We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We spent 1 night at this hotel and absolutely loved it! The room was clean and spacious. The pool was heated and was very nice. The staff went above and beyond to make sure your happy. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed walking around the trails and finding the other pool and beach area. The kids loved playing in the sand and walking down the piers. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Your kind words are greatly appreciated. I’m excited to hear you and your family had an excellent stay at our property. It sounds like you found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I’m glad you enjoyed the grounds, finding them to be beautifully appointed. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    362
    101
    38
    18
See reviews for
198
333
76
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt Tampa for one night while the NJ Devils were in town to play the TB Lightning. The staff is not only incompetent but security is a joke. I was talking to my dad about how the devils lost and I got a knock on my room that I was being too loud. However, at 2 AM loud noises and screaming from the hallways and the wonderful security doesn't do a thing about it. Even after the hotels brags about their recent 16 million dollar renovation. The size of the bathroom looks like a small box. Not to mention the rooms are digustingly dirty. The housekeepers leave one towel and the people at the front desk have no clue. The rudeness and incompetence of the staff and the bathrooms being a joke as far as size hopefully will convince you to try the westin harbour island or any other hotel in the area. I will certainly never go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your candid feedback with us. It is very disappointing to learn that your stay at our property did not meet expectations. Please know that I have forwarded your comments to the management team regarding your experience with the staff. I am pleased that I was able to reach out to you to further understand the issues you encountered. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt so you can experience our true hospitality.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

From the moment I arrived the hotel staff were helpful and attentive. My Bayview King Rooom had a view to die for and the room was classy and comfy with decor ideal for male or female tastes. After a long day travelling to my destination I lay down for a short nap which ended six hours later. I was able to order a lovely meal at 1:55 am with delivery in only 20 minutes. By 3:00 am I was enjoying the heated pool and hottub. Aside from two raccoons keeping me company I was the only two legged creature. The pool and hottub were warm and clean. The pool deck needed to be cleared of the odd towel, cocktail napkin and beer cap from earlier guests but I suspect at first light the pool deck will be spotless. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Grand Hyatt in Westshore was always good with its excellent restaurants, Armani and Oyster Catchers and I have been staying or eating there or both since it first opened. Perhaps the restaurants arnt quite as special as when they first opened say 20 years ago or more and theres no longer, at this moment, the superb buffet lunch they used to provide in the main dining room. I have recommended many over the years to stay here for the great views and great hospitality and choice of restaurants and my european friends in particular have loved the place. BUT now its better than ever or at least the rooms and the great team running the place are. Management and marketing are doing a superb job. The newly decorated rooms are great and quiet and the staff are fabulous. Everyone is really trying here . The views are the same fabulous ones they always were but the newly decorated rooms are bang up to date and modern in style and very comfortable and the staff will go to every length to make you feel welcome and at home. Stay here and you can be assured you are getting some of the best hospitality available in Tampa Bay..............and not just that businessmens chain hotel vibe..... now a good hotel being made better than it when it was new

Room Tip: Bayviews have great sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed in a casita at this hotel and while the property and the room was beautiful, the noise of the planes taking off at Tampa airport was very loud! We ate breakfast at the hotel which was a distance away...there is a little path to the hotel. Overall, it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

A grand gem on the water in Tampa. Having lived and worked in Tampa before, there is no greater getaway from traveling or work than to arrive at this property. Walk paths to the bay or suites away from the hotel, this property has everything to offer world class travelers and families.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I really appreciate you sharing feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. I’m thrilled you found our hotel to be beautifully appointed. Your recommendation is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Love the renovation! The last time we stayed her was pre room reno - WOW! The rooms are clean, beautiful and modern. Their new key system is cool because you cannot de-magnetize them.

We had a bit of a hitch with our door lock around 9:45p and were locked out for about an hour. The hotel responded quickly with concern. They gave us drinks an breakfast for the inconvenience. They handled it very well. Kudos!

Do not waste your time or money at the extremely underwhelming and overpriced Oystercatchers restaurant on property.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#1 Family Hotel in Tampa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#8 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.