We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City View/Bay View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #3 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Titusville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“City View/Bay View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed the night at the Grand Hyatt the night before a Tampa Bay Bucs game with my boyfriend. We got a great deal on Priceline. I like that the hotel is nestled away off of the main road. Our room had a view of the city and we could see the stadium, but all it took was a walk to the other side of the hotel, and we got the nature side. The pool is smaller but very nice, and there are a few long board walks out through the mangroves that lead to a nice view of the bay, and a pavillion. If you take the long board walk, it leads you to a bar where they serve beer, oysters, etc. (not a part of the hotel I don't believe). We got lucky because by coincidence, the entire Buccaneers team stayed the night there as well before the game so they were crawling all over the hotel. Nice views :) I would stay again. Friendly staff, clean rooms, nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    367
    103
    38
    18
See reviews for
206
343
80
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indian Land, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 3 nights in late March. It's a very nice hotel but the amenities are limited. It's in an out of the way location but has a tremendous view of Tampa Bay. Upon check in we were greeted by Michael, he was wonderful, very helpful, pleasant and accomodating. We arrived early and the room wasn't ready, he suggested we go into the bar for lunch and that the room would be ready in about an hour and that we could come back to the desk then. About 20 minutes later he came into the bar with our room keys! What service, Thank you, Michael. The room and bath, were spotlessly clean, the view great, nice amenities. The bar is small, seemed understaffed for such a busy weekend. It was the NCAA's and the hotel was sold out for 2 nights as lots of Yankee fans were staying. We had breakfast 2 mornings in the dining room, there was a very long line, we waited at least 20-25 minutes to be seated. There was not coffee available till you sat down. The hostess was friendly, but it seemed that the people who clear up the tables were really overwhelmed, actually were a bit huffy. Since it is pretty much a buffett, it seems they would be able to rectify this issue. The last morning we ordered room service, it was great and the gentleman who brought it up was friendly. We would just do the continental bkfast (in room) next time. All in all it was a really nice time, also should mention free self parking. Only Con - PAYING FOR WIFI - this has got to stop, it's just silly, and to add insult to injury, I got an email that morning advising me to use e-self check out!! Also, go to the rooftop Armani's - really nice bar and GREAT food
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a quiet Tampa hotel

Room Tip: Spring for the Bay View
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. I am so glad that Michael was able to assist you with early check in and that he was so helpful in letting you know when your room was ready. Our breakfast buffet certainly is very popular and this does occasionally result in a bit of a wait for a table. Our in-room dining is certainly a good alternative to those not wishing to wait. Thank you for your suggestion regarding the charge for WIFI. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel for a future stay!

Abrea H. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

WE flew from NYC to Tampa for the weekend to attend a friends wedding. Hotwire sent me an email offering a 4star hotel in the Tampa area for a rate too good to pass up. What a lovely hotel! The rooms and all of the hotel facilities were spotless. The service was exceptional and all of the restaurants located on the premises were delicious! If I'm ever in the Tampa area again, I will be staying at the Grand Hyatt! Thank You for a wonderful time!!!

Room Tip: If your looking for a view you want an even room number. If your looking for a slightly more stunnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Maria D,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed the services and cleanliness of our hotel. We will be recognizing our staff members for the excellent customer service provided while you were our guest. It's great that you were able to enjoy delicious meals at Oystercatchers, Armani's and Petey Brown's. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Anna M. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been staying with the Hyatt regularly for many years, and have always been pleased. This time, we asked a question we should have asked, well, many years ago. We asked about the Casitas - little villa style rooms on a different part of the property. These are behind the main building, tucked into the lush, beautiful landscaping near Oystercatchers restaurant. The Casitas are GREAT! They have little pathways around the complex, a huge koi pond with waterfalls and a little bridge, lots of tropical plants and flowers everywhere, a pool, access to a private beach, and a boardwalk that goes to a small dock. From the dock, we saw several varieties of waterfowl, such as white egrets, pink spoonbills, herons, terns and yes, oystercatchers! We also saw several types of fish - some quite large. We didn't see any this time out, but we know from having dinner at Oystercatchers, there are dolphins that can frequently been seen in this little bay. Although the Casitas are close to both the expressway and the airport, the noise was not an issue for us. In fact, we had a much more relaxing evening here than we normally do in the main hotel. We would definitely recommend giving this little secret hide-away a try next time you're in the area, whether you are there with your family, for a romantic interlude, or on business. (Still has all the wifi, etc., as the main hotel...) Now we are wishing we had done this years ago, like when we were married on that little private beach at Oystercatchers!

Room Tip: Any of the Casitas look like they'd be great. Ask at the main desk - they have maps to show the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Julie P,

Thank you for going out of your way to write this review about our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay! I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our casitas. The koi pond and nature trails add to the guest experience. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and casitas very soon!

Anna M. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Super! Clean Convenient Updated. All employees from Food and beverage to guest Services could not have been nicer. The Valet and Bell staff were the fastest I have ever experienced. Loved the Decor. So new and Fresh. Plenty of outlets for charging multiple electronic devices. I would stay here again in a flash. Thank You Hyatt

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you found all of our staff to be so friendly and expedient. Our décor and multitude of electrical outlets are designed with our guests in mind and I am grateful that you appreciated them so much. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Tampa.

Abrea H. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxxxx
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was our 10 th Anniversary and we wanted something special but close to home and boy did we find it! This hotel is classy, customer service is amazing and I was so surprised by the room and the Anniversary gift. Dinner at Armani's was amazing as always, and breakfast in bed was part of the package, wow it was so good. Bedding impeccable and so so comfortable with privacy, and the corner suite overlooking the waterfront, we have been many places but were very impressed by this hotel. Thank you Grand Hyatt of Tampa!!!!

Room Tip: Get a package well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear ddavis1212,

Thank you so much for going out of your way to write a review about our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. I am so happy to hear that we were able to help make your 10th Anniversary a special experience! The Executive Chef will be receiving your comments in regards to the delicious food you enjoyed. Your referral is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Anna M. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This was our fist time staying at the grand hyatt and couldn't have been happier. We got free champagne for our mini-honeymoon we were on, flat screen TVs, fridge, coffee maker, a view of downtown tampa and a bathroom/shower to die for. We will deff be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Dcar777,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your delightful feedback about your recent stay with us. We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed our location for your mini Honeymoon celebration. It's great that our hotel was able to provide amenities you were able to take advantage of & enjoy during your stay. We hope to welcome you back for anniversary celebrations in the future!

Safe travels,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#5 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.