We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice (you could almost say elegant) hotel right in downtown Tampa.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Military Family Rate
Ranked #25 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Very nice (you could almost say elegant) hotel right in downtown Tampa.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My significant other and I spent a couple days in Tampa celebrating New Year's 2013-14 after spending the holidays with family and before flying home to Michigan. We decided early on that we wanted to stay at a fairly nice hotel right in downtown Tampa. We had a few options to choose from but decided on the Hilton - mainly because of the Hilton Honors rewards program (earning points) and because the TripAdvisor reviews were good. I can definitely say we were very pleased.

We arrived at the hotel around 3 p.m. - nice and early - on the day we checked in. The lobby and common areas inside the hotel are very, very nice, and my guess is that they had undergone some renovations in the recent past. The decor had a modern, sophisticated look to it, and it was all very inviting. We were definitely impressed with everything. In the lobby area there are multiple TV monitors, desktop computers, and iPads that guests could use for browsing the internet. That was kinda neat, but we didn't really need all that since we had our own laptop that we had brought (free wifi).

The gentleman who checked us in was very efficient and courteous. He gave us a very nice corner room on the highest floor (17th) of the building. Our room overlooked both the street below and the skyscrapers around it, but we also were able to see the bay in the background. It was quite a view.

The room was elegant, comfortable, and very clean - just as we would expect from a Hilton. The bed was very comfortable. However, there were a couple of disappointments regarding room furnishings not automatically being in working order when we first arrived. (The phone on the nightstand next to the bed wasn't originally working, and the lamp on the other nightstand was also not working. We explained the problems to the front desk staff, and they quickly sent a maintenance staff person up to the room to fix those things.)

There is an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub on the fifth floor roof of the hotel - overlooking the city. When we were there, I think they were in the process of constructing a new fitness center - which you'd get to on the way to the pool. It was too chilly outside to use the pool, but we did enjoy sitting in the hot tub a few hours before midnight on New Year's Eve. That was pretty awesome.

The restaurant (211) in the hotel is nice. They offer breakfast, lunch, and dinner. With our Hilton Honors reservation, we were given two vouchers per morning for a free breakfast in the restaurant. We were a bit disappointed that the vouchers were only good for the continental options (cereals, pastries, fruit, and beverage) - so we decided to pay an extra $6 each to upgrade to the full hot breakfast which includes eggs/omelette, bacon/sausage, potatoes, etc. Not that bad of a deal, but it would have been nice if all that had been included with our voucher.

We appreciated the fact that this Hilton had a bar that was open late, and so we were able to enjoy some alcoholic beverages while watching New Year's Eve coverage on the TV's down there. There were quite a few people doing the same ... great atmosphere and pleasant overall.

One thing we did not take advantage of was the Starbucks which is attached to the lobby of the hotel. That could have been nice to visit, but we just didn't have a chance. When we checked out of the hotel on New Year's morning, we had no issues at all. The check-out process was quick.

All in all, we loved this Hilton and would love the opportunity to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Greetings New_Friends_GR,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay with us. It was nice to see that overall your stay was enjoyable.

We appreciate your detailed review and thank you for all the comments. We apologize for the phone and lamp not working in your room, but we are happy that one of our staff was readily available to take care of it. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

