We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay, with a few quirks...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Military Family Rate
Ranked #26 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hattiesburg,
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good stay, with a few quirks...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton for business purposes. First impressions of the hotel were good. However, a few improvements might be needed. While the clerk at checkin was friendly and informed me about the free Wi-Fi package I received and my special request for pillows that should be taken care of, it would've been nice to get a little more information about the location of hotel amenities and anything interesting going on in the area. Also, despite the clerk's assurances about my pillow request, I still had to call down to housekeeping to get the right kind of pillows in the room. It took two calls and 30 minutes before I finally got them! Housekeeping could use some service improvements. The room was nice, but view wasn't so great. Bathrooms and closets were very small too. The bed felt comfortable, but I didn't sleep so well. Seems as though one side of the bed was sinking down a bit. Overall, I'd stay again, just would ask where amenities are, better views and ensure the correct pillows were there.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience. I am glad the first impression about the hotel was very good. I apologize for the pillows not being correct when you checked into the hotel. I will share your comments with the appropriate Managers to ensure this does not happen again. Please come back and try out the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    212
    84
    27
    17
See reviews for
83
115
21
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

High class hotel. Nice pool and hot tub. Great for convention weekends. Took care of my parking for free the day I needed to check out but still wanted to be in Tampa for the day. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about the hotel and your experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. The staff takes great pride at making sure every guest receives great service. Hope to see you again! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great amenities, internet speed was like no ever I ever experienced at a hotel. Rooms and property extremely clean. Used the pool, the bar and the food is very very good! Was there last year for a convention and the place was even better this time. Love this place!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. The staff and I are so happy that you enjoyed your stay while attending your convention. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
F. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Attended a conference at this hotel. The lobby is beautiful with Ipads and Macs and comfortable couches and modern furniture. Good, strong WiFi signal. The staff looked crisp and professional. I was always greeted with a smile. The breakfast buffet was delicous and offered good value. The convention space was nice and the location downtown was convenient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about the hotel. We are so glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We hope to see you back soon. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Spending a few days in Tampa and once again chose the Hilton Tampa Downtown. Recent renovations in the lobby and guest rooms have made this a very beautiful property. Bedding is clean and very comfortable. Suites are spacious with refrigerators and some have microwaves. The Presidential Suite is very nice, roomy, comfortable seating.
The staff at this hotel are some of the best I have encountered. From the first steps in, the valet/bellmen are friendly, helpful, and very polite. Great bar service always, food and drinks delicious, tasty, and beautifully served. We have stayed here several times and have never been disappointed by the great staff.

Room Tip: The recent renovations by Hilton have made this a very nice hotel- beautiful lobby/rooms and a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about your experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are so happy that you experienced what our goals are for customer service. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was there for a convention, one that has been held in the hotel previously. The staff was OUTSTANDING. From check in, to room service, to valet parking attendents - everyone was above and beyond. The room, well - the carpet was stained and that was a little nasty. The carpet in the halls looked the same way - a little worn. My major gripe was the escalator wasn't working. Going up was OK, but not coming down. That would normally be no big deal, but I never did find the stairs, nor did most folks. The wait for the elevator took forever with most people going down from floor 2 to the lobby level. The escaltor was down before thursday and still down oon Sunday. Not a good thing with a convention taking place. Drinks were weak also - just saying. Overall I had a good time and the staff more than made up for the dated carpet and weak adult beverages.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent experience at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are glad you enjoyed the wonderful customer service that our associates provide to all of our guests. We apologize for the down escalator not functioning. The hotel had to complete a major repair in order for it to work in the future. Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

After being hassled by security several times I felt the need to write this review. While trying to locate my lost cell phone ab security guard took the liberty to start asking me for my credentials rather than attempting to aide me in my search and recovery of my missing $700 phone which I wanted to avoid needing to misplace. After that I felt like everywhere I went security wanted to hassle me. Even while leaving on the am the security confused me with another guest that had been removed from property but no matter where I went I guess being black gets you profiled unreasonably in Tampa. Maybe I should have worn my uniform to receive better service. On top of already high prices and broken doors in my room and several general area services in need of repair this was definitely one of the worst stays I've ever had at a Hilton. The only positive about the whole stay was the waiting staff. Christie was saving grace of the whole establishment. Maybe you should hire someone with her customer service experience to train your security staff.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you so much for writing a review about your experience. I would be more than happy to discuss your comments over the phone. You may call me in my office @ 813-222-4960. There was a large convention in the hotel that required you to have credentials in certain areas. Glad you enjoyed the service from Christie in 211 Lounge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#17 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#18 Business Hotel in Tampa
#39 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.