We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice digs for a business meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #11 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Herndon, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice digs for a business meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a conference at which I was a presenter last spring. Everything about the hotel was accommodating, comfortable, and just plain easy. I used the business center several times with no problem -- high-speed internet, printers, all I needed for work. The conference rooms were spacious, well-outfitted with audiovisual and other equipment, and comfortable for both large-group sessions and breakouts. My personal room was very comfortable, quiet, and conducive to both rest and getting work done. The pool was lovely, the food was quite good, and the common sitting areas very nice for just relaxing and watching people. Every person who helped me -- during check-in and -out, when I needed a parking pass, when I needed advice on a local shopping mall -- was courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel both for business and for pleasure, and kudos to the management for keeping the place spotlessly clean and in very nice condition.

Room Tip: I stayed on an upper floor and had absolute peace and quiet. Maybe that's the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    326
    92
    37
    18
See reviews for
178
294
72
265
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Situated on approximately 35 acres of bay front park like property this recently renovated hotel offers all the amenities of a fine hotel. Booked to host a reunion, we had a hospitality suite, a block of rooms reserved for our group with breakfast and Internet services included. It is close to the airport but not on the glide path, so noise isn't an issue. Armani's is a lovely fine dining restaurant on the top floor with a deck and superb views of the waterfront and surrounding area. There are a couple of other places to eat right off the lobby. An elevated boardwalk allows the guest to walk the grounds in comfort. There are casitas available and another restaurant located right, on the bay. An added feature is a gazebo accessible by using the boardwalk where you could relax with a beverage while taking in the view. Of course there are is a pool , spa and fitness center. The only reason for not giving this hotel a 5 star rating is because the blankets used on the beds are very worn and should have been discarded during the renovation process.

Room Tip: Choose bay view or bay front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Fl
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

When I needed a getaway but didn't care to leave the Bay Area I chose this place for a three night stay in a Casita Suite. The Casitas, and Casita suites are located on the resort hide of the hotel which is a good length away from the main building which you can get to by shuttle or by taking the scenic boardwalk (Hint...if you're checking in take the shuttle...those little suitcase rollers on the boardwalk were not condusive to speed)

The Suite itself was gorgeous. Two levels, french doors opening to the bay, a large glass shower, mini kitchen with wine refrigerater as well as regular mini frig, a view from the upstairs bedroom to kill for!

Outside the front door were koi ponds and lovely grounds along with a private walkway that led to a private beach, pool area and large docking area for your boat.

Upon check in I received a bottle of wine with cheeses and fruits and had plenty for two evening worth of snacks before heading out for dinner. They have Armani's restaurant as well as Oystercatchers here (See seperate reviews) which are both lovely in themselves.

Room service was prompt and delicious. Maids were unseen and efficient.

The only issue I had was when I decided to stay an extra night the front desk clerk told me they were "fully committed" so I went online and booked a casita room no issue. I then called the front desk and spoke to same person who stated "someone must have cancelled" I requested to be upgraded to Casita Suite and to stay in the same room I was in. Her reply? "Of course for $150 more per night" Not an issue,my issue is why the games? She coudl have very easily rebooked the same room for me without jumping through hoops. At the $500 price range per night I expect more than that.

Everything else was terrific and I would stay again in a New York Minute

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and thoughtful review of the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Great customer service mixed with well kept grounds, and beautifully appointed guest rooms can make for the most enjoyable stay possible. We do apologize for any confusion regarding extending your reservations. We will be sure to follow up with our Front Office staff regarding your concerns. We hope to welcome you back again soon! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Service is the name of the game at this Tampa hotel. Great location right near the airport and excellent rooms and facilities in the main hotel. Probably stayed here 20 times in the last 10 years and everything is always top notch. Two great restaurants on site, work out facility great and I cant say enough good things about the Hyatt staff.

I will say that on my last visit, I decided to try one of the casitas, which are located in a separate facility about 1/4 mile from the main hotel, right near Oystercatchers (an awesome restaurant fyi). Casitas are one bedroom suites with patios and while I really enjoyed the privacy, a word of warning for light sleepers, they are right below the main take off path from the Tampa airport and you really hear the planes starting at 5 am. Never had that problem in the main hotel so while I enjoyed the casitas and am staying at the Hyatt again next week, this time I'll be back in the main hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the Casitas if you want to sleep; While they are awesome and private; they are directly on one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Location was great - close to Steinbrenner Field restaurants on the water easy freeway and airport access - rooms were very nice and affordable - value parking a little congested - would probably use self park next time but over all very nice hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review of the Grand Hyatt Tampa. It is always nice to know that our efforts of overall guest satisfaction are paying off. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! - Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful, well managed hotel. Service was great right from the moment we pulled up. Bellman explained everything and brought ice to our room. Room service saw that we had wine and offered to bring us a pair of wine glasses! Room is beautiful and comfortable, but not unlike most hotels the bed is a little too firm. Also, free self parking!! Overall, great deal for $150/night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our property. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. It sounds like you found the service to be great from the moment you arrived. I hope that we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay in the near future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night so I could not tell you about everything. This hotel is in a very good and safe location. I got a mililtary discount so I ended up paying $112 for a night!!! Right near the airport. The staff was very friendly. My room had a wet spot in the corner of the room. Internet is not free which is a major inconvenience. TV was not set up in HD (supposed to be a 4 star hotel so tv has to be up to date). Beautiful skyline view of the airport, highway, and surrounding body of water. The room does not have a fridge. Beds are extremely comfortable, soft, and allows a person to get to sleep well. Has nice nature and palm trees on the inside and outside of the hotel. The lobby is huge and vast, comfortable to sit and relax for a little bit. Multi level parking lot which is free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#4 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, AAA Travel Services, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.