We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #13 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was not our first stay and again we were not disappointed. We knew the property was undergoing renovations, so that was not a problem. Front desk service was great as well as housekeeping. All our needs were met. Beautiful views from our room. Enjoyed the pool one afternoon, but thought the hot tub was a bit too hot for Florida in August. Will definitely return on our next visit to the Tampa area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi cb628,

Thank you for going out of your way to provide feedback about your return visit to our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time at our property. Our employees will be recognized for their wonderful customer service. It is great that you were able to take time out of your day to relax by the pool. It will be my pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Tampa.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

933 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    487
    306
    88
    36
    16
See reviews for
167
268
69
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater Fl
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel has a hotel side and a resort side. I have stayed at both but my favorite is the resort side. Stayed in a casita suite. A gorgeous split level home with mini kitchen and great water views.
The service here is some of the best Ihave ever had. From front desk to room service to the beat rrestaurants around this is a property you will not want to leave.
trust me..stay here$

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
I really appreciate your continued loyalty and choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay as your go to property. It sounds like you had another fantastic experience. I am thrilled you found the Casita suite to be exceptional. Your kind words and recommendation are our biggest compliment. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

It is not downtown, but near the airport and certainly near malls and great food. Service is awesome, the staff hits a one run every time we have been here. The room is clean, bed comfortable and views are awesome of the bay. You have to stay here if your in town

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view or facing west. Higher floors are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had booked in at the Grand Hyatt as we had to fly home the next day, and what a lovely evening it was! Apart from the great service, the complimentary shuttle (hard to come by in England!) to the airport and the very calm atmosphere beside the bay (despite being near the airport).. The thing that stood out the most was the dinner on the top floor; an evening of beautiful seafood, and an incredible view with the window seat and balcony.. this place certainly did not disappoint.

The swimming pool was small, but hygienic and if I had to be picky, I didn't know where the jacousi switch was or the temperature gauge, so I ended up like a lobster! But that's just pedantic so ignore that.

The room was very nice, we had a luxury double which was very comfortable.. The room service was incredibly prompt. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt Tampa!

Room Tip: Get a bay side viewing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello John G,

Thank you for going out of your way to share your experience from your most recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We are thrilled your stay was overall a great experience and relaxing before your flight home. We are delighted you were able to take advantage of our food and beverage outlets and receive excellent service throughout our hotel. We will be sure to recognize our staff for the quality of service they provided to you and your family. Once again, thank you for the positive comments and we hope you will join us again on your next visit to Tampa Bay.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What sets aside this hotel is the genuine warmth of the staff. From Briana at the check in to Lila at the breakfast to Iliana (sp?) who found an envelope I had left behind and mailed it to me, I cannot say more about their desire to go above and beyond. Whenever I have business in the Orlando area, I stay here and drive rather than stay at the Orlando Airport Hyatt (also very good).

Room Tip: Choose a bay view room. BTW, i checked breakfast as average/very good in terms of the items one get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Hi BusinessTravelerOH51,

Thank you for going out of your way to provide feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the fantastic service provided by our employees. We take great pride with your comments about our friendly staff members. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next visit to the Tampa area.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have stayed at The Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the past and have always found the service to be excellent, but the facilities lacking some. We were very pleasantly surprised this weekend to have found that they have remodeled their rooms and public spaces. HUGE improvement. It is as we were staying in a totally different hotel. The rooms were beautiful and the technology available for connectivity was greatly appreciated. This continues to be a business class hotel and does not offer resort amenities, however; we would again, most definitely recommend a stay in these beautiful rooms. Thanks again for all the personal touches.

Room Tip: Ask for a bayview room, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We decided to stay here one night to visit Busch Gardens before heading to the beach. We checked in around midnight. The gentleman, I believe he name was Jason, was very friendly and helpful. The valet was great as well. It was nice to be greeted with such friendly staff after a long road trip.
The room was clean. The beds were very comfortable. The only small complaint I had was that the shower did not drain, which is obnoxious but not a big deal IMO. I let the front desk know so they could repair it for the next guest. They thanked me for informing them, & were very apologetic.
I was definitely pleased with the hotel & staff. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#6 Green Hotel in Tampa
#9 Family Hotel in Tampa
#14 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.