We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting; great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #16 of 158 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting; great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The hotel is grand, buy isolated. Unless you plan to stay on the premises, which wb easy and desirable to do, you need a car to get anywhere
Lovely little boardwalk thru the nature preserve to another part of the compound. Great restaurants too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

866 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    295
    82
    36
    16
See reviews for
154
234
68
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, VA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It's so easy to rate a hotel when everything goes well from the beginning--lovely reception, easy check-in, an unexpected upgrade, a room that looks so much better than it did online. But, what happens when things don't start out so well? That's when you know EXACTLY what kind of hotel/corporation with whom you are dealing. I'm not a big fan of chain hotels. My husband and I prefer those secret places that have yet to be discovered. Yet, four of the last six years when we've returned to Tampa for Yankee spring training, we've stayed at the Grand Hyatt. We always look forward to spacious, clean accommodations, quick and efficient service from check-in to check-out, an occasional upgrade, friendly staff and just the peace of mind that comes from being part of familiar surroundings. This week, our run of luck nearly came to a screeching halt. We checked in late afternoon and we're assigned the room we had requested. We were escorted by a member of the Bell Staff to our premier room with a bay view. As soon as she had left the room we discovered a dirty diaper staring at us from a trash can in the middle of the room. My husband returned to the Front Desk, alerted them to the situation and within ten minutes we had been escorted by a Head Housekeeper to a lovely corner suite on the same floor, complete with added hotel benefits, apologized to ad nauseum, and assured if there was anything they could do for us to be sure to let them know. Now, that's real five star treatment. Among those who went above and beyond we thank Justin (Front Desk), Head of Housekeeping, Steven (Club Lounge) who opened a few minutes early to quench our thirsts, and the entire car Valet Staff who were at the top of their game regardless of the time of day.
Baseball gods willing, we will return to Tampa next March and we can't wait to spend what time we have "off the baseball diamond" at the Grand Hyatt Tampa and would encourage anyone traveling in the area to do the same.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind review of Grand Hyatt Tampa. I am so happy to hear we were able to turn your negative experience around in a timely manner. Please know your glowing comments have be forwarded to the executive management team so our employees may be properly recognized. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! - Ryan, Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has stunning views of Tampa Bay!!! Just checked out today. I stayed here for one week while I was in Tampa for a business conference in downtown Tampa. The hotel is located directly on the bay. It is also very close to the airport, and provides a free shuttle to the airport every 30 minutes. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to two local shopping malls. It has 3-4 on-site restaurants. They are all delicious!!! Fitness center is very nice. Beds are comfortable. Room service and concierge go out of there way to make guests feel welcome. Very clean!!!
It is a little drive to downtown which made it a little inconvenient for us, but that really isn't the hotels fault.
Would stay here again if visiting Tampa.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to review the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It gives us great pride to read such kind comments of our hotel. It is great to know that our guests really enjoy the shuttle services to local attractions. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! - Ryan, Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great location off Hwy 60 W towards beach about 5 miles from downtown. Safe for walking along
Causeway for around the hotel. Full service..do not have to leave if you want to relax. Oystercatchers restaurant, full bar/lounge, pool, separate buffet area for breakfast.
Rooms very nice with contemporary styling..hwy side cheaper and quite..water side for view.
check in slow during season but concierge desk vey helpful with local information.
Free parking Garage, valet service $12.00/da. Near International Shopping plaza...

Room Tip: Water side for view...hwy side quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hi journalist2!

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It's great to hear how well our location worked for your travel. Our concierge desk will be recognized for the helpful service provided. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Tampa.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

dropped our car off and enjoyed a great preflight stay at this hotel! Pool area really nice make sure you go over to the casida pool!! Dining at the Oyster really nice dining overlooking the Bay
they have a shuttle if you want to go to international or westshore Mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great view of Tampa Bay but nothing within walking distance. The rooms are ultra contemporary and very well maintained. Staff is extremely attentive. Fitness center is large and up to date. It has about 6 cardio machines, 6 universal type machines, and dumbbells up to 50 lbs. Hotel has one bar inside and a seasonal tiki/pool bar outside. Lobby is impressive. Beds are very comfortable. The commode in our bathroom was too close to the wall. This may be due to our third party booking (Hotwire). The business center computer and printer were not complimentary which I thought was unusual for a higher end hotel. Shower curtain dragged on tub floor which lent to an unsanitary atmosphere. Should have been installed at a greater height.
Overall, I would stay again only at a bargain price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here a few times previously and it was always a fabulous place to stay. This trip was even better than the previous ones since the hotel has been refurbished and the rooms are gorgeous. The beds are so comfortable and the pillows are the best. The stafff is probably the best we have ever encountered in any hotel or resort we have stayed at and there have been quite a lot of places. All the staff and the manager of this hotel should be commended for going above and beyond to make the guests stay fabulous. All other hotels in and out of the Hyatt Brand should learn from this staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello LeisureTraveler11!

Thank you for your continued patronage of our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay! Your feedback & comments are greatly appreciated. Our employees will be recognized for the great customer service provided during your visits. Hyatt takes great pride with this. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Hyatt Tampa
Tampa Hyatt
Grand Hyatt Tampa
Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#10 Family Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, TIG Global and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list