We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with large rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay to your Saves list
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #6 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
usa
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great hotel with large rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were very pleased with this hotel. It is very clean and the rooms seem to have been recently refurbished. Beautiful decor and very spacious rooms with ample work space and conveniently placed electrical outlets. The hotel is also very quiet and room darkening drapes. Nice toiletries and coffee/tea maker in the room. The food was good and the service was very nice. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a stay in Tampa.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear UsaJules:

We appreciate you going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your comments are greatly appreciated with regards to how much you enjoyed our recent refurbishment. Our guests seem to really enjoy the new look of our hotel. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back with us.

Safe travels!

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    361
    101
    38
    18
See reviews for
198
330
76
318
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyons Falls, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The staff was wonderful, very helpful and the room was spectacular and very very clean. I almost want to live here. I would definitely stay here again! I was having such a bad day after flying in to Tampa airport (4 hours in the terminal) and the staff made me feel welcome, and put a smile on my face. It was very nice to see people who really enjoyed their jobs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear ReneeGourmet:

Thank you for taking a moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our hotel! We're glad that you enjoyed your clean room with the great view. Hyatt takes pride with our associates offering the best customer service. We'll make sure they are recognized for their tremendous efforts.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is by far my favorite hotel in the Tampa area. Views of the bay are excellent. Rooms are recently renovated and very comfortable. Restaurants are great, especially Oyster Catchers. Service is top notch on all levels. Close to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were part of a wedding group and had a wonderful stay. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The views were beautiful, the only drawback being there are no balconies and you are not able to open a window. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was convenient to the airport and shopping. There are two malls near by. The better of the two is the International Mall. The wedding reception was held at the hotel. The food was fabulous! There were two receptions being held on the same night but it was no problem whatsoever. You would have never known.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear janfromtoledo:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent experience at our Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. Your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms & the great views are greatly appreciated. Our employees will be recognized for the great customer service offered during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to the area!

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I just came back from visiting the Grand Hyatt for four days and all I can say is wonderful. The staff was very courteous and professional, every need was met, the rooms are gorgeous (get a Bayview room), the Bayside pool was very nice and I was the only one over there and it is very private. I celebrated my birthday there and had a wonderful dinner at the Oyster Catchers which is a part of this wonderful hotel.... My experience was a 5 star. Special thanks to Anja who checked me in, thanks to Noah and Bill who worked the lounge bar, Noah was very gracious and helped me celebrate my birthday and introduced me to a lot of folks there. Had a great time, will visit again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
It’s fantastic to read that you had such a wonderful stay at our property. I am excited that you found the staff to be very courteous and professional. I will be sure to let Anja, Noah, and Bill know that you found their service to be very friendly and helpful. We have a great staff that wants to ensure all of our guests needs are met. Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday at our property. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. We can’t wait to welcome you back on your next visit to Tampa!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay hotel, outside of Tampa, but next to Tampa Bay. This luxury hotel has very nice rooms with great views to the Tampa Bay. It is very accessible by highways and next to the airport. Unless this location, rooms are very quiet, the hotel is situated in a nice green environment. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, e.g. waiting for our car outside the lobby, we were offered some refreshing water. We had dinner at the Oyster Catchers Restaurant which offers superior seafood, the restaurant can be reached by a shuttle bus, because it is situated in another building. Also the interior of the restaurant is a must and has a great view on Tampa Bay.

Valet parking is rather expensive

Room Tip: ask for rooms with bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed our hotel and the excellent bay views we offer. It's great to hear you enjoyed our famous Oyster Catcher restaurant. We hope to welcome you back to Hyatt in the future.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

After reading some of the earlier reviews, I contacted the hotel and asked to have the manager call me back. Crys call me back and gave me very clear information on exactly what renovation work was going on during the days that I would be at the hotel. Based upon his information, I booked the hotel and was extremely happy with both my room and the service that I received while I was there. I asked at the front desk about Oystercatchers and was immediately given a coupon for $25 off. It was raining that night and so the hotel staff suggested that they drive us over to the restaurant which is located on their property but a 7 minute walk from the main building. In addition, while we waited a few minutes for the shuttle, they gave us a glass of champagne which we brought along on the shuttle ride. I liked being able to self-park my car in the garage, and not have to pay a parking fee at all. When I showed up alone at breakfast, the waiter asked if I'd like a newspaper and then went to get me one gratis. People were extremely friendly from start to finish. I'm not sure whether they were testing themselves for the upcoming convention but if so, they passed with flying colors. Oh yes, and when I asked Crys about the rather hefty internet charge, he said he'd waive it. When I got there, it was no problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. It is very rewarding to hear when our guests have an excellent stay. I will be sure to share your kind words to Chrys letting him know that you found his service to be top notch. It sounds like all your interactions with the staff were very positive. We want to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience while staying with us. Thank you for choosing Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay. We hope to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay

Address: 2900 Bayport Drive, Tampa, FL 33607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#2 Family Hotel in Tampa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#3 Green Hotel in Tampa
#7 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
445-deluxe guest room business resort hotel in a relaxed setting offering 45 Spanish-style villas, 23 suites, Hyatt Business Plan and exclusive Regency Club accommodations. We are the only 4-Diamond hotel in Tampa, located on a 35-acre wildlife preserve on the spectacular shores of Tampa Bay, conveniently located five minutes to Tampa International Airport and International Plaza mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay Hotel Tampa
Hyatt Tampa Bay
Tampa Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hyatt Tampa Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.