We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excited, but just not there yet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Tampa Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Tampa Downtown to your Saves list
Hilton Tampa Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Florida Resident Rate
Ranked #31 of 159 Hotels in Tampa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excited, but just not there yet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were very excited to try out the new Hilton in downtown Tampa and it will be an excellent hotel once they are done with all the renovations. We got a room on the HH floor (16) and it was completely renovated. Very nice, quiet and the room was outstanding with a great view of the pool and a wonderful Hilton bed - I still think it was a large queen bed and not a real king. Lobby and rooms were very modern and welcoming. The hotel will be fabulous once the work is completed but it is still going thru some growing pains. We didn't get the crib, extra towels or pillows we ordered and our AC didn't work right making the room a bit stuffy. The breakfast at the restaurant was a bit blaaa (don't recommend) but the staff was amazing, nice and helpful. I just think give them another 3-4 months to whip it into a real Hilton destination hotel. Looking forward to going back in a few months to see - definitely beats the airport hilton which is in need of a makeover.

Room Tip: Ask for 16th floor and make sure the AC works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Greetings Smackie 13,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel.

We appreciate you letting us know about you not receiving the items you ordered from Housekeeping, the problem with the A/C and the breakfast in the restaurant. We take your comments very seriously and we sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered.

We will pass along this information to our Housekeeping, Engineering and F&B Departments. We can only correct our shortcomings when we are made aware of them and we appreciate your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    152
    60
    25
    15
See reviews for
64
86
15
232
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Although I was disappointed to find that this hotel did not include a complimentary breakfast, I still had an overall positive experience in staying there. If you haven't been to the city before, figuring out where to park and how much to pay for parking can be a bit confusing, but nothing to spoil the entire stay. Overall it's a nice looking hotel and the staff is very helpful. The bathroom wasn't as clean as I expected. But, that was the worst of the entire stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Greetings Jessica T.,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that overall you had a great stay.

We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. We will address the cleanliness of the bathroom with our Housekeeping Department. We can offer no excuse for this oversight. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to Tampa.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just returned from our 2nd visit to the Hilton and the transformation of the lobby, restaurant and lounge are unbelievable. There is also a brand new Starbucks inside the hotel.
We were lucky enough to stay in a newly renovated room- the front desk said the hotel will be completely renovated by the new year. The new Hilton beds are the bomb. Everything is so modern and comfortable. Service is really friendly and genuine. Don't like the to have to valet- but that's the norm in any downtown area. Definitely an upgrade from nearby hotels.If you are ever in Tampa -definitely the hotel to stay at!

Room Tip: High floor. Pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Greetings Andrea S,

Thank you for staying with us.

We apologize for the A/C in your room. We will let our Engineering Department know so they can take immediate action.

We don't want you to feel unsafe, please next time ask one of our staff members to walk you to your car. The internet is free in our lobby, Starbucks and all public areas. There is a charge of $9.99 per day in the guest rooms, but it does not matter how many devices you connect we will only charge you $9.99 a day when you check out. Our Gold and Diamond Hilton Honor members receive free internet in the guest rooms, but no free parking.

We apologize for all the inconveniences you encountered, and we hope you will give us another opportuntiy to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Air conditioning in room very poor. This hotel charges $16/day off site (1 block away) parking even for Hilton Honors members' guests. Not very safe if you have an early flight and need to leave while still dark outside. If you valet your car, the charge is $20/day. Hilton Honors members should be free. Internet is charged as well on your cell whether or not you are a Hilton Honors member @ $25/day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Greetings Sunnsandlover,

Thank you for staying with us.

We were delighted to see that in all areas we met your expectations. Thank you for your kind comments about our newly renovated hotel. We are happy you had a chance to experience our lobby, Starbucks and one of the newly renovated guest rooms and you liked them!

It was a pleasure having you as a guest. Please come back and visit us soon.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Lovely new restaurant with great prices for high quality food/menu! Great shower water pressure! Very comfortable comforter on the bed with clean, crispy sheets (I want one of those comforters for my own bed!!!) The only thing wrong was that the air conditioning didn't work properly, and the water pressure in the bathroom sink was very weak.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Greetings Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. It was nice to see that overall your stay was enjoyable and you really liked our bed comforter!

We apologize for the A/C not working properly and the water pressure in the sink being weak. We will pass this information to our Engineering Department for immediate action.

We appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Can stay at a Choice Motel and get free internet, not at this Hilton, even as a member. Stayed at a Motel 8 and they had free Internet. HaNoteworthy, there was no refrigerator in the room, I had one in the Super 8 Motel, not this Hilton. Bottled warm water 5.oo not for me, they probably got it from the tap.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings Frederick H,

Thank you for your comments. We hope you will accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences we caused you.

We do offer free internet in our lobby, Starbucks and public areas. We have a business center located in the lobby with 4 computers (2 of them Apple), printers and free wifi for our guests convenience.

We are going through guest rooms renovations at the moment and all of our rooms will include a refrigerator. We apologize for the price of the bottle of water in the room. Please know that you can get a more economical bottle of water at our Starbucks store.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Enjoyed stay at this hotel. I was very pleased with the accommodations. The room and bath was spacious. The hotel had nice décor from room to lobby. The elevators were fast, no long wait. The staff was attentive. If ever I’m back in Tampa, I would definitely at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonTampaDowntown, Public Relations Manager at Hilton Tampa Downtown, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings Michele G,

We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for your kind comments.

It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Hilton Tampa Downtown - Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Tampa Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Tampa Downtown

Address: 211 North Tampa Street, Tampa, FL 33602 (Formerly Hotel Tampa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Tampa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Tampa
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tampa
#22 Business Hotel in Tampa
#41 Family Hotel in Tampa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Tampa Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Tampa Downtown is an upscale urban hotel surrounded by the natural attractions of one of Florida’s busiest and most beautiful gulf coast areas. Located in the heart of downtown Tampa, we feature convenient access to all of the attractions of Tampa, Clearwater, St. Petersburg and Orlando. We’re 6 miles from Tampa International Airport and a few blocks from the Tampa Convention Center, the Florida Aquarium, the University of Tampa, the Tampa Bay Times Forum, the David A. Straz, Jr. Center for the Performing Arts and the area’s centers for culture, heritage, shopping, entertainment and sports. Hilton Tampa Downtown offers 520 guestrooms, including 14 suites, all providing a sophisticated and relaxing environment of contemporary furnishings, finishes and personal amenities. For on-property relaxation, guests can enjoy our tropical rooftop outdoor pool, heated whirlpool, sundeck and fully equipped health club. The Restaurant 211 “complex” offers daylong opportunities for outstanding food and socializing. Restaurant 211 features American Cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Our Coffee Bar brews the exclusive Starbucks® Coffee. And, our Bar pours, draws, shakes, and stirs the perfect cocktail. Of the 30,000 square feet of function space at Hilton Tampa Downtown, over 27,000 square feet are on one floor, which gives meeting and social planners many options for planning flow from function to function. Our catering professionals have over twenty years of experience in preparing events for groups from 10 to 2,400. They offer a full range of services including theme parties, custom menus, décor design and transportation. Most of our hospitality staff has been with the property since it opened in 1982. Their local knowledge, impeccable service, and customer-focused attitudes provide every guest with a unique hotel experience found only at Hilton Tampa Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Tampa Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tampa Hotel Tampa
Tampa Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Tampa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Tampa Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.