We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast & Wi-Fi
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A Great Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was a Business Trip. The Staff were very friendly and courteous. Rooms were clean and the bedding was exceptional. "Love the pillows"! I was able to sleep well form the first night. The restaurant ambience and décor was great with excellent food to stimulate the palate. Blue One transportation invaluable for travel around the area. It live up to the Hilton Standard!

Room Tip: You must try a meal in the restaurant. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetjngs OfficeGoddess504,

Thank you for staying with us. We were delighted to see that we met your expectations as a Hilton. We appreciate your comments about our staff, rooms, restaurant and Blue One. It will be a pleasure to share them with our staff.

We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    197
    73
    27
    17
See reviews for
81
107
18
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, WA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Here are the positives. The hotel itself is pretty nice. They are renovating after taking over a Hyatt. The staff was very nice and helpful. The elevators were fast. The bed was comfortable.
One the negative side, the rooms are very small. As Hilton Gold, I was surprised we were not offered an upgrade. There is no executive floor, although that is apparently coming. Our bathroom was so tiny we could not both be in there at the same time. You have to close the door to get into the shower! Our coffee and cups were not replenished. Nothing was horrible, but nothing was great. I would check out other options if returning to Tampa.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetings SBHgirl,

Thank you for staying with us. We want to begin by apologizing for the size of the room. Please let us know you preference next time and we will accomodate you if possible.

Our new Executive Lounge at the Executive floor will be opening really soon.

Thank you for your comments about our staff, elevators and bed.

We sincerely hope this visit does not lessen your confidence in our hotel and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Hotel is lovely! Convenient location to cruise ships, shopping, restaurants, entertainment. Great pool and hot tub. Love the ipads and computers in the common area. In house restaurant was very nice and the outside patio was relaxing. The higher floors of the South-side have a great view of the pool, bay and port.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetings Bettyann,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see that we met your expectations. Thank you for your comments.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of Tampa! Great customer service and will definately stay again! VERY CLEAN!!! There was a wedding and a Sweet 16 party so I was concerned about noise...upon check in I was asked if I wanted a lower level or upper level room. I asked for a very quiet room and was put on the 13th floor. Awesome view of downtown Tampa and VERY quiet! I slept like a baby!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetings Dawn R,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you experienced the great customer service of our staff. Thank you for you comments. It was nice to know you slept like a baby!

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A good hotel in most respects, but the cardio exercise equipment is in serious need for replacement. "Touch" screens are randomly operating leading to a frustrating workout. Now I need more characters for 200 minimum.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetings Ian B,

Thank you for staying with us. We rely on our guests to let us know when there are areas that need improvement and your observations are taken constructively. We will pass your comments to our Engineering Department for immediate action.

We look forward to having you as our guest again soon!

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very clean, very comfortable business stay at this hotel. Amenities available if desired. Staff very friendly. Internet access was seamless. Location was convenient for the Conference & Exhibition Centre

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetings Ian B,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your comments.

Should your business travel bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nice hotel but double charged for the room Downtown Tampa has very little and you need to go out of town to find shops or good restaurants. Weather was nice although a bit humid. The wind can tunnel through the taall buildings and cause quite a breeze

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Greetings David S,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the situation about the double charged. We hope that everything was taken care and corrected.

We are sorry you think Tampa has very little. We have a trolley that runs daily to Channelside and Ybor City where you can find a lot of restaurants and entertainment. Please inquire with one of our staff members next time.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#17 Business Hotel in Tampa
#38 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.