We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Offering Excellent Service & Spectacular Views, the Grand Hyatt Tampa is the Best Place to Stay in Tampa!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #13 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Port Richey, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Offering Excellent Service & Spectacular Views, the Grand Hyatt Tampa is the Best Place to Stay in Tampa!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Date of Stay: Friday, 11/15/13 - Saturday, 11/16/13
Length of Stay: 1 Night

In a nutshell, the Grand Hyatt Tampa is the place that you must stay when in Tampa; in the last year, it has undergone a complete renovation, offering fully renovated rooms, dining facilities and lobby spaces, and it continues to feature amazing customer service and truly excellent views of Tampa Bay!

Now, for my detailed review:

First, this review adds to all of the excellent things that I have had to say about this property in my prior reviews:

1) “After a Complete Renovation, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Continues to Amaze!!!” - January 15, 2013
2) “Yet Again, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Provided AMAZING Service!!” - February 13, 2012
3) “Yet Another Wonderful Stay at a Truly Beautiful Property!!” - June 22, 2011
4) “An AMAZING Hotel in a Perfect Location - Quite the Weekend Paradise!” - September 13, 2010

For more detailed information on this property and numerous additional photographs, I would suggest that you look at those prior reviews, as well.

As I indicated in my most recent review (January 2013), the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay has undergone a complete renovation in the last year; all guest rooms, elevator lobbies and guest hallways had been renovated, and now, most recently, all lobby spaces and the main bar/restaurant have also undergone a total overhaul. The completion of this renovation makes the entire property feel brand new, and allows it to surpass any other property in the region!

The Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay truly has the perfect location; it is located directly on the Tampa Bay, conveniently located within minutes of the Tampa International Airport and the International Mall -- providing free shuttle service to each of those locations. In addition, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is but a short drive to numerous local attractions, including the many Gulf Beaches, Tampa's Lowry Park Zoo, the Clearwater Marine Aquarium, and Busch Gardens Tampa. For all of these reasons, the Grand Hyatt Tampa is truly the perfect place for you to stay during your next trip to the Tampa Bay Area!

Upon arrival, we parked in the attached parking garage and were in the Main Lobby within moments. One great perk of this property is that the parking is completely free; most properties in the area charge for parking, but the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay offers an excellent parking garage that is attached to the Main Entrance by a coverage walk-way, so you will never have to exit into the Florida rains to get from your car into the Main Lobby. Additionally, excellent Valet Parking Service is also available for a very reasonable fee.

We walked into the beautifully renovated Main Lobby and felt that the renovations were absolutely amazing -- for anyone who has not stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tampa lately, I would recommend booking a stay just to see how amazing the Main Lobby now looks. The Main Lobby now has a very modern and open-air feel, and the amazing Front Desk Staff continues to shine. We were immediately greeted by name and welcomed back; we were thanked for being loyal Diamond Members of the Hyatt Gold Passport Program, and within a matter of moments, we were in our room.

On this trip, my wife and I had booked a Grand Club Level, Bay View King Room. When staying at this property, make sure to book a Bay View Room -- the spectacular sunsets over the Tampa Bay truly make the Bay View Rooms worth every penny! We also always like to book on the Grand Club Level -- Level 12 -- so that we can get some of the best views of the Bay. A quick notes on the Grand Club at this property; it offers amazing amenities and spectacular views, but it is closed on the weekends.

We had been assigned to Room 1202, on one corner end of the 12th Floor Grand Club Level. Being a Corner Room, Room 1202 offered absolutely spectacular views of the Tampa Bay from two walls of floor-to-ceiling windows. Upon entry, one walks down a rather long entry hallway, into a spacious bedroom. The first thing that you will notice upon entry is the amazing view. As you progress into the room, you pass the extremely comfortable King-sized Hyatt Grand Bed and come to a large flat-screen high-definition television. A unique feature of the televisions at this property is that there is a panel on the television-stand which allows one to connect any number of media devices to the television -- when the guest rooms at this property were renovated, the rooms were all upgraded to include such excellent technology amenities. Additionally, unlike many other hotels, you will never have to hunt for an electrical outlet to plug in any of your technology items -- the rooms were updated to include ample electrical outlets, including outlets in the top of each night stand. Such technological advances set the the Grant Hyatt Tampa well above any of its competitors. As you continue into the room, you will find a large end-table with a coffee maker and a small refrigerator. Additionally, there is an over-sized computer desk which provides for plenty of space to sit back and complete work. Finally, the room is equipped with an ultra-modern feeling bathroom, complete with a large marble vanity, glass shower enclosure, and high-end June Jacobs Bath Amenities. All-in-all, the Grand Club Bay View Rooms at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay are some of the best rooms in the Tampa Region, offering excellent amenities and truly spectacular views! I have attached numerous photos to this review so that you may see for yourself how truly wonderful the rooms at this property are.

