We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service with a smile... at a lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #13 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
North Massapequa, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service with a smile... at a lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

First off I must say that the staff at this hotel is great. Everyone and I do mean everyone was very friendly and helpful. So right off that alone makes a great stay at any hotel, but this hotel is also lovely.

I understand it was very recently renovated and you can tell because everything is in great shape and looks new. We stayed in the casita area of the hotel off the main building at the end of the nature trail. We had a casita suite which was very large and beautiful. It's a bi-level so there's a living area, dining area, bathroom and bar/kitchen on the first floor (kitchen has fridge, sink microwave) then the upper level has bedroom, large closet and large bathroom. And there a small outdoor patio. The casita area has a koi pond and a pool and beach, small but all very nice. I would definitely stay here again when in this area.

Here's a small tip though the location of this property is right off the airport (plane noise is not really a problem though) and because of that you are not within walking distance or quick travel to anything else. And I say quick travel because you are off a cloverleaf of the main highways, so going off property to get a quick bite or fill up your tank take at least 20-30 minutes. Those cloverleaves are a pain in the butt, you go round and round to get where you going.

But overall we loved it here... one of the nicer Hyatts I've stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    320
    91
    37
    18
See reviews for
172
289
72
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I want to tell you upfront that I am a Hyatt Platinum Member and they are my preferred hotels usually when I travel. And Grand Hyatt's in particular are splendid and from a physical plant standpoint this one in Tampa is as well. It is beautiful. But my trip here last week left a lot to be desired. A lot of it centers around the fact that they have a main building and then a 'casita village' about a five to eight minute walk away. Though lovely, these casitas are remote and you feel like you have been abandoned. They do have a shuttle to pick you up and take you back to the main hotel, but the service runs from spotty to just dont care leaving you with a feeling of being abandoned. Also there are not any amenities out by the casitas like a pool or place for breakfast, so you truly are just sort of stuck out there, one restaurant aside. But the rooms are very nice and updated and the buffet breakfast at Petey Browns was about as good as I have had (make sure it is part of your room package as it is pricey at $18.00 per person).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel. So much more convenient. I will never stay in the casita village a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a week and this hotel is very comfortable, clean, and the hospitality is great. Rooms are a good size with coffee, and refrigerator. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom had one sink and a large shower (no tub). Due to airline problems, we had to add and subtract rooms for our group and they were very nice about it. No charges. If you are in need of a business center, that is a problem. No business center. The concierge and front desk had to help us send a fax or use a printer. Food was very good except for the fact that the eggs were powdered. Order something where it requires a whole egg. Overall, the hotel is one of the best in the area except for two hiccups.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Had to stay one night at this hotel on business trip. Arrived rather late, almost at midnight. Be able to get full menu dinner at the bar. Service and food was superior!!
Room was with bay view, just breath taking. Room is extremely clean as well.
Breakfast in the morning more then you can ask for.
Highly recomend for business travelers. Special thanks to Michael -front desk personal for his hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am elated that you found the service and food in the lobby lounge to be excellent. I will be sure to let Michael know you found his service to be top notch. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. I look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just spent a week at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay and I can only say that I was underwhelmed. This is not to say that it was bad. It was actually a very nice resort. The grounds are beautiful. Everything is well manicured. There is a trio of restaurants, internet access for a fee, and plenty of parking (included with your stay). In general, the staff is very friendly.

So why not five stars? For starters, my room was not ready upon check-in. They took my cell phone number but after an hour of waiting, I lost patience and called. Magically, my room was ready. One can only guess that they forgot about me. So I began my stay pissed off.

Moving on, the room was on the small side but it was clean and had a beautiful view of Old Tampa Bay. On the downside, the coffee maker was missing parts and the tub drained very slowly. These are not the signs of a top flight resort.

There are two pools for guest use. The first pool is adjacent to the main lobby. Calling it small is an understatement. Then there is the second pool. This pool is a good five block wall down the resort's nature path. It is also small. However, a patio with hammocks and full service bar await the guest.

I really can't say much further. I based myself out of the Grand Hyatt while exploring the Gulf Coast and other parts of Florida. Every night I was happy to return. The location is great as you are literally two minutes from the airport.

I have high expectations when I travel. The Grand Hyatt was very good but the Ritz it was not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights in an upper floor bay view double room. The view of the bay and the room in general was very nice and well appointed. The grounds are very pretty and well maintained. The staff was accommodating.
The internet connection speed is very slow (Less than 2 MBPS) so if you're looking to remote connect ..... good luck. You can answer your emails with your smart phone. The bar service by the pool is practically non-existent (you get your drinks inside and serve yourself). They run out of towels frequently by the pool, also. Lastly, I had a pretty nasty omelet at Petey Brown's buffet restaurant one day but a good one the day before, so that shows some lack of consistency. I guess you either get lucky .... or you don't.
The property is convenient to the airport, complete with the airplane noise (although, to be fair, you don't hear it in your room on the bay side) and hotel is close to International Plaza and downtown Tampa and many great restaurants are close by, as is I275. Would I stay here again? No. However, having no experience with the other area hotels, this one may be the pick of the litter. Safe travels to all !

Room Tip: Request the Tampa Bay side for some nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We spent 1 night at this hotel and absolutely loved it! The room was clean and spacious. The pool was heated and was very nice. The staff went above and beyond to make sure your happy. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed walking around the trails and finding the other pool and beach area. The kids loved playing in the sand and walking down the piers. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Your kind words are greatly appreciated. I’m excited to hear you and your family had an excellent stay at our property. It sounds like you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I’m glad you enjoyed the grounds, finding them to be beautifully appointed. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#8 Family Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.