We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Parking is a Nightmare” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & WiFi Package
Ranked #30 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Parking is a Nightmare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Initially I was placed in a handicapp room which needed to be changed and took forever. No parking available except for the public garage which charges you $9.50 per day. BEWARE - if you decide to leave the hotel for dinner etc. and then return to the parking garage, it's another daily rate charge. Ended up having to pay $19 per day to self park myself in a garage two blocks from the hotel. More signs need to be available to guide visitors from the garage through the Tampa City Center that then takes you to the Hilton. Very confusing . . . and to top it off, the valle told me to park in reserve at the parking garage which I then received a parking ticket for. I don't ever want to stay in that hotel again. Way to stressful to deal with all that.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    128
    49
    21
    12
See reviews for
52
71
13
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
largo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The bed at this hotel was amazing, the service was great and I will return again.... and again. I was greeted with respect and courtesy at the front desk. Because it was my anniversary, they provided my husband and I a bottle of wine complimentary. The only downside was the parking lot, though there was valet parking, the cost was a bit steep and I decided to use self parking, which was not efficient.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Generally the surroundings were great. The accommodation met expectations and was adequate. The proximity to other facilities enhanced the quality of the stay. Staff were helpful and did not hesitate to supply requested information.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for sharing your opinion about the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are glad the hotel met your expectations. Sounds like the surroundings around the hotel gave you plenty of opportunities to enjoy the great City of Tampa. I agree that there are plenty of things to do. We hope that you come back to Tampa and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel offers top notch accomodations, VERY clean rooms, comfortable beds, the best customer service AND shuttle service. Single woman with teenage daughter and we felt very safe staying downtown. Valet parking was reasonable, great pool and hottub, restaurant food was very good and willing to accomodate a restricted diet with NO problem. Excellent all around- would highly recommend and plan to stay at this location again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for writing a review about the hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience here at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We can't wait until you come back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is located in a perfect part of the city, close to some very good restaurants. I didn't experience any of the previous negative comments that have been left. The staff was nothing but top notch. Room was clean and well kept. I would, without hesitation, stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for writing a review about the hotel. The staff at the Hilton Tampa Downtown takes great pride at making sure every guest has an excellent stay. We are glad you were able to enjoy the beautiful City of Tampa. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Husband and I stayed overnight in this hotel prior to our cruise so we can go around Tampa.
We want to thank the front desk agent bec he let us check-in early (didn't get to get his name). We came from a very tiring flight from SFO. He is very polite and answered all our questions as first time visitors of Tampa.
The room and bathroom is nice and clean. Bedsheets, pillows and towels are crisp and clean. These are the important things you want in your hotel room. I just wish they offered complimentary bottled water in the room though they offer have infused lemon water at the lobby.
We tried the 211 lounge for dinner. The F&B manager seated us and made sure our dining experience was good. We ordered calamari, Cuban style sandwich (a must try!) and burger (had it to go bec got too full from the appetizer). And for dessert, we shared a slice of key lime pie, it was yummy!
Over all our stay our stay in this hotel was very good!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are so happy that you had a great stay before your cruise. Our Food and Beverage Department is top notch and takes pride in providing great service and good food. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Springfield Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I never worry about what the experience will be like because I have confidence that the Hilton standard will be met. If there is a problem it will be attended to and this trip just confirmed it. Total quality and excellence!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience. The Hilton Tampa Downtown is committed to making sure we make the Hilton Brand proud by providing total quality and excellence. We hope to see you again when in the Tampa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#18 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
#30 Spa Hotel in Tampa
#30 Luxury Hotel in Tampa
#48 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.