We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Outback Bowl Offer
Ranked #29 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was in Tampa for a training seminar and stayed a few nights here. I thought overall it was a good experience. I really enjoyed the restaurant and service there...shout out to Stacie for taking exceptional care of me!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Greetings BOonieJeans,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant, especially the service you received from Stacie We will pass along your comments to her and thank her for a job well done.

Thank you for your comments. We hope you enjoyed your seminar.

If you travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    162
    62
    25
    16
See reviews for
69
87
15
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel is clean and the price is right! The breakfast buffet is very good and the pool Area and exercise room are clean. The very best thing this hotel has to offer is its employees. They are very good at their job. Try it and have a pleasant stay.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Greetings Paul W,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all your comments about the hotel and our staff. They are our #1 asset and their customer service is genuine. We are happy you had the opportunity to experience it.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

First time staying at Hilton Downtown Tampa, but would definitely return. Hotel is clean, well maintained and convenient to the convention center. Staff was extremely courteous and attentive. Special shout out to Christie working in the bar for her outstanding & personable service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Greetings MacAttack389,

Thank you for staying with us.

We appreciate your remarks about our hotel and staff, specially the one about the great service you received from Christie. We will make sure to share your comments with her. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

very helpful and very kind staff! the rooms were clean and the view was great. the location was perfect from all the downtown nightlife. the starbucks in the morning down in the lobby, was a plus! i would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Greetings Melissa A,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel and staff.
We are glad you enjoyed our new starbucks.

We enjoyed having you as a guest and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at Hilton downtown Tampa over Memorial weekend...only stayed one night but would stay again...lobby was really nice..staff was super friendly...had a flat tire in the parking garage and a young gentleman tried to help me until my jack bent and had to call AAA. The location seemed fine though most eateries were closed because of the holiday weekend...rooms were clean and amenities were fine. Nothing super outstanding, just overall a great hotel. I really enjoyed my short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Greetings metrando,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see you enjoyed your Memorial Day weekend in Tampa. Thank you for choosing our hotel.

We appreciate your comments about the hotel and our staff. We are glad your flat tire was taken care of.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

When I stayed here, the whole place was under construction. The lobby was a confusing nightmare. Parking was confusing and not free (I wound up in a pay lot not affiliated with the hotel) and check-in not nearby. I hope it's better when the construction is done. The breakfast was good, but expensive. The room was clean and well-maintained. The price I paid was a little steep, though I expect this is more for business travelers who need to be downtown (my business was at the deceptively far away hospital).

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Greetings PeekskillMike,

Thank you for staying with us.

Our hotel went through a $20 million renovation and the renovation was completed in December 2013. Our hotel has a brand new look now! We apologize for the lobby and parking being confusing during renovation.

Please come and visit us now to experience the "brand new" Hilton Tampa Downtown. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed 10 days here during a conference. The hotel is clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. The fitness center, while small, has good equipment, and the pool is nice. The bar and lobby are both welcoming (nice wine list), and the technology center was very convenient. It is an excellent location -- walking distance to downtown restaurants, the convention center, the UT Campus, the Riverwalk, and Hyde Park. The staff is exemplary - friendly, helpful, accommodating, and most hospitable!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Greetings mmbbaltimore,

Thank you for staying with us.

We are glad we met your expectations. We appreciate your comments about our staff. We will share your comments with them. Thank you so much!

Should your travels bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
#49 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.