We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five store service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Five store service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The thing that impressed me most about the hotel is that every employee wants to give top notch service. There was not a soul who copped an attitude and furthermore everyone wanted to please. The service was on a par with five star resorts and we have stayed at a number of them. Anya and her team at the front desk were top notch and I can just go on about others at the hotel. The hotel is very pretty; I understand it was just renovated. We had a beautiful view of the bay from an 8th floor corner suite and it was just wonderful. The breakfast buffet was terrific and if I come back to Tampa I would love to stay here again. Although you are close to the airport, we didn't hear any planes and we really felt like we were not near one.

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear leslielena,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your comments are greatly appreciated with regards to the excellent service you experienced. Anya and her associates will be recognized. Our bay view rooms offer guests the best views in the area. We're glad you enjoyed the corner room with views extending out of the two large windows. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    326
    92
    37
    18
See reviews for
178
294
72
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here the night before an early morning flight home from spring break. the hotel is located just minutes from the airport. GPS made it very easy to locate. We found the grounds to be beautiful. Our room had a. beautiful view of the bay. Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed a quiet nights sleep. We will use this hotel again. The only complaint was no free WIFI. After staying all week in Lido Beach at a non chain hotel with free WIFI it is really unthinkable that a big chain still charges their guests for this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Don't let this hotel's proximity to the airport turn you away. I could see the planes landing from my room but the service and decor was excellent. There is a little artificial sandy area and 2 pools! the hammocks were very relaxing. I didn't stay in the little guest cabins but they looked nice from the outside. A convenient hotel that's close to the city.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. It is great to hear that you had a great experience and found the service and décor to be excellent. We do have two outdoor heated pools and a jacuzzi on property. This make for a very relaxing stay for those who wish to go for a swim or just hang out by the pool. I am glad our location was convenient for your travel. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Tampa!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. It is in a very convenient location. The restaurants within the hotel are fabulous and the view is wonderful. Very clean and comfortable. The exercise facility is very adequate for a good work out and very clean. Easy access to many of Tampa's sites and golf courses!

Room Tip: Request a room with a view or you may be looking at parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have a wonderful experience at our property. I am glad you were able to sample the restaurants on property. We have three restaurants that provide delicious food and fantastic service. It sounds like you enjoyed our complimentary fitness center. Your kind words are very much appreciated!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business travel. This year, I'm putting all of my hotel points eggs into the Hyatt basket and have stayed at a range of properties. When in Tampa for work, I used to stay at the Hyatt Regency Downtown Tampa. It was supremely convenient as I could walk to my work site. However, that property was recently purchased by Hilton, so my search began anew.

This property is very close to the airport, which made it convenient to get to after arriving late at night. That being said, the first time, it is a little difficult to get to, since you switch direction back and forth a few times after getting off the freeway. Once you do it the first time though, it's not too bad.

The view of the bay driving in is spectacular - it seems like you're driving at water level. The view from my room (329) was pretty uninspiring - the top of the garage. Not a big deal since I was there for work and was rarely in during the day when you could see anything anyways. I've read in other reviews that even numbered rooms are the way to go for a view.

The room itself was very spacious and you could tell they just renovated. It is classy and modern, but understated just enough as to not be obnoxious. Classy really is the best word. It seemed my room was previously an ADA room that was converted to a regular room (could still see holes in the shower walls where the accessibility bars were once bolted in. Contrary to some reviewers' photos, I had an old fashioned style tub with a shower curtain.

The A/C blew strong and cold, and surprisingly, the hotel WiFi signal was strong enough to allow for a pleasant browsing experience. Even managed to stream a little Netflix without too much trouble.

Didn't partake in any of the restaurants, but I read that they are top notch. Valet service was prompt, and I never waited long, even with a big event going on one evening upon my return from the office.

The only drawback I can note is that there is absolutely nothing around the area as far as other dining options, stores, etc, that I could find. It's basically in the middle of an office park off of the freeway. That turned my first night, late night hunger from a $15 room service burger (delicious by the way, even if the fries were a bit shoestringy and underwhelming) into over $30 when delivery charge and tip were added. I understand that hotel services are inherently pricier because you're paying for the convenience, but that was a bit off-putting. The turnaround was prompt though - about 15 minutes from my order to delivery.

Overall, I highly recommend this property - staff are very polite and helpful, the property is beautiful, and it made for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Alex B!

Thank you for providing such detail with regards to your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the modern amenities our rooms offer. The views of the bay around our hotel make staying with us quite the experience. Hyatt takes great pride with our employees offering great customer service. It will be our pleasure to have the opportunity to welcome you back with us. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel. It is located right on the bay in Tampa and has some amazing views. Our first room was a view of the parking garage. Inquired at the front desk if it was possible to change to a view and they were more than accommodating. We received another room promptly and the view did not disappoint. The have Armani's which is fine dinning. We did not eat here this time, but have before and it is very good (very expensive too, but very good) and has some amazing views. They also have Oystercatchers on the property which everyone raves about, but we have not tried it yet. The parking garage is a little tight if you have a SUV or big truck, but thankfully it was free!! AWESOME! The rooms were very spacious and clean. The shower was huge and loved it! We really enjoyed our stay here and all the staff we encountered were super helpful and friendly. They do offer valet parking as well. I think this would be a great place for a wedding too. Close to the Tampa International Airport, but you won't be bothered by the noise of the planes. They also have a complimentary shuttle to the airport and cruise port.

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear GunsandHosesTravel,

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your comments are greatly appreciated with our accommodating Front Desk associates. Hyatt takes great pride with this, and they will be recognized for the fantastic service provided. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for you to try Oystercatchers.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We came to the Grand Hyatt for an engagement party and had an amazing time! Everything was perfect and each person went beyond what was needed. The first night we arrived late with a sleeping toddler and the bellman was beyond helpful even sending up a cup of milk for her when she woke up. The pool away from the main hotel was SO SO SO nice! My toddler loved swimming in it then running over to play in the sand. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel one morning and on the second morning only the LO wanted to eat so they gave us a to go box and let her put what she wanted. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. The location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hi SDS112384!

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your comments with regards to our employees are greatly appreciated. It's great to hear how they went above & beyond the call to ensure you enjoyed your stay as our guest. The pool by the villas is one of my favorites. We're glad to hear how much your daughter liked playing in the sandy area. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Tampa.

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.