We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views and impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Save Saved
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vero Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second stay at this property. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Grand Hyatt the night before a cruise. Our room was immaculate and the view perfect. The front desk staff and concierge services were impeccable. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Also would recommend dining at Armani's. The anti pasta bar is amazing and the service excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. It's always great to hear what keeps our guests coming back. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff. Your recommendation is our highest reward. We look forward to your next stay.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    317
    91
    37
    18
See reviews for
171
286
70
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Date of Stay: Friday, 1/11/13 - Saturday, 1/12/13
Length of Stay: 1 Night

In a nutshell, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay is truly the best property in Tampa Bay, offering fully renovated rooms and providing top-notch customer service, combined with excellent views of the Tampa Bay -- you absolutely must stay here the next time that you are in Tampa!

Now, for my detailed review:

First, I just want to say that this review adds to all of the truly excellent things that I have had to say about this property in my prior reviews:

1) “Yet Again, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Provided AMAZING Service!!” - February 13, 2012
2) “Yet Another Wonderful Stay at a Truly Beautiful Property!!” - June 22, 2011
3) “An AMAZING Hotel in a Perfect Location - Quite the Weekend Paradise!” - September 13, 2010

For even more detailed information on this property, I suggest that you view those prior reviews.

Since my prior reviews, this property has undergone a complete and total renovation; and, after spending almost $16 Million, this property shines like it is brand new. The renovations have been absolutely amazing, and bring a truly modern feel to this grand hotel. All areas have been renovated, including newer and faster elevators, fresh and updated elevator lobbies, modern and inviting hallways, and truly beautiful and fully refreshed rooms. This is one of the most comprehensive renovations that I have ever seen, with rooms being completely re-imagined; if you have not recently stayed at this property, you absolutely must come back and I promise you that you will be amazed at what has been done.

My wife and I stay at this property at least once a month, and we could not be happier with the renovations! This property serves as a true "home away from home" when we want to get away. It is in the perfect location to just get away and relax, with easy access and free shuttle service to both the airport and International Mall. The property is within minutes of beautiful Gulf Beaches, and is a very short drive to such local attractions as the Clearwater Marine Aquarium, Busch Gardens and the Lowry Park Zoo. So, as you can see, there is plenty to do when staying at this property; but, you may not want to ever leave, as this property offers two absolutely wonderful and relaxing pools that one can just sit by and relax all day long. I promise that you will not be disappointed by the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay!

A tip is to spend a little extra money and book a Bay View Category Room; this property is situated with absolutely amazing views of the Tampa Bay, in addition to truly beautiful sunsets. It is most definitely worth the money to book a Bay View Category Room; a tip, ask for a high floor for the best view. Also, this property has some of the best Suites in the area, so if you want to truly spoil yourself, definitely book a Suite!

On this trip, my wife and I had booked a "Premium Suite" which is located on the top few floors, on the corner of the hotel, with both sides of the room facing Tampa Bay. This is a new Category of Suite for this property; a few rooms were combined into one during the renovation to make a truly amazing Suite. Upon entry, you are in a large entry hallway; to the right is a beautiful and fully renovated marble bathroom and to the left is the entry into a large parlor/sitting area. This sitting area is equipped with a HD-television, a large working desk, and an extremely comfortable couch and chair. But, what makes this type of room absolutely amazing is the floor-to-ceiling windows on both exterior walls -- this wall of windows gives you one of the best sunset and bay views in the area. Then, off to the right is a pocket-door, granting entry into a well appointed bedroom featuring another HD-television, a comfortable chair/ottoman, and an extremely wonderful Hyatt Grand Bed. All-in-all, a truly excellent new Suite that I would highly recommend to anyone.

And, one cannot forget the dining at this property. For Breakfast, Petey Brown's offers what is one of the best hotel breakfast buffets in the area. For a reasonable price, one can chose from either a Continental or a Full Hot Buffet that cannot be beat. The Lobby Bar also offers excellent meal selections for lunch and dinner, as well as truly heavenly drinks. And, one cannot forget the luxury of both Oystercatchers and Armani's! I can promise that you will never go hungry at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay!

For your reference, I have attached numerous photos to this review, to include photos of the room that we stayed in, as well as the renovated hallways and the truly beautiful main pool.

