a bed of potatoes and rock shrimp. Very light and went well with the pinot Grigio. Room had a HDMI connection so I could plug my iPad and watch Amazon prime. Comfy and clean. I was on the 14th floor glad I chose this sight

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! I'm pleased to hear you enjoy Armani's and your stay at the hotel. Come back and see us again soon at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay!

Thanks,

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed 4 days with 500 of our closest friends. The hotel was ours and we had so much fun in the pool at the bar in the the reception hall for dinner. They were able to keep everyone of us happy, fed and full of drinks. The food was great breakfast and dinner. They have 3 restraunts Oystercatchers has really great seafood and there is one on the top floor we didn't go to. You cannot walk anywhere but they do have a shuttle if more than a few people are going. The rooms are all big with refrigerators and huge windows. We were over the pool on 3rd floor and could not hear our friends at all. The beds are nice with lots of pillows. Will differently go back.

Room Tip: Get room on high floor in back as sunsets are beautiful .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
I'm pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and were able to take advantage of the amenities the hotel has to offer. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, come back and see see us again very soon. We would love to have you back!

Thanks!

Danny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed 2 nights with family. We had a 2 floor villa. Beautiful vila in gardens. You walk along ponds and flower. Feel like a small cottage in a exotic destination. The staff was great. This is a huge property. The pool by the cottages is very small. But they do have a man made sand beach, which is intersting. The main pool is better. The hotel staff is very attentive. Will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our beautiful hotel. I'm happy that you enjoyed all of our great amenities. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team.

We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S- Guest Relations Associate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend in July and from check-in to check-out, it was lovely. We stayed in a casita (highly recommended) and felt like we were at a resort, but at a much better price. The property sits on a nature preserve and had great walking/running trails all around (though, as noted, these are very buggy so do bring your bug spray!)

The casita was roomy and comfortable but best part was the casita pool (there are two pools - one for the tower rooms and one for the casitas). It was clean and quiet and the staff was attentive and friendly, without interrupting our relaxation time (especially Jason and Steve H.) And behind the pool was a small beachy/sandy area with games and a nice bay view.

We had dinner one night at Oystercatchers, which was terrific. The meal was delicious and the staff was, once again, attentive without being disruptive. Other than an obnoxiously loud party near us sing/screaming along to the piano music (clearly not the restaurant's fault), the evening was perfect.

There were a few things that some travelers would not like -- the location (close to the airport) was super convenient but did mean there was plane noise for most of the day. Being from New York, it was nothing for us but others not used to outside noise might be bothered, especially at night. Also the property restaurants, while delicious, were all on the pricier side. We had a car (free parking!) so we went out for most meals but those looking to stay on the grounds will need to be prepared to spend a little more money. The toiletries in our room (shampoo, soap, etc.) were also not replaced daily, as they are at most other hotels. I'm sure if we had asked we could have gotten more but that made me wonder how thorough the daily room refresh was.

All of that said, I highly recommend the Grand Hyatt. It is in a great location - close to the airport and the stadiums and highways (for access to area beaches etc.), is comfortable and clean, and the staff was welcoming and helpful. We will definitely be staying here again when we are next in the Tampa area!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leawood, kansas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Nice staff.
Put us in casita suite. Air conditioning broke second day. Came in to fix, broke again that night. Requested hotel to clean dirt, blood, bbq sauce off inside of front entrance door and door to flea infested patio. No follow through. Very nice room service staff. Staying in resulted in long walk to get to fitness facility .. Patio overlooking bay useless..all you see is overgrown vegetation which blocks any view of water.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice Hotel! My kids enjoyed both pools. Loved the nature trail and all the little crabs on the walkway. We really liked the dock near the casitas with the two chairs at the end. Had a beautiful view of the bay through the huge windows in our room. Room was clean, Bed was SUPER comfortable. APPRECIATE the free parking. Beautiful resort feel, hard to believe it was across from an airport.

Restaurants are a pricey, but to be expected. Make sure to wear BUG SPRAY if walking on the nature trail.

I am pretty picky about hotel cleanliness and our room was really clean, and bed bug free (I ALWAYS check!!).

Booked through priceline and they obviously treat all their guests the same regardless of how you booked. All of my requests were met. We will definitely be returning next time we are in Tampa and recommending this hotel to others traveling in the Tampa Area.

Room Tip: Email your room requests the morning of check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am happy to hear we were able to meet all of your requests. We look forward to your return in the future.
Warm Regards,
Annah E., Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#3 Family Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#6 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.