We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall pretty decent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & WiFi Package
Ranked #31 of 159 hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall pretty decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is mostly remodeled, and looks pretty nice. We stayed here over the holidays last year and the visit wasn't that great, but we stayed again in May and things seemed to have turned around.

Parking at the hotel is pretty expensive, and the valet service is awesome so it's probably worth it to spring for valet..
Tip: metered parking on the street downtown is free on the weekends in some places, so you can check that out..

The pool stays pretty cold until pretty late in the day, even when it's hot outside because the pool is in the shade of the hotel.

The hotel is pretty convenient to the highway, making it easily accessible.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    126
    48
    21
    12
See reviews for
48
69
13
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
gainesville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Tampa Hilton Downtown with a group of friends while in town to kickoff the July 4th weekend. It made a perfect jump-off point for our visit to the Seminole HardRock Casino. Staying at the Casino can be cost prohibitive. The Hilton was nice and close enough that a cab ride is affordable. We all had a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you so much for writing a review about the Hilton Tampa Downtown. We are glad you and your friends enjoyed the holiday weekend. If you come back to the Tampa area, please come back and stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELTONA, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

if you need a good night sleep this is not a hotel you want to stay at. hotel need to put their money in their room not their lobby. the valet staff is excellent no complains there. when you call for a request or a complaint it gets ignored I found myself calling several times and they had no clue I called before very poor communication the bell man that switch us from one room to another can testify of the noises

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent stay and for your posting on Trip Advisor. Your feedback regarding our products and services are certainly appreciated, and contribute to our effort to continuously improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

No one picked up dirty towels and replaced daily ,had to ask the help to get new and empty trash. Even though we had an extended stay we felt these courtesies should have been done daily. Employees were very cordial and helpful and have no complaints about them.


Room Tip: Must empty trash and provide clean towels and soap daily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor posting. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for what you experienced and reassure you that I will personally share this feedback with the appropriate individuals so that future guests don’t experience what you did. Again, Thank you for the opportunity to improve on the service that we offer. Please feel free to reach out directly to me should your travels bring you back to the Tampa area, randy.kuiken@hilton.com. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have fairly high expectations for business hotels. This hotel was average, but it did not impress. The conference facilities were above average, and the food and beverage service was well-done and tasted good. They never ran out of supplies and coffee. The conference rooms were nice, but the signage for the sessions could be improved. The hotel is where the average rating was earned. The room is fine. It was pretty clean and quiet, although the view wasn't great. When I say traveler-focused, I mean that the hotel strives to make the stay as easy as possible for the traveler. Things like not being able to control the temperature of the shower (no markings on the faucet and inconsistent temperature of the water), the iHome device that was not easy to use as a basic alarm, and an office chair with lots of settings with no instructions are examples of this deficiency. What really dropped this hotel from a 4-star to a 3-star for me was parking charges that were assessed inaccurately. I had a car for one night of a three night stay. I was charged for overnight parking even though I didn't actually keep my car overnight. And I was also charged for three nights instead of one. I had to wait in line at checkout for about 20 minutes to get this resolved. It wasn't a problem to get it off the bill, but a hotel with a goal of making things easy for the traveler would never auto charge parking based on the duration of the stay. It isn't a horrible hotel, but there are many newer hotels nearby that might be worth exploring, especially if you aren't staying for a conference on-site.

Room Tip: Away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor posting. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for what you experienced and reassure you that I will personally share this feedback with the appropriate individuals so that future guests don’t experience what you did. Again, Thank you for the opportunity to improve on the service that we offer. Please feel free to reach out directly to me should your travels bring you back to the Tampa area, randy.kuiken@hilton.com. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Was disappointd with the housekeeping and valet parking service...Had to ask for wash cloths and valet parking was very messy not enough staff to handle demand. Perhaps it's just not a great location for full house events.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor posting. I would like to apologize on behalf of everyone here at the hotel for what you experienced and reassure you that I will personally share this feedback with the appropriate individuals so that future guests don’t experience what you did. Again, Thank you for the opportunity to improve on the service that we offer. Please feel free to reach out directly to me should your travels bring you back to the Tampa area, randy.kuiken@hilton.com. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is In a very convenient location within walking distance of sights and good restaurants. Their staff were very helpful during the stay and accommodating with guests' requests. The meeting facilities were impressive, making this a good choice if you are on business or organizing a conference.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy K, Rooms Executive at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the hotel. The hotel is in a great location. Centrally located in the middle of downtown. The staff takes great pride at providing top notch service during your stay. We hope that the next time your travels take you to Tampa that you will make the Hilton Tampa Downtown your #1 choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#21 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#21 Business Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.