We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful bayside hotel on Tampa Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #13 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful bayside hotel on Tampa Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lots of work going on at the Grand Hyatt--updating the lobby. Very nice staff, and a good event venue as well...the rooms are spacious and luxurious, and tastefully decorated.
They have a gracious auto parking staff as well.
Nice play to spend a few days while in Tampa on business.

Room Tip: just depends on your preferences. The views of the Bay are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your recent stay. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It is always wonderful to hear that our staff was so nice and gracious throughout your stay. I’m glad that you found your room to be spacious, well-appointed and luxurious. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel again soon.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    311
    88
    36
    16
See reviews for
167
268
69
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Every year we go to Florida at least for a couple of weeks, and we always end up our vacations in this hotel. It is really relaxing, the concierge, the doorman, the counter clerks, and the entire staff, are so nice and always looking for ways to go the extra mile. I always have a wonderful stay and the views are spectacular.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Lolyn,

Thank you for going out of your way to share comments about your stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your relaxing visit at our hotel. Our employees will be recognized for the continued excellent service you experience. I hope you will continue to choose our Grand Hyatt when returning to Florida.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here once and was so impressed, I can't stay anywhere else. Stephen in room service is amazing. My fiance was simply craving chocolate. Stephen went above and beyond to accommodate us as in buying chocolate from the vending machines, had room service bring up cookies and chocolate covered strawberries just to take care of us. It left such a lasting impression on us, we came back on our honeymoon. Not only was Stephen there, he once again remembered us and made us feel like family. I have to mention Lauren at the front desk. We reserved a Casita for our honeymoon. It wasn't available during to circumstances beyond her control. She upgraded us and sent up a bottle of champagne. We were so happy and she literally made our honeymoon perfect. I love this hotel and the staff. They are the best.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback. I am so happy Stephen and Lauren were able to make your stay so memorable. We have a great staff that wants to make sure our guests have everything they need to make for a lasting impression. I will be sure Stephen and Lauren are commended for their top notch service. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your feedback and recommendation are our biggest compliment!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was not our first stay and again we were not disappointed. We knew the property was undergoing renovations, so that was not a problem. Front desk service was great as well as housekeeping. All our needs were met. Beautiful views from our room. Enjoyed the pool one afternoon, but thought the hot tub was a bit too hot for Florida in August. Will definitely return on our next visit to the Tampa area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi cb628,

Thank you for going out of your way to provide feedback about your return visit to our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at our property. Our employees will be recognized for their wonderful customer service. It is great that you were able to take time out of your day to relax by the pool. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tampa.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Fl
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has a hotel side and a resort side. I have stayed at both but my favorite is the resort side. Stayed in a casita suite. A gorgeous split level home with mini kitchen and great water views.
The service here is some of the best Ihave ever had. From front desk to room service to the beat rrestaurants around this is a property you will not want to leave.
trust me..stay here$

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I really appreciate your continued loyalty and choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay as your go to property. It sounds like you had another fantastic experience. I am thrilled you found the Casita suite to be exceptional. Your kind words and recommendation are our biggest compliment. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It is not downtown, but near the airport and certainly near malls and great food. Service is awesome, the staff hits a one run every time we have been here. The room is clean, bed comfortable and views are awesome of the bay. You have to stay here if your in town

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view or facing west. Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had booked in at the Grand Hyatt as we had to fly home the next day, and what a lovely evening it was! Apart from the great service, the complimentary shuttle (hard to come by in England!) to the airport and the very calm atmosphere beside the bay (despite being near the airport).. The thing that stood out the most was the dinner on the top floor; an evening of beautiful seafood, and an incredible view with the window seat and balcony.. this place certainly did not disappoint.

The swimming pool was small, but hygienic and if I had to be picky, I didn't know where the jacousi switch was or the temperature gauge, so I ended up like a lobster! But that's just pedantic so ignore that.

The room was very nice, we had a luxury double which was very comfortable.. The room service was incredibly prompt. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt Tampa!

Room Tip: Get a bay side viewing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello John G,

Thank you for going out of your way to share your experience from your most recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We are thrilled your stay was overall a great experience and relaxing before your flight home. We are delighted you were able to take advantage of our food and beverage outlets and receive excellent service throughout our hotel. We will be sure to recognize our staff for the quality of service they provided to you and your family. Once again, thank you for the positive comments and we hope you will join us again on your next visit to Tampa Bay.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Family Hotel in Tampa
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#13 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.