In addition to the excellent rooms, the Grand Hyatt Tampa has a number of fine dining options on property. First and foremost, do not miss Armani's, located on the top floor of the hotel, featuring truly heavenly cuisine for dinner -- but make sure to make a reservation in advance, as this is one of the top dining options in Tampa! Additionally, Oystercatchers is located on the water near the Casita Section of this property, offering amazing seafood fare. Finally, make sure to visit the brand new "1823 Kitchen & Bar." This restaurant replaces the former "Petey Browns" and "Lobby Bar," and it looks truly spectacular! The service remains just as good as the former "Petey Browns," but the restaurant has taken on a brand new, modern feel. The bar has been expanded, allowing for more room to relax with a stiff drink, and additional seating has been added. Make sure to visit "1823" on your next trip to the Grand Hyatt Tampa; the service remains top-notch, and the breakfast buffet is still one of the best in the area!

All-in-all, the Grand Hyatt Tampa continues to shine above all others in the Tampa Bay area; the excellent customer service, exquisite cuisine, and spectacular views make the Grand Hyatt Tampa the place that you absolutely must stay on your next visit to Tampa!

Room Tip: Book a Bay View Room for Spectacular Sunset Views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
I really appreciate you taking a moment of your time to provide us with such a thorough review regarding your recent stay. Thank you for continuing to make Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay your go to property. Your comments have been shared with all the staff and management team. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property the next time your travel brings you back to Tampa!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    311
    88
    36
    16
See reviews for
167
268
69
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for four nights recently, and it is a great place to stay to enjoy all the attractions in Tampa. Since it is close to the airport, you have to have a rental to get around easily. It took between 15-25 minutes to get to St. Pete's, Clearwater, Ybor, etc. The gym is one of the best I've ever seen in a hotel- really made it easier to stick to my routine. The weekend we were there the Miami Dolphins stayed at the hotel, so it got a little crazy that night, but otherwise it was not too noisy. They also have a small nature walk path that is great for kids (huge spiders freaked them out.) The service at the restaurant for breakfast was great, with a lot of choices for the $18.99 hot buffet fee. The rooms are great as well. The only drawback for me was unexpected fees- they charged $8.00 for delivering a package, which they failed to disclose when I went down to pick it up (they encouraged me to have it sent to the room!) They also have free self parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a non parking lot view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback about your stay. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the gym, the rooms and the restaurant. I appreciate that you took the time to share the concern you had about the package fees. I will be sure to share your concerns with the Executive Management team. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Nov 2013 stayed for four nights. Eaten alive by bedbugs. Housekeeping checked room and said it was bedbug free but my body is covered in bites. Food is very expensive. Service at lap pool was pathetic to say the least. $12.00 a drink! Close to Airport. 2nd pool is a 15 minute walk from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Prompt assist from car to desk. Had to wait on line to register. Inadequate seating available for
other family member.
What I liked best:
Catered Food served at lunch & dinner was excellent. Servers were great. To be able to serve a large group so swiftly was an accomplishment.
What I liked least:
Missing was adequate seating where several people could sit together. The benches lining the walkway to the Grand Ballroom do not serve that purpose.

Room Tip: Requested room near elevator. They complied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the valet service, the food that was catered for your event and the service provided by the staff. I do appreciate that you also shared your concerns about the time it took to register and also the lack of adequate group seating. I will be sure to share your concerns with our Executive Management team. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel should you find yourself in the area.

Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Where in the world did the management of this hotel find so many happy employees? All level of staff was so helpful and pleasant. This is an extremely clean property from the common areas to the room. The fitness center is well equipped, the pools are heated and clean with a hot tub, lots of comfy furniture, and poolside service. A nice biking, running trail starts on the property and bikes are available for rent. Take a walk on the boardwalk to the gazebo or to the casitas after enjoying a fantastic dinner at Armani's where the service and the food were perfect! It was such a relaxing weekend, we've already booked another.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that overlooks the pool to experience beautiful sunset views although the quality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for such an amazing review. We have a great staff that prides themselves on providing a memorable experience for our guests. I am so happy you found our property to be well appointed. It is great to hear that your dinner at Armani's was top notch. Your feedback is our greatest compliment! We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the future!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Skye Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A really nice upscale hotel which is near the Tampa airport. It has it's own garden grounds with walks, two pools and all the usual upscale amenities you would expect. Superb Italian restaurant on 14th Floor. Super-friendly, helpful staff.
We're going back. Says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't overlook the parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Bed was comfy, slept well. Room service was prompt. My room had NO hairdryer and tissues only in the bathroom.
Oyster catchers was on the hotel property a ten minute walk or short shuttle ride, the food was pretty good. I wanted Oyster Rockefeller for lunch and they said they wouldn't make (it is on the dinner menu), come on now this place has a sous chef and a executive chef there was no excuse for them not to make it. I am speaking as a retired chef myself.
I gave this a 4 star rating because the of the hotel the food was pretty good (I had the Mahi-Mahi). But NO EXCUSE for not making the Oyster Rockefeller. Don't confuse Oyster Catchers with Armani's on the 14th floor that will be a whole separate review.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Family Hotel in Tampa
#13 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.