We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Tampa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Outback Bowl Offer
Ranked #29 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belconnen
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Two nights in Tampa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I had a meeting in Tampa and spent two nights at the Hilton Tampa Downtown. The hotel is clean and well situated. I had very good experiences with the staff especially at check-in and check-out. Everyone was so very friendly. I had room service one night and that was excellent. I had breakfast one morning and asked steak and eggs. The steak was fantastic. So tender and full of flavour.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Greetings Gary L,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our property and staff. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay, especially your steak.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    162
    62
    25
    16
See reviews for
69
87
15
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millville, DE
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Arrival was great with prompt valet parking and quick pleasant reception but was I was assigned a room next to the elevator and soda machine which was quickly remedied. Rooms were clean and attractively done but like most chains sound transference is a problem. I think the hotel is noisy. Did not try any restaurants or room service. The lobby is not large and gets congested. Early morning staff has an attitude. The front desk person had a chip on his shoulder when I asked that my car be delivered at 6:30 AM and I received a snippy answer when I asked if any restaurants were open thus I spent far less at Mickey D's on the trip South.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Greetings Bankruptcy,

Thank you for staying with us and letting us know about your experience with our morning staff. We sincerely apologize for this and please understand that this is very unusual. We pride ourselves on providing a high level of attentive guest service and we are very sorry you received anything less. We will forward your comments to our front of the house departments to reiterate the importance of great customer service to our guests.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Nice hotel, but the better deal is at the Embassy Suite located one block away, across from the Tampa Convention Center. You'll get more complimentary amenities at the Embassy Suites for the same cost.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Greetings Marc C,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your candid remarks and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I had an opportunity to stay at this hotel for 2 nights, on a business trip. Rooms were avg. My bathroom had long hairs in the bathtub and walls, and no wash cloths. It seemed like the maid just left in mid-stride. $16.00/day to park, and no restaurant, even for brkfast. A small bottle of water in the room was $5.00 However, they did have a bar, and s starbucks. What really got me, was a $10.00 internet fee per day. Ridiculous!! The rate per night was $116.00. At that rate, they could easily have afforded to give at least the internet for free. Not happy at all. It was not by choice that I stayed here. Will not recommend this place to my group, if we go there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Greetings MV,

Thank you for staying with us. We are very disappointed that your guest room was less than perfect. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will forward your comments to our Housekeeping Department for immediate action. Please accept our apologies.

We do have a restaurant at the hotel located next to our bar lounge. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner every day. Internet is complimentary in our public areas.

We sincerely hope you reconsider and give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Excellent experience at Hilton Downtown Tampa. Close connection via express way to the airport (30 min) the hotel is very well located in Tampa. Lots of restaurants around, very secure environment. You can easily go to Clearwater to the beaches within a 30 min drive. Staff is very welcoming as well as valet parking who will run to get your car! Room was good size with a huge king size bed. Comfort was awesome ! Don't waste you time at the 211 restaurant as service will be very long and hardly you'll get a table to sit... I've waited 40 min to be seated while the restaurant was almost empty. Prefer walking 5 minutes and go to the EDEN restaurant, owned by a French chef that will serve you great pastries, freshly baked.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the street side of the hotel, view will be more lively
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Greetings fguitteny,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your comments and we are glad you had a good time during your visit to Tampa.

We sincerely apologize for the wait at our 211 Restaurant. As we told another trip advisor guest previously, this is very unusual to happen but the Kitchen had a lot of orders from Room Service and the lounge that day and we did not want to sit you and make you wait a long time for your food. We apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you if you visit us again.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed here before our Ncl cruise
It's five minutes by cab to cruise terminal although hotel do a courtesy bus to terminal or airport for a smaller fee
The hotel has been refurbished and is lovely
Rooms spacious and gorgeous
We are in the restaurant downstairs although you can eat at the bar both meals great value and delicious
Restaurant manager and barman were so so welcoming
If you need shops then the west shore shopping mall 18 dollars by cab
There is also another mall nearby too one mile from west shore

Green Features: Will not change towels unless asked great news staff endeavour not to waste water
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Greetings Sandraherts,

Thank you for staying with us. Your comments about our hotel, the food, and our Restaurant Manager and barman are very much appreciated. We are happy you had a good time.

We hope you enjoyed your cruise. We look forward to having you as our guest soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Loved the building, the room, and the location. Great housekeeping staff and front desk staff. Valet (and parking in general) is a nightmare, and the hotel restaurant called "211" was a poorly managed mess. Skip the meal and take a cab when you arrive/depart, and this is a splendid place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Greetings TGilmer75,

Thank you for staying with us. After reading your comments about our valet and restaurant we want to apologize for the inconveniences it caused you. Our valet and all public parking areas were full due to a city wide convention in the downtown area. We researched the issue about our Restaurant and the situation you experience in waiting for a seat is very unusual but we did have to go on a wait before the restaurant was full due to the higher than normal business volumes from both In Room Dining and our Lounge area. All these orders go through the same kitchen and sometimes we have to temporarily halt seating to allow the kitchen to get all orders out in a timely manner. It is rare but does happen. We are happy to see that our Restaurant Manager has reached out to you and has invited you back to our Restaurant so you can experience the true great service that we have to offer.

We appreciate that you liked our hotel, and that our Housekeeping and Front Desk staff made a positive impression on you.

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your observations with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#19 Business Hotel in Tampa
#49 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.