All-in-all, the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay continues to shine; post-renovation, it is truly the best hotel in the Tampa Bay Area. For your next trip to Tampa, this is the only hotel that you should consider!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and book a Bay View Room, as it is truly worth the money!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We're thrilled you loved our newly renovated hotel. We always love to hear what keeps you coming back to our hotel. We're pleased you enjoyed the Premium Suite. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We missed our flight due to fog and had to stay over. We are glad we selected the Grand Hyatt. The service was excellent from the time we checked in to the time we left the next morning. David with Guest Services was exceptional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay for your recent visit to Tampa. It’s great to read that you found the service to be excellent from the time you arrived until the time you departed. I will be sure to share your kind words with David letting him know you found his service to be exceptional. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We called the Grand Hyatt, told them we would be arriving exhausted and asked if there were accommodations in close proximity to the pool so we could spend an evening simply relaxing in the pool. We were told we could book a casita by the private pool that would be a few walking steps away from our door. It sounded perfect for what we wanted so we booked the reservation. Upon arrival at the hotel a few hours later, we were informed that although we would be given a casita by the pool as promised, we would not be able to swim there because the pool would be closed for the evening for a private event. We explained we had chosen the hotel because we had been told we would have easy access to a pool from our casita. The woman at reception seemed unconcerned and informed us there was another pool we could use that we could access by shuttle across the resort from us but no rooms were available near it. We were disappointed and frustrated, but we were exhausted and decided we'd relax in our room and get caught up on work so we checked in anyway. Once there, however, internet in our casita kept logging us off, although it worked well some of the time. Room service in the evening worked well so we decided to take breakfast in our room before leaving for the airport in the morning. We ordered breakfast to be brought to our casita the following morning for 8am-8:30am and it never arrived. We were eventually told they had no record of our order (even though we had called to confirm it had been received), and we had to leave for the airport without eating. On checkout, we expressed our disappointment with our experience there and Hyatt took 50% off our total bill for the mix-ups, which we appreciate. The hotel is a lovely property, close to the airport, and the staff is very friendly, but I would caution guests who go there for leisure or to use the pool, to confirm in advance the pool(s) will be open and not closed for an event. Views are obstructed from the casitas and there are mosquitos there which made sitting on the deck outside the casita uncomfortable in the evening. If you want a great view or to leave your doors open, I recommend you consider a higher floor facing the water in the main building of the resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors in the main building facing the water will insure a nicer view and less chance of mosq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I was flying out of Tampa so I needed a hotel close to the airport. The hotel is away from any restaurants or shops so you will need a car to get around Tampa. The rooms have a very fresh and contemporary look to them. Everything is in impeccable condition.

One of the features that I appreciated was the work desk with the multiple power ports. I was able to power my laptop, charge my phone and charge my MiFi devices at the same time. The bathroom was spotless. There is no tub, just a walk-in shower which was what I prefer. The bathroom was also stocked with toothpaste and a few other toiletries. Sleeping on the bed was quite pleasant. The mattress had the perfect amount of support without being firm. Overall this hotel can work for both business travelers and tourists.

I do recommend going to Armani's on the 14th floor, the view is amazing. The restaurant has a formal dining area as well as tables with a view and an outdoor seating area. I got there on a weekday in the early evening and they were having happy hour so you can also go there to unwind.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Tampa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're thrilled to hear you loved our newly renovated hotel. We're delighted you were able to try Armani's as this is a guest favored restaurant. Your recommendation is our highest compliment. We look forward to your next visit.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Stay here and eat at Armani's - the food is amazing and so is the staff.
Rooms are nice, clean and very pretty. Staff is helpful & friendly, always willing to give out advice on the area.
Also children friendly - so is the restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear KC P:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Our Chef at Armani's will be recognized for the delicious food prepared. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at the newly renovated Grand Hyatt in Tampa during the Christmas Holidays and had the best time ever, since I started staying there in 2009. The some rooms have been updated to suites with incredible views and strikingly beautiful appointed furnishing. My boyfriend commented that the room was larger than his apartment. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, everyone from the front desk to the maid service was excellent. Oystercatcher is the restaurant on the property and it is fantastic. I have eaten there several times and have never had a bad meal. The view from the restaurant is breath taking as well. The hotel is in a great location to easily get to Clearwater beach and St. Petersburg. You will not be disappointed with your stay there. I plan to go back for my birthday in March.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear hsy25501:

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It's great to hear how much you enjoyed our recently renovated rooms. Our front desk associates & housekeeping staff will be recognized for the fantastic customer service. Hyatt takes great pride with this, and your comments are greatly appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again. Your referral is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#5 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Family Hotel in Tampa
#15 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelsClick, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.