We hope you had a very nice New Year's Eve and New Year's Day and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    223
    87
    30
    17
See reviews for
90
123
21
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed for three nights. We had stayed at this hotel before when it was a Hyatt so were familiar with it. Room was nice and had a good view. I don't believe the room we were in had been remodeled by looking at the light switches, vanity and wallpaper, but it was acceptable. King bed was comfortable. Room had a refrigerator. Lobby remodeled and was nice. Pool area looked about the same. Had read reviews about people getting charged for valet parking when they used self park. Same happened to us. We caught it and it was corrected. On our second night there were no bath towels left in the room but the maid was down the hall and we were able to get them right away. Staff was very nice and helpful. We rode down the elevator with a friendly bellman who tracked us down to give us an umbrella because it was raining. Nice, safe feeling location. Even with the switch to the Hilton brand, the hotels parking situation is the same. Valet or selfpark. Only thing I continue to not like about the hotel is the self park situation. The lot is small and non hotel guests can park in it so sometimes it is difficult to find a spot. Very nice hotel! Very nice staff.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Greetings Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. Let me begin by apologizing for the inconvenience we caused you by erroneously charging you for valet parking. We are glad you were able to resolve it right away. Our Front Desk Department has been made aware of this and they will take immediate action to avoid this situation happening again with another guest. Again, please accept our sincere apologies.

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

the location is excellent and the staff is exceptional. the breakfast served and the serving staff area excellent. The room we had appeared to be incomplete as there was nowhere to put luggage and there was no bathroom counter space or towel space. The bedding is remarkable and guarantees an excellent sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings kevinblaes,

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for not having a luggage rack in your room, we are contacting our Housekeeping department for immediate action. Thank you for letting us know. We also want to apologize for the little counter space/towel space in your room. We will have our Engineering Department check this room to make sure it has everything it needs for our next guest.

Thank you for your comments about our staff and food. If your travel plans bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will choose to stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a weekend visit to Tampa. This hotel was gorgeous inside and out!! The lobby was very contemporary and just beautiful. The bell desk lady was extremely helpful with the voucher for the car for self parking. The front desk was helpful, halls and elevators clean. The room was really first class and the bed was one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in-wish I could have taken the bed home!! Loved this hotel and was centrally located to walking all over the downtown area including the channelside shops and cruise port areas. Highly recommend this Hilton!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings guest,

Thank you for staying with us. Your kind comments about our hotel are truly appreciated. It was nice to see you and your husband enjoyed your visit. We are glad you had a good night sleep in our comfortable beds.

We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My wife and I were booked into the hotel as part of a New Year's Eve package with the local performing arts center. The hotel has been completely remodeled and everything is fresh and new. The staff was fantastic and check-in was a breeze. I was even able to check in a couple of hours early.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Greetings Joseph D,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to see you enjoyed our newly remodeled hotel and the performing arts center. Thank you for your comments, especially the one about our staff. We are very glad you experienced our great customer service from our staff.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed this week for two nights as we were in town for the Outback Bowl. The room was very nice, not overly large, but plenty for our purpose. The hotel had a nice fresh feeling about it - like it had just been redone. The best part though was the staff - everyone from the valet to the bell captain to the waitresses in the restaurant were very pleasant and had smiles on their faces.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Greetings Martin S,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay while enjoying the Outback Bowl. We hope you had a wonderful time. Thank you for your kind comments. You are right, our hotel just completed a $20 million renovation and we are very proud of our newly renovated and beautiful hotel. We are glad you had a chance to enjoy it.

Our staff really cares about our guests. There is no doubt that they are our number one asset and it is really important to know that they were able to meet your expectations of exceptional service.

Should your travels bring you back to Tampa, we hope you will stay with us again.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We had a king room, it was plenty spacious and just what we needed for our weekend in Tampa for a wedding. The bar was nice, bartenders were friendly and our kids enjoyed the iPads available. Plenty of TVs and a variety of seating. It was really nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Greetings Aimee K,

Thank you for staying at our hotel. We were delighted to see that we met or exceeded your expectations during your stay and your kids had a wonderful time. Thank you for your comments.

We enjoyed having you as our guests and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tampa hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tampa - Downtown Convention Center
Downtown
Sheraton Tampa Riverwalk Hotel
Le Meridien Tampa
#22 of 159 in Tampa
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Tampa Marriott Waterside Hotel and Marina
Aloft Tampa Downtown
#70 of 159 in Tampa
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard by Marriott Tampa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Tampa
#16 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#16 Business Hotel in Tampa
#34 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.