We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring training while staying at the Grand Hyatt in Tampa Bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Spring training while staying at the Grand Hyatt in Tampa Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt in Tampa Bay while planning to attend 4 Yankee spring training games. The hotel was barely 5 miles away from Tampa airport, so we got there quickly, parked in the parking garage and checked in. When I made the reservations, I booked a king bed room with an upgrade to bay view if available for $12/night. Fortunately it was available, so we checked in to room 620 which had a beautiful view of Old Tampa Bay.

When evening came, we realized that there was a noise issue so I called the front desk and a gentleman from maintenance came up and said it was the service elevator noise (he knew exactly and immediately what the problem was - seems like he had identified it many times before!). We tried to change rooms but the hotel was sold out; however, the desk clerk said we could be moved tomorrow and he would comp our lunch from that day (I did not ask for any accommodation; he simply offered it). We were moved to room 1044 the next day which was quiet and clean and met our needs perfectly.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and included a hot and cold buffet.

We also used the gym which was adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    318
    91
    37
    18
See reviews for
172
286
71
254
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

From beginning to end this hotel was great! For the quick review just scroll down to the pro's and cons...My boyfriend and I decided to celebrate my 21st birthday with a nice little romantic getaway in Tampa. After researching different hotels we decided to give this one a try. At the time it was ranked #7 out of all the hotels in Tampa (but #1 in the area we were trying to stay in). Tampa is pretty big, I know because I use to live down there. We arrived at the hotel around 2am tired from driving from Panama City, Fl. Check-in was a breeze and a nice guy named David helped us. I had requested a corner room on a high floor. When we went up to our room the key would not work so I went down to talk to David. He got us new keys and also had another guy who worked there come up with us. Thankfully the keys worked. The room itself was very nice. Comfortable bed and pillows nice and soft. The shower was big. The hotel grounds were really nice. The view from the room was AMAZING. We were in room 1022. There was a huge wedding going on at our hotel but you were not bothered by any noise at all. Parking is great since its free! They also have Valet service. We were not able to eat at the hotel but down the causeway is a wonderful spot I have always loved called Bahama Breeze. I will definitely be staying at this hotel again! Loved it!

Pros:
Friendly staff
Clean
Huge Showers
Free Parking
Great Location
Amazing Grounds

Cons:
For once I can't complain

Room Tip: High floor and Corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Hi mela_monique!

Thank you for going into such detail with regards to your stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay! Happy belated birthday!! We appreciate you choosing our hotel for such a special occasion. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed everything with no complaints. David will be recognized for his excellent service provided. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pevensey East Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here for the last 2 nights of a 3 week vacation and glad we chose it. The hotel kindly upgraded us to a bay view with a corner window and the views were stunning. As this is a city/business hotel you don't expect to be able to relax as much as you would in a beach side hotel. But how wrong can you be. There is plenty of space to walk around, relax around a small pool and enjoy the wildlife. Would definitely use this hotel again for its proximity to Tampa airport. Food that we had was good and drinks reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade - you never know
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Nick&Jan,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback & your comments with regards to staying at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed the corner bay view guestroom. These provide our guests with some of the best water views. We are glad you could unwind & relax for two nights before your departing flight. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here for our anniversary. After checking in online, our room was ready around 2:00. Front desk was hospitable and welcoming. Room was very clean and presentable. Nice views from 10th floor bay room. Had some very expensive cocktails at Armani's and then a nice dinner at Oystercatcher's. Great service and buffet style breakfast the following morning at Petey Brown's. Took a relaxing walk along the nature trail after breakfast before checking out. Overall, a great experience. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi srqff80,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We appreciate you choosing our hotel to celebrate your special Anniversary. It is great that our employees went above & beyond to ensure your time with us was so memorable. We take pride with hearing our guests comment with regards to the delicious food you enjoyed at Oystercatcher's and Petey Brown's. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was here for 24 hours with a group of colleagues for an event we hosted in late May. Arrival and check-in were smooth, easy airport access, and option to self park right next to the hotel. Room was fantastic and had a nice view of the water, though I spent little time there. Super clean and very modern. On arrival the 5 of us wanted lunch in the lobby bar rather than leaving or going upstairs to their fancy restaurant, which left us thinking they were under staffed. Our waiter was was learning the new menu, mentioned making some of the drinks himself in a not totally reassuring way, and was clearly having to run our orders and plates someplace really far away or had a ton else to do. We weren't in a rush at all, but it took strangely long and meant he didn't clean up a spill (that he made) or clear our table before we left. Everything else went well, staff was helpful for both our events and small requests like shredding some documents, and the pool area was awesome and perfectly maintained and appointed, so we got some R&R in too!

Room Tip: Although if they're busy the water-view rooms might be hard to come by, it's worth asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stayed in a Casita for four nights, very quiet, very private and beautiful, but the room itself was extremely run down and needed renovation. There was also not a fridge in the room. The pool areas were great, fitness center one of the nicer I've seen, but the room condition caused me to leave with a bitter taste. Overall though, very nice property and I'll be back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Check in was efficient and friendly. We were upgraded to a bay view which was lovely and were able to use the executive lounge for canapés, soft drinks and also for breakfast which was a great perk. The room was spacious, clean and quiet with great views. The hotel is in a great position for the airport with a free shuttle to and from although we caught a cab which only $20. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would have been happy to stay longer

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. I am delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of our Club Lounge for canapés and breakfast. I’m glad you found your room to be so spacious and clean and that you enjoyed the bay view. Our proximity to the airport and complimentary shuttle service certainly is very convenient for our guests. I hope that we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Abrea H – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.